Closed Thread

Old 12-26-2007, 01:57 PM   #1
yelkcif

Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Altell
Default Just Want the Phone And Without the Service Plan

Please Login to Remove!

I'm very new to smartphones. But can anyone help with this? I want to purchase a BB 8100 or 8130. I have Alltel which a CDMA network. I don't have an extra $60 a month to have internet/email capabilites. So my goal at this stage of the game is to purchase the smartphone so that I can sync with my powerbook. My question is where can I purchase a phone with out the plan that works with Alltel?? How about a used phone that works with Alltel?

a 2nd closely related question is since Sprint, Nextel, Alltel, etc are all CDMA networks can I buy a Sprint phone to work or does it have to be unlocked for it to work?
Thanks
Old 12-26-2007, 02:08 PM   #2
John Clark
BBF Moderator

Model: Z30
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T

Keep an eye on the Buy/Sell/Trade section of this forum for used/new BB's.

Yes, all those other carriers are CDMA and the devices will work if (and it's a big if) Alltel will allow use of other carrier's devices on their network.
Old 12-26-2007, 02:10 PM   #3
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator

Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon

The 8100 is GSM only and will not work on Alltel, or any CDMA network.
Old 12-26-2007, 02:11 PM   #4
CADdesigns
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8703e
PIN: 301AD045
Carrier: Bell Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by yelkcif View Post
I'm very new to smartphones. But can anyone help with this? I want to purchase a BB 8100 or 8130. I have Alltel which a CDMA network. I don't have an extra $60 a month to have internet/email capabilites. So my goal at this stage of the game is to purchase the smartphone so that I can sync with my powerbook. My question is where can I purchase a phone with out the plan that works with Alltel?? How about a used phone that works with Alltel?