BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2007, 12:18 AM   #1
yashovardhan
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: India
Model: 7230
Carrier: Airtel(india)
Posts: 18
Default Unable to send SMS from J2ME application in blackberry 8703e

Please Login to Remove!

Hello All,

I have developed a J2ME midlet for sending sms using Javax wireless API's.I am using java development Environment 4.1.Application is working fine in GSM Blackberry's but in 8703e which is CDMA Blackberry i am unable to send the SMS. Error is thrown. I am not sure this is a setting issue or i have to change the code for sending in CDMA mode.Please help

thanks in advance
Yash
Offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 12:23 AM   #2
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Moved to the Developer Forum....you'll have much better luck there.
Offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 04:30 AM   #3
simon.hain
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Default

could you be more specific about the error you get?
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 01:44 AM   #4
yashovardhan
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: India
Model: 7230
Carrier: Airtel(india)
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yashovardhan
Hello All,

I have developed a J2ME midlet for sending sms using Javax wireless API's.I am using java development Environment 4.1.Application is working fine in GSM Blackberry's but in 8703e which is CDMA Blackberry i am unable to send the SMS. Error is thrown. I am not sure this is a setting issue or i have to change the code for sending in CDMA mode.

Input Output Exception is thrown when trying to send using message connection object.But for GSM phone no error is thrown. i tried changing options in blackberry like diasbling the firewall, allowing user contents etc but still not working

Please help

thanks in advance
Yash
Offline  
Old 07-11-2007, 02:27 PM   #5
Gautamb
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 7250
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 1
Default

Any chance anyone has a solution to this? The exception that's thrown for me is just a nondescript IOException...no idea what the problem in particular is. This does not happen on a GSM phone just as the case that the OP had.
Offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 12:55 AM   #6
Meenal
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: India
Model: 8700g
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 117
Default

Did u get ur query solved ... if yes, do let me know.I am facing the same problem.

I am sending autosms thru my aaplication. It works fine GSM devices.But on CDMA devices, it goes as far as asking me permission for the sms connection but does not send the sms. can some pls help.
__________________
Thanks
Meenal
Offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 06:59 AM   #7
Meenal
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: India
Model: 8700g
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 117
Default

I think the applications for CDMA and GSM have to developed differently,as both are different technologies.
__________________
Thanks
Meenal
Offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 04:47 AM   #8
airan
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 20
Default Please take it as important ..!

Dear BB moderator/BB tech support team,

There are innumerable number of posts looking for SMS send and receive answers on CDMA devices. Help/clarification from BB tech support team will be much appreciated. \

The issue is, a piece of code to send SMS via WMA API works fine on GSM devices but always fails on CDMA devices.

Question:
1) Is the CDMA IS 637 Adaptor (described in JSR 120) implemented on all/any CDMA BB.

(2) If answer to (1) is "no" is there any BB CDMA device that has this adaptor implemented ?

(3) Is there any workaround/alternative API we can use to send an SMS to a particular destination on this device ?
__________________
Thanks
Amit

Last edited by airan; 03-18-2008 at 05:49 AM..
Offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 07:35 AM   #9
simon.hain
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Default

this is the code i use to send a sms, never used a cdma-device though.

Code:
MessageConnection _dc = (MessageConnection)Connector.open("sms://"+number);                 
Message sms = _dc.newMessage(MessageConnection.TEXT_MESSAGE);
TextMessage sms2 = (TextMessage)sms;
sms2.setPayloadText(msg);          
_dc.send(sms2);
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 04:19 AM   #10
jeyaprakash.c
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: chennai.india
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: airtel
Posts: 57
Arrow

hi all

Using datagram connection i can send and receive sms via cdma phones. But cdma 4.3 os devices wont support my code i use same code its works fine on GSM devices is there any limitations in 4.3 Rim os?
__________________
thanx n regards
jeyaprakash.c
Offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 04:12 AM   #11
manjusum
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: REALTECH
Posts: 1
Default Unable to send SMS from J2ME application in blackberry 8703e

Hi Jeya,

May be you should try this -

Livelink - Redirection


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeyaprakash.c View Post
hi all

Using datagram connection i can send and receive sms via cdma phones. But cdma 4.3 os devices wont support my code i use same code its works fine on GSM devices is there any limitations in 4.3 Rim os?
Offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 04:57 AM   #12
airan
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 20
Default

Hi Jeyaprakash,
When i try to use the sample code(with DatagramConnection and Datagram and no rim specific APIs), the message is terminating with junk characters(may be as binary).

Were u able to send the text message correctly .Can u pls share ur send msg code ?
__________________
Thanks
Amit
Offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 06:35 AM   #13
mobiugo
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: rogers
Posts: 1
Default

Did this get resolved? If so, any suggestions? I have a similar issue.

Thanks
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Analog Panel AMP VOLT Current Ammeter Voltmeter Voltage Gauge 10A 50V DH-670 DC  picture

Analog Panel AMP VOLT Current Ammeter Voltmeter Voltage Gauge 10A 50V DH-670 DC

$12.99



2PCS 22mm Voltmeter Ammeter 3 in 1 Current Voltage Hertz Meters AC60-500V 0-100A picture

2PCS 22mm Voltmeter Ammeter 3 in 1 Current Voltage Hertz Meters AC60-500V 0-100A

$11.69



Mini Digital Voltmeter Ammeter DC 100V 10A Car LED Display Panel Amp Volt Tester picture

Mini Digital Voltmeter Ammeter DC 100V 10A Car LED Display Panel Amp Volt Tester

$10.49



AC 80-260V 0-100A LCD Digital Display Volt Watt Power Meter Voltmeter Ammeter picture

AC 80-260V 0-100A LCD Digital Display Volt Watt Power Meter Voltmeter Ammeter

$22.50



LCD Digital Multimeter Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Volt AC DC Tester Leads Meter picture

LCD Digital Multimeter Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter Volt AC DC Tester Leads Meter

$10.95



US Stock Analog Panel AMP Current Ammeter Meter Gauge DH-670 0-10A DC picture

US Stock Analog Panel AMP Current Ammeter Meter Gauge DH-670 0-10A DC

$13.23







Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.