BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-02-2008, 06:29 PM   #21
Shaun
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Shaun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.296
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 2,384
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Quote:
Originally Posted by muck View Post
Wirelessly posted

Does Wifi and beejive work with 162?
This was an issue I had with the 4.6.0.15X builds, and I am happy to report that the issue is resolved/not present in the .162 build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carsmovies View Post
That's why there isn't any 3G phones with UMA.
Samsung P270
__________________

Last edited by Shaun; 10-02-2008 at 06:36 PM..
Offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 06:49 PM   #22
muck
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
muck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 9000
Carrier: optus
Posts: 351
Default

thanks shaun i'll make the migration
Offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 06:51 PM   #23
estabulla
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
estabulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Model: 9700
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 396
Default

There is memory leakage. In fact it is a bit more than the previous version. Not sure if it Viigo again....though it is the same version as before.
__________________
--EB/ASN
9700 on 6.0.0.something, BES 4.1 on Exchange, BIS (AT&T)
Ex 8700, 8800, 8100, 8310, 9000
Offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 07:06 PM   #24
Shaun
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Shaun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.296
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 2,384
Default

I am experiencing improved memory usage with this build (over .147).

I do not have Viigo installed.
__________________
Offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 07:08 PM   #25
carsmovies
CrackBerry Addict
 
carsmovies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: GTA, Canada
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0.0.190
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaun27612 View Post
This was an issue I had with the 4.6.0.15X builds, and I am happy to report that the issue is resolved/not present in the .162 build.



Samsung P270
Not even out yet and the bold obviously doesn't have this newer 3g chipset.
Offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 07:20 PM   #26
Shaun
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Shaun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.296
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 2,384
Default

Was simply posting a phone that will have the capability (3G + UMA), since the posts to that point were more or less saying it can't be done. Not saying the Bold could do it.
__________________
Offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 07:27 PM   #27
carsmovies
CrackBerry Addict
 
carsmovies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: GTA, Canada
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0.0.190
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaun27612 View Post
Was simply posting a phone that will have the capability (3G + UMA), since the posts to that point were more or less saying it can't be done. Not saying the Bold could do it.
I know, lol. Just that some others think that the bold will be able to have it with newer software. Won't happen.
Offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 07:32 PM   #28
Shaun
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Shaun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.296
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 2,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carsmovies View Post
I know, lol. Just that some others think that the bold will be able to have it with newer software. Won't happen.
I agree. It would be a nice feature, but I am still loving what I DO have with the Bold (I thank you). Maybe in a few weeks, I'll start looking for things I wish it had.
__________________
Offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 08:11 PM   #29
eclipse604
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
Nor will there ever be (most likely.)
there never will be UMA on the bold. period. i dunno the exact reasons why, but carmovies' explanation makes sense.
Offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 08:29 PM   #30
carsmovies
CrackBerry Addict
 
carsmovies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: GTA, Canada
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0.0.190
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaun27612 View Post
I agree. It would be a nice feature, but I am still loving what I DO have with the Bold (I thank you). Maybe in a few weeks, I'll start looking for things I wish it had.
Np Shaun. Glad you're still enjoying it. The Javelin will have UMA but no 3g unfortunately.
Offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 09:26 PM   #31
Mandizzle
BlackBerryFAQ.com Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TorontO
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.246
PIN: 2322E11D
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 471
Default

Been running .162 all day... I had a lot more free memory when I had .150 running.
__________________
Blackberry Torch 9800
PIN #: 2322E11D
O/S: 6.0.0.246
Offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 10:45 PM   #32
snipez
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto
Model: 9000
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 36
Default

lol the constant updating is driving me insane cause each time i do it i have to fix my all day events with google sync!! but thanks!
Offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 10:47 PM   #33
bigwillokc
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Model: 9800
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 239
Default

i'm sticking with 162 for a while now that the wifi/jivetalk issue is resolved!
Offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 11:20 PM   #34
TTune
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
TTune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: On an Airplane
Model: Torch
OS: 6.0.0.337
PIN: 231be712
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carsmovies View Post
I've been told the reason there's no UMA is cause the 3G chips in general don't play nice with UMA. That's why there isn't any 3G phones with UMA.
This is very incorrect - not your fault - usually a Rogers guy who has little or no clue what they're talking about (ever).

