BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2009, 08:34 PM   #81
raja_3012
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
raja_3012's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Model: iPhn4
OS: iOS 4.3.2
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 1,137
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BallHawk3 View Post
Finally got it to download. It was slow as hell! (2hrs 48mins). Don't know why. Better than never!

Anyway, I'm still on T-mobileUSA .114. Is this really worth the upgrade? Seems like i've been getting mixed reviews on this .206. Figured I might wait.

Anyone jump directly from 114 to 206?
Go for it... Once you install .206 you will feel .114 was very buggy. .206 is very stable and snappy.
__________________
Regards|Raja
BlackBerry FAQ

Nokia 2100 > Nokia 6100 > Samsung t319 > Nokia 5300 > Blackberry 8320 > Blackberry 8900 > iPhone 3GS > iPhone 4
Offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 08:54 PM   #82
ninety5teg
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 32
Default

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I having using .206 for 1 day now and find it that it has much better battery life than .199. I am at 85% after a full charge, sending emails, surfing the web and making a lot of calls. .199 would drain to 30% in one day with the same tasks mentioned above. Also .199 would hang and was sluggish IMO.
I am loving the .206.
Offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 09:56 PM   #83
vito032
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
vito032's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PGH, PA
Model: 9700
OS: 6.0.0.380
PIN: N/A
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 70
Default

Two things first i would like to try this but it would be the first time i have ever done it so is there any thing that i should know before i do. I REALLY don't want to F-up my BB. Second I have had a BB for about 2 1/2 years now and have been reading the forums and i know this is a stupid question but i still don't really know what the difference OS do

thanks

P.S. I just bought some apps off of app world should i back up my BB before i do this or will changing my OS not effect my apps
__________________
BB Pearl 8100 (2007-2009)
BB curve 8900 (2009-2011)
BB Bold 9700 (2011- )

Last edited by vito032; 04-16-2009 at 10:01 PM.. Reason: forgot something
Offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 10:06 PM   #84
Deep88
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonton
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.246
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ROGERS
Posts: 42
Default

.206 screwed up all of my calender entries. It turned all of my appointments in to appointmens using the "default calender." Even though my work email was listed as the default, it still only read "default calender" for each appointment and changed the color aswell. I switched back to .168 since i have found it to be the most stable. .199 had shitty battery life.
Offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 12:11 AM   #85
BallHawk3
CrackBerry Addict
 
BallHawk3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.714
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 828
Default

Wow, the sound is so much louder! I got a text and it scared the hell out of me. This build has bluetooth problems. The audio is lower on bluetooth, too low and it actually sounds worse. I might roll it back for that reason alone. That's all I've noticed so far after an hour. Disappointed in that.
Offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 01:19 AM   #86
vito032
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
vito032's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PGH, PA
Model: 9700
OS: 6.0.0.380
PIN: N/A
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 70
Default

OK what am i doing wrong i downloaded it to my PC deleted the file vendor.xml file connected BB hit loader went throw the whole thing and nothing i still got my old .114 OS???
__________________
BB Pearl 8100 (2007-2009)
BB curve 8900 (2009-2011)
BB Bold 9700 (2011- )

Last edited by vito032; 04-17-2009 at 02:26 AM..
Offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 02:21 AM   #87
yyhhcc
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Maxis
Posts: 42
Default

---
Offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 02:25 AM   #88
vito032
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
vito032's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PGH, PA
Model: 9700
OS: 6.0.0.380
PIN: N/A
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 70
Default

by the way I'm on a windows vista PC hope someone can help me
__________________
BB Pearl 8100 (2007-2009)
BB curve 8900 (2009-2011)
BB Bold 9700 (2011- )
Offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 10:45 AM   #89
phrider
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: LaBrea tarpits, Los Angeles
Model: 9812
PIN: 6.02214179E23
Carrier: TMO US
Posts: 300
Default

Continuation of a bug... or is it a feature?

I have BES plus 9 BIS email accounts on my Blackberry. Starting with .114, I have set the Message Options/ Email Settings/ HTML/Download Images Automatically to "NO" for all accounts.

And this setting randomly seems to reset some or all accounts to "Yes" -- not something I want because the HTML images act as spam beacons.

Just before the transition from .168 to .206, I carefully set and saved each of the accounts so the HTML/Download Images Automatically was "NO". I did the upgrade, and they were all "YES". I reset them all to "NO" and saved each setting. Then double checked.

Today, several, but not all, were showing "YES".

