BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2010, 03:18 PM   #1
aikanae
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Model: 9630
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 2
Default New to BB with Older Mac?

Please Login to Remove!

I've never had a Blackberry before and I was going to get a Tour for my next upgrade. However I'm on an older Mac g4 running 10.4 and I wasn't planning to upgrade my system for a phone. The RIM Desktop Manager requires 10.5 / Intel Mac (uh-oh).

How much of a hassle are Blackberries with an older Mac? Is there limited functionality? Or trouble prone / experienced users only?

Thx.
Offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 04:16 PM   #2
Statman
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Statman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boulder
Model: 8830
OS: 4.6.1.30
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aikanae View Post
I've never had a Blackberry before and I was going to get a Tour for my next upgrade. However I'm on an older Mac g4 running 10.4 and I wasn't planning to upgrade my system for a phone. The RIM Desktop Manager requires 10.5 / Intel Mac (uh-oh).

How much of a hassle are Blackberries with an older Mac? Is there limited functionality? Or trouble prone / experienced users only?

Thx.
First you can run DM with 10.5 on a PPC. Your next question is interesting...The BB does not require a computer to function....if you rely on syncing all the time it could be frustrating. Updating software could also be an adventure, but that is also something that can be done at your carrier's store or OTA. Get a hold of either pocket mac or missing sync ($)...I used to use PM and never had any issues.
__________________
Statman
8830WE VZW
4.6.1.305 hybrid
Mac Pro 2X2.8 Quad SL
Offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 06:00 PM   #3
aikanae
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Model: 9630
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 2
Default

I thought I read DM supported Intel Macs only. I'm glad I was wrong although I wasn't planning to upgrade to Leopard (until now).

One of the reasons I wanted a Blackberry was to sync calendar and address book. I'm tired of carrying a 10lb planner everywhere. I'd like to enter the information directly into my phone and be done with it.

Thx.
Offline  
Old 01-15-2010, 06:52 PM   #4
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default

If DM doesn't work, you can try PocketMac or MissingSync.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


New Greaseweazle V4 USB Floppy Adapter Flux Reader Writer Amiga PC Amstrad #1059 picture

New Greaseweazle V4 USB Floppy Adapter Flux Reader Writer Amiga PC Amstrad #1059

$25.47



New Amiga Gotek OLED IIC I2C 0.91

New Amiga Gotek OLED IIC I2C 0.91" 128x32 LCD Display Module 3.3V 5V White #679

$6.77



23 WAY MALE

23 WAY MALE "D" PLUG DB23 CONNECTOR FOR COMMODORE AMIGA - RARE

$7.24



RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC picture

RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC

$185.00



1pc TS68000CP8 DIP64 68000 8MHz | Atari Commodore AMIGA 500 A2000 CDTV picture

1pc TS68000CP8 DIP64 68000 8MHz | Atari Commodore AMIGA 500 A2000 CDTV

$13.18



4x PLCC 52 52 Pin Pole SMD IC Sockets Precision Version INDUSTRIAL QUALITY NOS Amiga picture

4x PLCC 52 52 Pin Pole SMD IC Sockets Precision Version INDUSTRIAL QUALITY NOS Amiga

$3.97







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.