Here's another example other than the Samsung note above:
Unstrung - Handhelds - Orange Launches 3G UMA - Wireless News Wire

It CAN be done. Perhaps some carriers don't WANT it to be done.

Finally - if you REALLY CARE about the guts of this solution I would suggest reading this article: What's inside Orange's 3G UMA WiFi Service - A direct competitor for femtocells? | Opinion

Note that this group doesn't really like the idea of UMA 'cuz it competes with THEIR ultimate service (femtocells). Everything should be taken with a little salt...

Last edited by TTune; 10-02-2008 at 11:22 PM..
Offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 01:34 AM   #35
akc786
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pakistan
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.246
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Mobilink
Posts: 280
Default

Well using .162 for the last 10 hours and it seems stable than .150

Memory leak issue has mostely been resolved. I had 50mb when installed and after 10 hours it's 48mb. Not bad.

Overall, nothing new in it but lot of bug fixes.
__________________
Asif Chaudhary
Pakistan
Offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 01:43 AM   #36
JmJ17
New Member
 
JmJ17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Spain
Model: 9000
OS: Mac OS X
PIN: 25564C6F
Carrier: Vodafone Spain
Posts: 12
Default

I've got the same problem with the conctacts in this version.

Can anybody add o delete contacts without problems?
Offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 01:54 AM   #37
TTune
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
TTune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: On an Airplane
Model: Torch
OS: 6.0.0.337
PIN: 231be712
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JmJ17 View Post
I've got the same problem with the conctacts in this version.

Can anybody add o delete contacts without problems?
@JmJ17: I just tried to create a new contact, delete an old contact, and sync to Outlook. All worked as expected. What issues are you having?
Offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 03:04 AM   #38
JmJ17
New Member
 
JmJ17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Spain
Model: 9000
OS: Mac OS X
PIN: 25564C6F
Carrier: Vodafone Spain
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TTune View Post
@JmJ17: I just tried to create a new contact, delete an old contact, and sync to Outlook. All worked as expected. What issues are you having?
The problem is that when I add or edit a contact, when I press ESC and then "Save", the box dissapears and the contact remains open as if nothing would happen. If I try again to save the contact same occurs. The only way to exit is pressing ESC and "Discard" (sorry if this is not a good translation because my bold is in spanish).

The good part is that when I finally exit, the contact is saved ok.

I'm a BIS user, not BES. This occurs in my bold with .150 too, but not with .154. Now with .162 occurs again.
Offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 04:34 AM   #39
tao980
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
tao980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Suceava, Romania
Model: 9000
Carrier: Orange Romania
Posts: 84
Default

Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry 9000 Bold)

Users on other forums have reported that Bolds with 162 prefer 2G rather than 3G. Has anyone here noticed a similar behavior?
Offline  
Old 10-03-2008, 08:04 AM   #40
JmJ17
New Member
 
JmJ17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Spain
Model: 9000
OS: Mac OS X
PIN: 25564C6F
Carrier: Vodafone Spain
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tao980 View Post
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry 9000 Bold)

Users on other forums have reported that Bolds with 162 prefer 2G rather than 3G. Has anyone here noticed a similar behavior?

mmm, maybe... only a few hours using it, but could be...
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Hewlett Packard 70004A Display Mainframe Includes 70427A Microwave Downconverter
$59.0
Hewlett Packard 70004A Display Mainframe Includes 70427A Microwave Downconverter pictureTektronix AM503B Current Probe Amplifier w/TM502A Mainframe GUARANTEED
$225.0
Tektronix AM503B Current Probe Amplifier w/TM502A Mainframe GUARANTEED pictureSorensen MML-4 Electronic Load Mainframe w/4x MML-80V-60A Modules GOOD
$650.0
Sorensen MML-4 Electronic Load Mainframe w/4x MML-80V-60A  Modules GOOD pictureKeithley 7001 Switch System Mainframe S/N: 0579406
$355.0
Keithley 7001 Switch System Mainframe S/N: 0579406 pictureKeithey 7001 Switch System Mainframe S/N: 4118829
$355.0
Keithey 7001 Switch System Mainframe S/N: 4118829 picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.