cmptekinc
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint & AT&T
Default BES Admin suggestions needed

Please Login to Remove!

Hello All:

I'm new to BES and need some suggestions on how to resolve the BES situation.

We have BES 3.6.7.12 running on Win2K SP4 box, there are 14 BB users.
The plan was to purchase a new server and newer version of BES, however things kinda went South with the current BES box.

We had issues remoting into the BES box and installed VNC (big mistake),once VNC was installed and we opened up BES to our suprise there was a big fat red X through the Server Name on the top left, when we right-click on it these are the only options available:

Remove
View
Refresh
Export

Since that incident we removed VNC, however it`s quite possible that MS patches messed it up.

There are no users on the right hand side and if I use the export option, it doesn't list anything in the text file (other then the columns obviously).

Anyway, a couple of users purchased a BB and they were setup through BIS.
I'm not sure I fully understand if BES and BIS are/were tied together at all or not.

All of the people that were on BES originally before server crapped out are still receiving messages on BBs, the ones that were setup through either Sprint or Cingular BIS account are also receiving BB mail.

Here`s what I'd like to find out. If there are absolutely no users listed in the BES and BES server is unavailable then people would be receiving their work mail through BIS, correct ? What makes it interesting is one of the users who IS currently receiving work mail on his BB doesn't have work e-mail setup in his BIS account. Is it possible that alhough it looks crapped out that it`s still functional ? This user also has a personal e-mail account mail that goes to BB, I did verify in Exchange that her work mail is not being forwarded....

What`s the best way to deal with this situation ?

Thanks in advance.
Old 02-20-2009, 12:55 PM   #2
usererror