Closed Thread

Old 02-20-2008, 11:28 PM   #1
tambur8

Model: 7290
PIN: N/A
Carrier: None
Default Viigo????

Please Login to Remove!

Okay I posted a ? earlier because I couldn't find a Viigo download that would allow me to install it from the desktop manager but I have now done that with Handango. So now my question is how do I get RSS Feeds onto the bb through the desktop manager as I only use my bb as a PDA. I have no phone service or data plan etc so I must do everything through the desktop manager. I am very new to all of this! Thanks for the help

Tam
Old 02-20-2008, 11:30 PM   #2
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator

Model: Z30
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon

Tam, i don't even think you can... you need a data plan for that use of Viigo. I know, I read you only use you BB as a PDA, but all of a sudden with Viigo, you are not using it as a PDA.

Do you have your TCP settings enabled on the BB?
Old 02-21-2008, 07:49 AM   #3
tambur8

Thanks for the response. I am not sure about the TCP settings. I know that I can not do anything that requires OTA. I am sure my husband has made sure that everything is turned off.
Okay so if I take Viigo off the bb is there anyway to use the desktop manager to get rss feeds on to the blackberry? So I can use it to read them off line. I have the mobipocket reader and I have the mobipocket creator.
Thanks for helping out a complete newbie who knows very little.
Old 02-21-2008, 07:53 AM   #4
Sci-Tek
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: 8000
Carrier: TDC

Viigo can use TCP settings and do not require a BB data plan, however you will need data transfer active on your plan, (this is default on in Norway atleast)

The options are acessible trough Options -> Advanced -> TCP.
But you need to fill inn your correct carrier specific settings, or else you run the risk of beeing overcharged.
You should contact your carrier and ask for the correct settings and if your plan allows data traffic, note that you will be charged for that traffic.