BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-2008, 02:50 AM   #1
euskalhenriko
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 7
Question Problem with socket connection

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,
i try to make a socket connection with blackberry 8300 simulator and it's impossible.
I read a lot of post about this, blackberry documentation, etc. but i can't find the solution.
This is the code:
Code:
//in <ip of server> I write the real ip that is a external ip
final String URL = "socket://<ip of server>:7777;deviceside=true;";
StreamConnection conn = null;
conn = (StreamConnection)Connector.open(URL);
//...
the exception is an IOException with message: Bad SRC_PORT
I don't have firewall, i try ping the ip and the answer is correct
I write the port because isn't the classic 4444 port...
any idea?
Offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 03:09 AM   #2
euskalhenriko
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 7
Default upgrade

i change one thing and the error message is differen:
the URL String now is
socket://<ip of server>:7777;deviceside=true;apn=<apn name>;tunnelauthusername=<user>;tunnelauthpassword=<psw>;

Now the error is an IOException with the message:Unable to open connection
any idea?
Offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 03:31 AM   #3
Ivanov
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany, BW
Model: -
PIN: N/A
Carrier: -
Posts: 310
Default

Is the MDS simulator running propperly and you can open internet pages using the Simulator's Browser?

try it with "deviceside=false" parameter:

Code:
final String URL = "socket://<ip of server>:7777;deviceside=false";
Offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 04:09 AM   #4
euskalhenriko
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 7
Default

thank!!!
i think that i had tried all the possibility (mds on, deviceide true, mds off, deviceide true, etc) but probably i don't try this because now i can connect.
I can't receive answer but i thin it's a personal protocol problem
Thank you very much and sorry for the stupid question
Offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 01:04 AM   #5
balajimani
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: 8670
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 4
Default Socket Connection Problem

Hi,

I am also got struck with same socket connection problem. Kindly let me know if you have done with that.

Thanks,
Bala.
Offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 08:14 AM   #6
euskalhenriko
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 7
Default

the problem was that i can't use the port for company policy...
Now i can connect and receive
sorry
Offline  
Closed Thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


128K RAM - APPLE - ORIGINAL APPLE prototype BOARD picture

128K RAM - APPLE - ORIGINAL APPLE prototype BOARD

$408.75



APPLE 630-0895-B  VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD VINTAGE picture

APPLE 630-0895-B VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD VINTAGE

$74.77



APPLE 820-0522-A 630-0895-B LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD  picture

APPLE 820-0522-A 630-0895-B LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD

$149.99







Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.