BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2009, 05:00 AM   #1
smashed pumpkin
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-mobile
Posts: 4
Default Activation stuck at 52%, now won't activate at all

Please Login to Remove!

Hi all,

Using an 8900 on Blackberry Professional and am having problems with enterprise activation (I should mention at this point I'm our sys admin and have previously activated 20 BBs without problem).

Tried for the first time yesterday morning and the activation process went as far as 52% then sat there for 4 hours. Eventually I cancelled the activation, wiped the handheld, and tried again with a new activation code. Unfortunately activation won't even start now, a message appears reading "An error occurred. Please contact your system administrator." Behind that screen I can just about make out another error message "Activation failed. An error was encountered when sending the activation transmission." The handheld is registered on the wireless network OK and I can run ping/dns tests with no problem.

Any ideas? I've deleted myself from Blackberry Manager, re-added, sent a new activation code about 5 times but still no joy. I've tried a battery pull, activating using a different user account and e-mail address, and wiped the handheld twice. I've also rebooted the Blackberry/Exchange server.

Would appreciate any suggestions!
Offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 08:14 AM   #2
penguin3107
BlackBerry God
 
penguin3107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 11,701
Default

Is your user account a Domain Administrator or a member of any protected AD groups?
__________________
BCSA
BES 5.0.3 MR4 :-: Exchange 2007 SP3 RU3
http://port3101.org
Offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 10:46 AM   #3
smashed pumpkin
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-mobile
Posts: 4
Default

Yes, my account is a Domain Admin, however I have applied one of the workarounds to ensure the 'send as' permission is maintained. I've also tried activating with a standard user account but have the same problem.

I've tried again this afternoon and have now noticed the Blackberry manager reports "70 Processing Stopped: Invalid PIN". Could the PIN be stored somewhere on the server already (from the first activation attempt that hung), or should I add it manually? I'm not even sure that's possible using Blackberry Professional rather than BES.
Offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 10:52 AM   #4
tsac
BlackBerry God
 
tsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Others run out when we run in
Model: Z10
OS: Cheerios
PIN: No Pin just a Tack
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 10,026
Default

Half of all BB's I have had to activate for my group failed if It was OTA. You did not indicate if you are doing this connected or not. I have never had one fail connected to a PC on the Lan that the server is also connected.

Only a suggestion.
__________________
Z10 on BES
Z10 on BIS
Offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 11:07 AM   #5
smashed pumpkin
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-mobile
Posts: 4
Default

All were activated OTA, this is the only one I've had a problem with. I would try connecting it but I'm not back in the office until Tues, unless it can be done on my laptop at home via the VPN? I already have the desktop manager software installed.
Offline  
Old 12-06-2009, 11:16 AM   #6
tsac
BlackBerry God
 
tsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Others run out when we run in
Model: Z10
OS: Cheerios
PIN: No Pin just a Tack
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 10,026
Default

Even using a DSL or Cable connection over a VPN may be at times better than an OTA connection. My experience is too many things can interfere with the download when going OTA.. Maybe others are in a location that is better but I'm not.

Good Luck anyway.
__________________
Z10 on BES
Z10 on BIS
Offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 11:20 AM   #7
smashed pumpkin
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-mobile
Posts: 4
Default

Was finally able to get it working with the help of T-mobile... not sure exactly what they did from their end, but once they did it the device activated perfectly.

Thanks anyway!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

G.E.120-277V Electronic Ballast for 8 ft. 2or1 Lamp T12 Fixture GE260ISMV-N-DIYB
$24.99
G.E.120-277V Electronic Ballast for 8 ft. 2or1 Lamp T12 Fixture GE260ISMV-N-DIYB pictureG.E.NEW MAGNETIC 2 LAMP 213TCP UNIVERSAL SLIMLINE FLORESCENT LIGHT BALLAST 120 V
$59.99
G.E.NEW MAGNETIC 2 LAMP 213TCP UNIVERSAL SLIMLINE FLORESCENT LIGHT BALLAST 120 V pictureNEW Advance Rapid Start Ballast R-2S110-TP Mark 3 Energy Saver 120V / 60Hz
$25.0
NEW Advance Rapid Start Ballast R-2S110-TP Mark 3 Energy Saver 120V  / 60Hz pictureElco P142EU 26W-42W 120V/277V Hpf Electronic Cfl Ballast
$36.38
Elco P142EU 26W-42W 120V/277V Hpf Electronic Cfl Ballast picture1 ADVANCE E-PAK 34 BALLAST RAPID START R-2S34-TP USED WORKS
$17.99
1 ADVANCE E-PAK 34 BALLAST RAPID START R-2S34-TP USED WORKS picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.