BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2007, 10:54 AM   #1
jwxu
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 7130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: 7130
Posts: 4
Question How to modify the information displayed when a call incoming

Please Login to Remove!

i wanna develope an application to monitor incoming calls, and modify the information displayed when a call incoming. so i used PhoneListner to monitor the phone calls. I found the information displayed has stored in PhoneCall object when the callIncoming method is called.

public void callIncoming(int callId) {
PhoneCall phoneCall = Phone.getCall(callId);
.......
}

the phoneCall object has name of contact who has the incoming call phone number.

what i wanna do is add the contact address information in the display status. like phone number addres. Then i can know where is the partipatant from the phone number. of course, it's static information.

any suggestions?

thanks!
-jwxu
Offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 02:27 AM   #2
sunnan
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 61
Default

i cant get you clearly....if your application runs in background and if u want to display phonenumber during incoming call just implement this code in abstract method

Code:
 PhoneCall callInfo = Phone.getActiveCall();

      if ( callInfo != null )
          {      
          Telephone = callInfo.getDisplayPhoneNumber();           
          UiApplication.getUiApplication().invokeLater(new Runnable()
          {
            public void run()
            {
                Status.show("incoming from: "+Telephone);
	    }
          });

Last edited by sunnan; 11-29-2007 at 03:48 AM..
Offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 09:30 AM   #3
jwxu
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 7130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: 7130
Posts: 4
Default

when a new call incoming, a screen which includes caller phone number like(+8613812345678) pops up. i wanna modify the phone number (+8613812345678). eg. i wanna display the phone number like "+8613812345678 Beijing".
Offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 09:32 AM   #4
celeb
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York City
Model: 8310
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 132
Default

I use berryacode for the US
Offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 09:32 AM   #5
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Berry-a-Code does that, not sure if it works out of the US or North American, but its purpose is if a call comes to your BB which is NOT listed in your AddressBook, it will show you the City, State origin of the call.

Berry-a-Code.
Offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 09:40 AM   #6
jwxu
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 7130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: 7130
Posts: 4
Default

the orignal screen is
1.JPG
i wanna the modified screen like
2.JPG
Offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 12:48 PM   #7
richard.puckett
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
richard.puckett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Model: 9020
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 212
Default

Heh, there's a local company (Seattle) who's entire business model is based on that. Cequint

@jwxu: Do you have enough info now to proceed? If you're still stuck after a couple days bump this thread (or message me) and we'll see what we can do. I'd like to start a code cookbook site - this might be a nice "recipe" to have on it.
Offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 08:47 PM   #8
samalolo
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richard.puckett View Post
Heh, there's a local company (Seattle) who's entire business model is based on that. Cequint

@jwxu: Do you have enough info now to proceed? If you're still stuck after a couple days bump this thread (or message me) and we'll see what we can do. I'd like to start a code cookbook site - this might be a nice "recipe" to have on it.
looks like all cequint does is store a database on the phone of all area codes and prefixes then the software does a lookup and displays the city of the caller.
Offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 09:50 PM   #9
jwxu
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 7130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: 7130
Posts: 4
Default

for the area codes especially for cell phone number will be changed with time. it'll be better provding data import interface to user.
Offline  
Old 12-26-2007, 08:01 AM   #10
teoalp
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: tcell
Posts: 2
Default

when there is an incoming call, I see only the contact name. I want to see the company name (if possible other details too) for the contacts that I made company name entree previously. Is this possible...
Offline  
Old 07-11-2008, 11:24 AM   #11
MobileDeveloper
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 134
Default

Hi Sunnan

Do you mean I should implement something like



Code:
public final class QuitCall extends AbstractPhoneListener {
static public void main(String[] args)
{

QuitCall.registerOnStartup();

}
static private void registerOnStartup()
{

QuitCall phone_handler = new QuitCall();

Phone.addPhoneListener(phone_handler);

}


private QuitCall(){}


private void checkCall(String ehandler, int callid)
{
PhoneCall callInfo = Phone.getCall(callid);
if ( callInfo != null ) {
/*
* Event Handler: ehandler
* Telephone No.: callInfo.getDisplayPhoneNumber();
* Elapsed Time : callInfo.getElapsedTime();
* Call Status : callInfo.getStatusString();
*/
}
}
// A call has been added to a conference call
public void callAdded(int callId) { checkCall("callAdded", callId); }
// User answered a call

// New call has arrived
public void callIncoming(int callId)
{ checkCall("callIncoming", callId); }
// Outbound call initiated by the handheld

public void callInitiated(int callid)
{ 


UiApplication.getUiApplication().invokeLater(new Runnable()

          {
            public void run()
            {      

          Status.show( " An Outgoing call hs been made ");
          
      }
          });
          
          
          
          
checkCall("callInitiated", callid);

 }

Also I dont think my Listener is working properly

Do you know what could be the reason ?






Quote:
Originally Posted by sunnan View Post
i cant get you clearly....if your application runs in background and if u want to display phonenumber during incoming call just implement this code in abstract method

Code:
 PhoneCall callInfo = Phone.getActiveCall();

      if ( callInfo != null )
          {      
          Telephone = callInfo.getDisplayPhoneNumber();           
          UiApplication.getUiApplication().invokeLater(new Runnable()
          {
            public void run()
            {
                Status.show("incoming from: "+Telephone);
	    }
          });
Offline  
Closed Thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Vintage V-Mac Industries Inc. Pipe Threader Vosper Drophead Threader - READ picture

Vintage V-Mac Industries Inc. Pipe Threader Vosper Drophead Threader - READ

$199.00



Vintage Mac Warehouse  3.5” Floppy Disk Solar Powered Calculator Company Swag picture

Vintage Mac Warehouse 3.5” Floppy Disk Solar Powered Calculator Company Swag

$74.00



MAC USA 18-6 XDM Six Points 18 MM Socket 3/8

MAC USA 18-6 XDM Six Points 18 MM Socket 3/8" Drive Used Vintage Excellent Condt

$14.99



Vintage Mac Tools AW343 Series 1/2 Pneumatic Impact Driver  picture

Vintage Mac Tools AW343 Series 1/2 Pneumatic Impact Driver

$50.00



Vintage MAC TOOLS 18MM Combination Wrench M18CW Metric 12 point **Made in USA** picture

Vintage MAC TOOLS 18MM Combination Wrench M18CW Metric 12 point **Made in USA**

$26.50



Vintage UNHOLTZ-DICKIE MAC-6C Equipment - Untested As-is picture

Vintage UNHOLTZ-DICKIE MAC-6C Equipment - Untested As-is

$71.99







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.