What gives?
Offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 02:36 PM   #90
BallHawk3
CrackBerry Addict
 
BallHawk3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.714
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 828
Default

There's a BB messenger bug. Hard to explain. Say you highlight someone in BBM, then goto a convo, and then go back to the contact list, the highlight/select feature disappears and it always takes you to the top of the list. Kind of weird.
Offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 07:04 PM   #91
Deep88
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonton
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.246
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ROGERS
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vito032 View Post
by the way I'm on a windows vista PC hope someone can help me
I also had problems loading software via a Vista PC. I have 2 computers at home, the other is an XP machine and i have no issues upgrading on that one. For some reason no matter what i do i cant get it to work with my Vista machine. Vista sucks.
Offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 09:48 PM   #92
vito032
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
vito032's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PGH, PA
Model: 9700
OS: 6.0.0.380
PIN: N/A
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 70
Default

I got it to download and work on my BB. so for so good im liking it thanks
__________________
BB Pearl 8100 (2007-2009)
BB curve 8900 (2009-2011)
BB Bold 9700 (2011- )
Offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 12:11 PM   #93
Bob_H
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Bob_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.250
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 16
Default I think I upgraded successfully...

Just upgraded stock Tmo 8900 from .114 to .206 and it only took 25 minutes. Seems awfully fast compared to when I upgraded my 8100 and 8320 which took 45-50 minutes. Should I be concerned?

EDIT: Now I have two Facebook icons, however second one opens the BBbrowser - weird.

Last edited by Bob_H; 04-18-2009 at 12:42 PM..
Offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 01:10 PM   #94
bbf
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Model: 8900
OS: 5.0.0.509
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob_H View Post
Just upgraded stock Tmo 8900 from .114 to .206 and it only took 25 minutes. Seems awfully fast compared to when I upgraded my 8100 and 8320 which took 45-50 minutes. Should I be concerned?

EDIT: Now I have two Facebook icons, however second one opens the BBbrowser - weird.
Me too. I subsequently re-sent my service books and did a battery pull, and the second FB icon went away. Not sure, but maybe one of those two actions cleared it up.
Offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 01:27 PM   #95
flash24
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
flash24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Model: 9930
OS: 7.1
PIN: 3319688F
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2,178
Default

I miss my blackberry!!! I'm currently in AF basic training right now
__________________
http://twitter.com/billydasco

Proud to Serve USAF
Offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 01:57 PM   #96
Helmdawg
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Helmdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Philly
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.593
PIN: ned down...
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,365
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flash24 View Post
I miss my blackberry!!! I'm currently in AF basic training right now
Sorry to thread hijack, best of luck in the military, Flash! You will be united with your BB before you know it..
Offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 02:59 PM   #97
Bob_H
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Bob_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Florida
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.250
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 16
Default Successful upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbf View Post
Me too. I subsequently re-sent my service books and did a battery pull, and the second FB icon went away. Not sure, but maybe one of those two actions cleared it up.
I did a battery pull and the second Facebook icon went away.
Offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 04:36 PM   #98
flash24
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
flash24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Model: 9930
OS: 7.1
PIN: 3319688F
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2,178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmdawg View Post
Sorry to thread hijack, best of luck in the military, Flash! You will be united with your BB before you know it..
Thanks a lot bro! I'll be graduating from basic training May 8th. I can't wait to see my beloved 8900.
__________________
http://twitter.com/billydasco

Proud to Serve USAF
Offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 10:30 PM   #99
hhm007
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 7
Default

Might be a dumb question, but I'm a new Blackberry user.

I bought mine a few days ago, and had it unlocked.

If I upgrade the firmware, will the phone lock itself again?

I dont want to pay to get it unlocked again.
Offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 10:32 PM   #100
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

No, the phone can never be locked again. Ever.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

SMC Sy7000 G 1/4 5/2 Solenoid/Pilot Pneumatic Control Valve, 883.4Nl/Min
$69.65
SMC Sy7000 G 1/4 5/2 Solenoid/Pilot Pneumatic Control Valve, 883.4Nl/Min pictureFesto 19789 Jmfh-5-1/4-B Solenoid Valve
$120.99
Festo 19789 Jmfh-5-1/4-B Solenoid Valve pictureFesto 151016 Mfh-5/2-D-1-Fr-C Solenoid Valve
$88.45
Festo 151016 Mfh-5/2-D-1-Fr-C Solenoid Valve pictureFesto 151172 Grla-1/4-B One-Way Flow Control Valve
$24.1
Festo 151172 Grla-1/4-B One-Way Flow Control Valve pictureSmc Vt307K-5Dz1-01F-Q 3 Port Solenoid Valve Direct Operated Poppet Type
$45.19
Smc Vt307K-5Dz1-01F-Q 3 Port Solenoid Valve Direct Operated Poppet Type picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.