BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2008, 03:36 PM   #41
Treatz
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Model: 9000
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 69
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TTune View Post
FINALLY - How can one KNOW that the connection is going via WiFi instead of 3G, if both radios are on?
The white wifi indicator will remain visible, and lit, in the browser window if you're browsing on wifi

This is assuming, of course, that you're not browsing full screen, cause if you are you wont see it. (pressing U will toggle Fullscreen)
Offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 01:56 AM   #42
TTune
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
TTune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: On an Airplane
Model: Torch
OS: 6.0.0.337
PIN: 231be712
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 110
Default

@Treatz - thanks for the tip but the Wifi indicator doesn't "prove" that the data is going out the WiFi radio. There are 3 browsers available and only the bookmarks which are linked to "Hotspot" seem to force the use of WiFi
Offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 09:09 AM   #43
WorldIRC
CrackBerry Addict
 
WorldIRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto
Model: 9900
OS: 5.0.0.0
Carrier: Rogers Wireless
Posts: 916
Default

The other way you can tell is the transmission indicators will flash quickly when browsing as opposed to slowly on 3G.
__________________
Brian Bader
MSN / Email: [email address]
AOL: WorldIRC1986
Offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 04:37 PM   #44
Treatz
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Model: 9000
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 69
Default

Wirelessly posted

Quote:
Originally Posted by TTune
@Treatz - thanks for the tip but the Wifi indicator doesn't "prove" that the data is going out the WiFi radio. There are 3 browsers available and only the bookmarks which are linked to "Hotspot" seem to force the use of WiFi
If you set the bookmarks to internet browser they will also use wifi if you're on wifi
If you set the bookmarks to the wap browser. In my case "rogers mall" they will never use wifi.

You can verify this by leaving the berry on 2g and wifi connected. Pull up the internet browser and hit a page. Put the berry on top or really close to pc speakers. You will not hear the gsm buzzing showing data is going through wifi
Also. I was in buffalo a few days ago with data "off when roaming" when I connected to wifi the indicator turned white and I was able to surf and email and bb nessage

To me I believe the above shows wifi data is being used
You could turn off the radio but that isn't always a good solution if you're not on a uma berry cause then youe calls / sms won't come through
Offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 04:49 PM   #45
jibi
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Default

Does this not put something in the device's debug logs (ALT+LGLG)?
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 03:35 AM   #46
TTune
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
TTune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: On an Airplane
Model: Torch
OS: 6.0.0.337
PIN: 231be712
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jibi View Post
Does this not put something in the device's debug logs (ALT+LGLG)?
@Jibi - thanks for the tip. It seems to push things out through the TCP stack for Wifi in the log files.

Now - I am really curious to know who named "MagicRudyAPN"....
Offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 01:47 PM   #47
Stinsonddog
BBF Moderator
 
Stinsonddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern California
Model: 9700
PIN: Agaboobie
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5,518
Default

ATT Launch Bold has .167 on it.
__________________
Shortcuts Rule!! Download Link:[Stinsonddog's Blackberry Tips ] GET TORCHED
@ Stinsonddog
Offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 02:27 PM   #48
carsmovies
CrackBerry Addict
 
carsmovies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: GTA, Canada
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0.0.190
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stinsonddog View Post
ATT Launch Bold has .167 on it.
Have you seen one?
Offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 03:59 PM   #49
estabulla
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
estabulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Model: 9700
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carsmovies View Post
Have you seen one?
I trust Stinsonddog
__________________
--EB/ASN
9700 on 6.0.0.something, BES 4.1 on Exchange, BIS (AT&T)
Ex 8700, 8800, 8100, 8310, 9000
Offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 04:36 PM   #50
n00ne
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 16
Default Question.

I know this has been asked a couple of times already but here goes again. Is there any difference (besides languages packaging) between the leaked version and the official published one, say the current leaked .162 and the 162 that Rogers published? Or since this is the .167 thread, between the leaked .167 and the supposed official .167 running on the ATT Bold.
Offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 04:59 PM   #51
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by estabulla View Post
I trust Stinsonddog
eh, trust him yea, just don't get between him and his coffee.
Offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 06:21 PM   #52
carsmovies
CrackBerry Addict
 
carsmovies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: GTA, Canada
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0.0.190
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by estabulla View Post
I trust Stinsonddog
Never said I didn't trust him. Was just curious.
Offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 02:37 AM   #53
baltee
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: BC, Canada
Model: All
PIN: ..
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 46
Default

AT&T has now posted the 167 code on their site.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

* JOHNSON CONTROLS METASYS XP-9102-8304 EXPANSION MODULE
$10.0
* JOHNSON CONTROLS METASYS XP-9102-8304 EXPANSION MODULE pictureJohnson Controls Metasys AS-UNT1144-0 Unitary Controller + 1 Year Warranty
$129.99
Johnson Controls Metasys AS-UNT1144-0 Unitary Controller + 1 Year Warranty pictureNew Open johnson controls metasys VMA 1630 -1
$300.0
New Open johnson controls metasys VMA 1630 -1 pictureJOHNSON CONTROLS DX-9121-8454 -USED- METASYS Digital Controller
$587.0
JOHNSON CONTROLS DX-9121-8454 -USED- METASYS Digital Controller picture1PC Used METASYS module XP-9103-8304
$50.35
1PC Used METASYS module XP-9103-8304 picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.