BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2009, 02:51 AM   #1
aroramandeep
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Model: 9780
PIN: 23AD94BD
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 37
Default OS Upgrade - 8310

Please Login to Remove!

I would like to upgrade OS and it will be for the first time I would be be doing anything like this to my BB. Current platform is 2.5.0.30.

1. Please advise which OS version I can install directly
2. If I go to BB Manager and take backup, will take include everything. I don't wanna loose anything I currently have.
3. Should I save backup someplace else on my computer or let it be default setting.

Thanks for help.
Offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 05:55 AM   #2
Motorcycle Mama
BlackBerry Master
 
Motorcycle Mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 9930
OS: 7.1.0.163
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 4,351
Default

1. The threads with instructions and download links are stickied at the top of this forum section. http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...ilanguage.html

2. Yes, but be sure to backup your third party application separately just in case. Read the instructions in the post linked above.

3. It's always recommended to 1) make regular backups and 2) do a manual backup before doing any major procedure on the device such as upgrading the OS.
Offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 06:01 AM   #3
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default

Just a thought, if it isn't broken, there is no need to fix it. Meaning, if your device is working for you with no problems and no major issues, maybe you really don't need to upgrade the OS.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 10:22 PM   #4
aroramandeep
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Model: 9780
PIN: 23AD94BD
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 37
Default

My BB is working fine for me.

I've heard that video recording functionality can be added to 8310 once you upgrade the OS. This is the only reason I am thinking about it.

Please advise if it is worth an effort.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


500pc Radial Electrolytic Capacitor Assortment Kit 24 Value 0.1uF-1000uF 10V-50V picture

500pc Radial Electrolytic Capacitor Assortment Kit 24 Value 0.1uF-1000uF 10V-50V

$12.20



High Frequency LOW ESR Radial Electrolytic Capacitor Various Value/Voltages 105C picture

High Frequency LOW ESR Radial Electrolytic Capacitor Various Value/Voltages 105C

$102.00



5pcs Radial Electrolytic Capacitor 50V 25V 16V 0.22uF-470uF Choose From 26 Value picture

5pcs Radial Electrolytic Capacitor 50V 25V 16V 0.22uF-470uF Choose From 26 Value

$9.99



500PCS Electrolytic Capacitor Assortment Kit Set Box 0.1UF-1000UF 24 Values picture

500PCS Electrolytic Capacitor Assortment Kit Set Box 0.1UF-1000UF 24 Values

$24.99



ERO 1uF Capacitor - 250 VAC - Radial Metalized Polyester Capacitors - 1uF - 250V picture

ERO 1uF Capacitor - 250 VAC - Radial Metalized Polyester Capacitors - 1uF - 250V

$5.95



500pcs 24 Value Radial Electrolytic Capacitor Assortment Box Kit 0.1uF-1000uF picture

500pcs 24 Value Radial Electrolytic Capacitor Assortment Box Kit 0.1uF-1000uF

$12.59







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.