Old 12-04-2004, 02:08 PM   #2
WorldIRC
CrackBerry Addict

Model: 9900
Carrier: Rogers Wireless

Old 01-28-2005, 06:10 PM   #3
bbnewbie

Default Newbie - cannot access web w/ simulator

Sorry to post this, as I'm sure it's a previously-answered problem, but I could not find anything on the board.

I'm a web designer and our site is having some problems, apparently, viewing pages with the Blackberry. I don't have a BlackBerry, just the QA guys (who are in a different city), so I can't see the problems they see with the site.

So I grabbed the simulator, installed, clicked the "Start MDS Simulator" shortcut and then have run the 7700 series simulator. I am getting the "Unable to connect to Mobile Data Service, please try again later".

On installation, I did not put it in local or remote host information, just left the defaults. I am using Win2000 Pro. I can't really tell if the MDS Simulator IS running - I see the command window open, the close, and then it launches a Windows Explorer window. Is that normal?

Any tips for this newbie?
Old 01-28-2005, 10:54 PM   #4
dinouye

It's been a few months since I last did bb dev but last I recall when using the MDS sim this is what happens:
-> start MDS sim through start menu
-> a command window opens and stays open during the durration of your testing, it's basically a customized tomcat server and you can see the traffic in there as you app runs in the sim and hits it on it's way out to the internet
-> I didn't have to put in any customized local or remote host information as ithe MDS sim seems to just use the default path out to the internet