Old 02-19-2006, 12:06 AM   #1
JuneK
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: none
Carrier: none
Default Enterprise Activation w/Internal Only e-mail

Please Login to Remove!

I'm a newbie to BES & BB's.

Just want to confirm (after wading thru 12 pages of topics on activation) that if I set up a user with internal only e-mail, then I can't use wireless activation for that BB, because the e-mail msg from Rim will never get to his mailbox.

If the user's computer does not have access to the local network, then the only way to activate this BB is to connect it to the Admin computer via the Handheld Configuration Tool?

Can Desktop Manager be run with the user's computer connected via VPN or Remote Desktop Connection (connecting the local serial ports)?

Thanks,

June
Old 02-19-2006, 01:28 AM   #2
d_fisher
Retired BlackBerryForums.com Moderator

Model: 9700
Carrier: AT&T

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuneK
Just want to confirm (after wading thru 12 pages of topics on activation) that if I set up a user with internal only e-mail, then I can't use wireless activation for that BB, because the e-mail msg from Rim will never get to his mailbox.
Correct

Quote:
If the user's computer does not have access to the local network, then the only way to activate this BB is to connect it to the Admin computer via the Handheld Configuration Tool?
Correct

Quote:
Can Desktop Manager be run with the user's computer connected via VPN or Remote Desktop Connection (connecting the local serial ports)?
Should work just fine with VPN. I would not be too confident that it can be done with RDC. BlackBerries dont like USB hubs, can't imagine they would like a virtual connection.

Remember, please try searching first!

Need a screenshot? ... Like JavaLoader?
Try using BBscreen .....Use JL_Cmder!
or BBScreenShooter!

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Old 02-19-2006, 03:55 PM   #3
JuneK

Thanks!