Old 12-08-2008, 10:06 AM   #1
paulyjsob
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Default Business user with 1 week experience

Please Login to Remove!

I received my Storm 1 day before leaving for a 1 week business trip. I was a little reluctant to upgrade before my trip, but decided to anyway. I did bring my Pearl along for the ride in case though.
A little background.. I have been a Pearl user for the year. I did try to curve a little while ago but didn't like it. I like 1 hand operation and the curve didn't work out for me. I do like suretype so I figured I'd be OK with the Storm. I am an IT Manager so I do receive/reply to a fair amount of emails.
After using it for 1 week I am very happy so far. It took a little to get used to the typing, but I got the hand of it fairly quick. I have fat fingers so it was more of a concentrating on hitting the center of the key thing. Being the I like suretype, I prefer typing in portrait mode. Plus the keys are a little bigger. After about a day I was able to type as fast or faster than on the Pearl. Especially 1 handed.
I did start off on .65 and noticed the lag when switching to landscape from portrait. I then upgraded to .75 and that was gone. I also haven't experienced any crashes since (about 5 days). I did however notice the camera doing funky things. For instance, the icons disappear from the bottom. Other than that, its seems to be very stable.
I tether my laptop to the Storm via bluetooth and it works perfect. The Rev A is noticeably faster. I am very happy with that.
Battery life surprisingly is about the same as on the Pearl. With heavy email throughout the day and maybe 1 hour talk time, I had about 1/2 -2/3 battery left at the end of the day. Battery life didn't seem to change much for me after the upgrade to .75 either.
All in all I am very happy with the Storm and the Pearl will probably make its way down to another employee.
Old 12-08-2008, 10:37 AM   #2
rpjohs