BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2010, 11:25 AM   #1
Zach Dundore
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 6
Default Migration From BPS to BES Express

Please Login to Remove!

We are currently running a fully patched version of BPS 4.1.4 and some nice features are available with the new Blackberry Enterprise Server Express 5.0. I know i cannot perform a straight upgrade, but i don't like the idea of deactivating our current devices, uninstalling the BPS from our exchange server and then installing BES Express and reactivating all of our devices. Is it possible to instead install the BES Express side by side with the BPS and migrate the devices at my convenience? Anyone have any experience with this yet?
Offline  
Old 08-23-2010, 08:26 PM   #2
Chip1035
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.351
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 23
Default

This is exactly what I am looking for the answer too. I posted this question on another forum, the support blackberry forums to be exact. The answer I got was we can't install BESX 5.0.2 on the same server as BPS 4.1.4. HOWEVER, I have read you can have two installs of BES running just not using the same database. But what is NOT clear to me is can I install BESX 5.0.2 on the same server as my current BPS 4.1.4 using a seperate database?
I only have ONE server running Win2003SBS.
Food for thought, although NOT supported, I have tested and was successful in installing BESX on a Windows 7 box (for my own home server, can't do that with the company I'm trying to upgrade BPS to BESX).
Offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 06:07 AM   #3
nobody7290
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: t-mobile Germany
Posts: 1,381
Default

I would rather like to remove a currently installed BPS 4.1.6, leave the database intact, and, then install BESx, and, reuse the database.

The server currently only has 6 users, so, reactivating the devices is not a problem, but, If I could omit this, the users saved settings, and their pin, sms, email history would be kept.

Anyone tried this out already ?
Offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 09:57 AM   #4
knottyrope
BlackBerry Elite
 
knottyrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Model: DT60
OS: 123456789
PIN: t of blood has been taken
Carrier: AT&T-US with I dee ten tee errors
Posts: 7,325
Default

I wrote about it here.

BES/SBE/BPS 4.x upgrade options to BES Express 5.0 - BlackBerry Support Community Forums
__________________
I had to fall
To lose it all
But in the end
It doesn't even matter

Rocking the Motion with out lotion.
Offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 04:27 PM   #5
nobody7290
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: t-mobile Germany
Posts: 1,381
Default

knottyrope,
my idea ist not on your list, I will try that out anyway and, let you know.
Offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 07:47 AM   #6
knottyrope
BlackBerry Elite
 
knottyrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Model: DT60
OS: 123456789
PIN: t of blood has been taken
Carrier: AT&T-US with I dee ten tee errors
Posts: 7,325
Default

The installer will knot upgrade any daabases.
__________________
I had to fall
To lose it all
But in the end
It doesn't even matter

Rocking the Motion with out lotion.
Offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 07:48 AM   #7
knottyrope
BlackBerry Elite
 
knottyrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Model: DT60
OS: 123456789
PIN: t of blood has been taken
Carrier: AT&T-US with I dee ten tee errors
Posts: 7,325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chip1035 View Post
HOWEVER, I have read you can have two installs of BES running just not using the same database. But what is NOT clear to me is can I install BESX 5.0.2 on the same server as my current BPS 4.1.4 using a seperate database?
I only have ONE server running Win2003SBS.
Food for thought, although NOT supported, I have tested and was successful in installing BESX on a Windows 7 box (for my own home server, can't do that with the company I'm trying to upgrade BPS to BESX).
only one BES per server OS and Windows 7 is unsupported
__________________
I had to fall
To lose it all
But in the end
It doesn't even matter

Rocking the Motion with out lotion.
Offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 09:39 AM   #8
Chip1035
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.351
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knottyrope View Post
only one BES per server OS and Windows 7 is unsupported
Correct, Win7 is unsupported but my testing worked. This was a temporary move until I was able to get a server to install BESX on.
Offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 09:55 AM   #9
Zach Dundore
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 6
Default

Update:

i have successfully installed BES 5.0 Express on a VM. I still currently am running BPS on our exchange server. I have tested the transporter and moved a user to the new Express server without having to do a reactivation. My eventual plan now is to migrate all users the the Virtual Machine and then uninstall the BPS and reinstall a new BES 5.0 Express on the exchange server and migrate the users back over. This is pending a response to my performance question tho.

See my post BES 5.0 Express Performance in the BES Admin Corner.

Thanks for the write up knottyrope on blackberry's website forums. Very helpful in determining a path for my migration.
Offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 10:43 AM   #10
knottyrope
BlackBerry Elite
 
knottyrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Model: DT60
OS: 123456789
PIN: t of blood has been taken
Carrier: AT&T-US with I dee ten tee errors
Posts: 7,325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach Dundore View Post

Thanks for the write up knottyrope on blackberry's website forums. Very helpful in determining a path for my migration.
Glad to have helped out
__________________
I had to fall
To lose it all
But in the end
It doesn't even matter

Rocking the Motion with out lotion.
Offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 11:07 AM   #11
Zach Dundore
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 6
Default

knottyrope you seem very knowledgable on the BES Express software. Do you have any input on my question related to performance of BES Express? Look up my post if you can and reply if you have anything.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


HP/Agilent N3300A System DC Electronic Load Mainframe picture

HP/Agilent N3300A System DC Electronic Load Mainframe

$1300.00



Exfo MAX-FIP MaxTester Mainframe With Power Meter And VFL picture

Exfo MAX-FIP MaxTester Mainframe With Power Meter And VFL

$599.99



Tektronix TM5006 Mainframe  picture

Tektronix TM5006 Mainframe

$974.99



Elma 32XM-0619-TV08VXIC-P500 Embedded VME Mainframe Chassis picture

Elma 32XM-0619-TV08VXIC-P500 Embedded VME Mainframe Chassis

$1299.99



Vintage Glass Reed Switch Carbolite Body Soviet Mainframe Power Units USSR 1970s picture

Vintage Glass Reed Switch Carbolite Body Soviet Mainframe Power Units USSR 1970s

$3.11



Tektronix TM5006A Power Module Mainframe (PK28) picture

Tektronix TM5006A Power Module Mainframe (PK28)

$250.00







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.