BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 07-17-2006, 05:48 AM   #1
LHC77

Model: 8700
Carrier: Vodafone
Default MDS connection Time out error

Please Login to Remove!

I have just upgraded my BES from 4.0 to 4.1 and have also installed MDS. I can activate the MDS on the devices but when I try to run applications such as the simple convertor application supplied by RIM it allows me to enter the data and submit it but after a about a minute I get the following error in my log files.

{H T T P://xml.apache.org/axis/}hostname:bes (I had to put spaces in between http because I was not allowed to put URLs' yet)

java.net.ConnectException: Connection timed out: connect

I also get the following error on my handheld
An error has occurred, SOA connection failed; nested exception is:
java.net.connectException: Connection timed out: Connect.

I am fairly new to all this stuff and vodafone done the install so I am still learning myself but if anyone has any pointers then please let me know. I have checked the Java versions and .NET framework etc and they are all at the correct levels recommended levels.
Old 07-17-2006, 05:58 AM   #2
noname
BlackBerry Extraordinaire

Location: Congested Islet of "Foreign Talents" (> 45% of workforce) - Singapore.
Model: Z10
PIN: NUKE(PAP)
Carrier: Singtel

Are you having more than one version of Java Runtime Environment (JRE) running on the BES? Check under Add/Remove Programs under Control Panel... remove and make sure just latest version is installed... BES sometimes is "confused" if you have multiple copies of JRE...
Old 07-17-2006, 07:44 AM   #3
LHC77

Thanks fort your reply.
I only have version 1.5.0_04 installed on the Server.
Old 07-17-2006, 07:53 AM   #4
noname

Location: Congested Islet of "Foreign Talents" (> 45% of workforce) - Singapore.