Old 11-08-2007, 07:14 PM   #1
SD BB Newbie
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Default Trackball Sinking?

Please Login to Remove!

Has anyone had any problems with the 8300 series and the trackbal sinking down into the device. I've had my 8310 for almost a month and I've noticed that the trackball does not sit as high on the front of the device as it did when I first purchased it. It is still fully functional, but it just seems like it sits lower than it originally did, and needs to be pushed down farther to get the "click." I suppose it could be an issue with the trackball getting "broken-in," but since I am a BB Newbie, I just wanted to make sure this isn't a defect. Thanks.
Old 11-28-2007, 10:27 AM   #2
monkeypaw
BlackBerry Extraordinaire

Model: None
Carrier: ATT

The trackball on my warranty replacement 8320 is lower and feels really soft when pushed. My old one was nice and springy. I even tried swapping the trackball before I sent the old one back and it's definitely the metal contact switch under the ball that's the problem.

It seems like I got a little better feel by rotating the trackball unit when I reinstalled it. But I think that's just psychological.

I'm thinking of putting some kind of spacer in there to make it a little more responsive. Definitely like the feel of my old trackball much better. I think whoever had this unit before it was refurbished really used it a lot.
Old 11-28-2007, 01:12 PM   #3
delmarco
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: 9790
Carrier: T-Mobile

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeypaw View Post
The trackball on my warranty replacement 8320 is lower and feels really soft when pushed. My old one was nice and springy. I even tried swapping the trackball before I sent the old one back and it's definitely the metal contact switch under the ball that's the problem.

It seems like I got a little better feel by rotating the trackball unit when I reinstalled it. But I think that's just psychological.