Old 01-21-2009, 04:26 PM   #1
JackG058
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 8330
PIN: ney for your thoughts
Carrier: Sprint
Default Deleting prior SMS texts changes current one

Please Login to Remove!

I've not seen this issue posted, and if it has, my apologies as I searched and couldn't find it.

I'm still new to the BB OS, having come from years on the Palm platform. I love the Palm threaded SMS by the way. I have my 8330 set to "separate" in my settings. Here is the issue which I just figured out exactly what was happening last night.

Let's say I've gotten 5 texts from John Doe. As long as I keep all 5 texts, the most current one has the entire conversations. However, if I delete the 4 oldest texts, then this changes the conversation in the most recent text by removing history from the current text. I know because my wife sent me a text with her dinner order yesterday afternoon, followed by several other texts. The most recent text had all of the prior text information in it, as I checked. However, prior to leaving work and stopping for dinner, I deleted all the prior texts, keeping just the current one, and lo and behold, when I stop and place my order, the current thread no longer contained the dinner order. Is this normal behavior, or am I doing something wrong? I absolutely love the Curve, and will likely stay a Crackberry addict, as it is such a solid and reliable device in all respects, but the SMS is the one weak point for me, at least unless someone can show me that I am doing something wrong.

Thanks for the help, and I love this forum.
Old 01-21-2009, 04:36 PM   #2
CO_BBTechie
BlackBerry Extraordinaire

Model: 8310
Carrier: AT&T

Yup it's working as designed.
Old 01-21-2009, 04:40 PM   #3
JackG058
Thumbs Must Hurt

Quote:
Originally Posted by CO_BBTechie View Post
Yup it's working as designed.