BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2009, 01:29 PM   #1
FABS
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 5
Question Does a hard reset wipe out data?

Please Login to Remove!

Soft resets dont help.
My bb 8700c is frozen.
next step is hard reset but cannot afford to loose data.
does the hard reset cause to loose data? Some say yes, some say no...what's your take on it?
Offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 01:30 PM   #2
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

What does "hard reset" mean to you?

Pulling the battery (your first step) doesn't delete data unless you were in the middle of typing a message or something like that.
Offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 01:34 PM   #3
FABS
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 5
Default hard reset is the back pin

hard resetting to me is using the pin the back of the bb you press with a pen tip...
Offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 01:35 PM   #4
FABS
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 5
Default

hard reset is using the back pin pressing it with the pen tip...
Offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 01:40 PM   #5
MidnightDraven
BlackBerry Mensa
 
MidnightDraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chester,UK
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Tesco Mobile
Posts: 9,481
Default

hard reset is taking the battery out and putting it back in.
__________________
~Midnight Draven

"That's it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings... and call off Christmas."
Offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 01:46 PM   #6
FABS
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 5
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJBlackBerry View Post
What does "hard reset" mean to you?

Pulling the battery (your first step) doesn't delete data unless you were in the middle of typing a message or something like that.
I already tried pulling the batter and also alt+cap+del. Does not help. Thats why I want to do hard reset.
Offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 01:47 PM   #7
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

So we need more information - you pulled the battery (with the BB not plugged in) and what *exactly* happens on the BB.
Offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 02:53 PM   #8
FABS
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 5
Default

when I pulled the battery it turns off.
When I put it back in after a minute or so, it goes to the same prblem of turning of and on with the blank screen and sand clock...
Offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 02:56 PM   #9
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

Hopefully you have a recent backup.

How do I wipe the BlackBerry using Jl Cmder? - BlackBerryFAQ

This method WILL wipe out all data, programs and the operating system.
Offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 04:10 PM   #10
goat03
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 16
Default

And here I always though removing the battery was a soft reset. Neato.
Offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 08:25 PM   #11
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

Soft reset, hard reset - it all depends on what you are trying to do.
Offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 08:41 AM   #12
takeshi
BlackBerry Mensa
 
takeshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston
Model: 8310
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 7,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FABS View Post
Some say yes, some say no...what's your take on it?
There's no "take" on it. Resets on BB's don't affect data. Wipes do.
Offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 08:44 AM   #13
stricni
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
stricni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 9630
OS: 4.7.1.61
PIN: n/a
Carrier: verizon wireless
Posts: 121
Default

when you take the battery out it is a soft reset. when you wipe your handheld in your advanced options it is a hard reset.
__________________
Nina
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

9-1 Ultrasonic Cavitation RF Radio Frequency Vacuum Slimming Machine Body Beauty
$535.0
9-1 Ultrasonic Cavitation RF Radio Frequency Vacuum Slimming Machine Body Beauty picture6in1 Cavitation RF Radio Frequency Ultrasonic Vacuum Body Slim Beauty Machine
$545.0
6in1 Cavitation RF Radio Frequency Ultrasonic Vacuum Body Slim Beauty Machine picture6in1 40K Cavitation Ultrasonic Radio Frequency Vacuum RF Cellulite Slim Machine
$545.0
6in1 40K Cavitation Ultrasonic Radio Frequency Vacuum RF Cellulite Slim Machine picture5IN1 Ultrasonic Cavitation Radio Frequency Vacuum RF Body Slimming Machine Bid
$479.0
5IN1 Ultrasonic Cavitation Radio Frequency Vacuum RF Body Slimming Machine Bid pictureRF Radio Frequency Anti Aging 2in1 Facial Neck Photon Lifting Skin Care Machine
$80.0
RF Radio Frequency Anti Aging 2in1 Facial Neck Photon Lifting Skin Care Machine  picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.