BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 03-17-2005, 04:53 PM   #1
db
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8700
Carrier: rogers
Default USB conflict? - MX1000 laser and BlackBerry Sync cable - on IBM ThinkPad Docking Stat

Please Login to Remove!

I have an IBM ThinkPad R40 - Windows Pro. I also use a BlackBerry - 7290. Both the MX1000 laser mouse and the BlackBerry devices have a USB interface (BlackBerry for synchronizing). The ThinkPad docks into a docking station --- with 4 USB ports at the back of the docking station.

I have been using the BlackBerry for 3 months --- and everything was fine --- in synchronizing back and forth with Outlook. That BlackBerry USB cable was plugged into one of the four ports on the back of the docking station.

Last night I installed the MX1000 mouse --- and it worked fine. I used one of the other four USB ports --- at the back of the docking station.

I now find that the BlackBerry will not recognize the USB connection from the Docking Port. If I plug it into the USB port on the ThinkPad itself --- it (BlackBerry interface) does work.

Now that I have the BlackBerry working from the USB port on the ThinkPad itself --- the MX1000 mouse has stopped working (still connected to same USB port on docking station.

If I connect MX1000 cable to the USB port on ThinkPad itself --- mouse works!

Why can I not use the USB ports at the back of the docking station for both devices? Are their some conflicts? I have tried a "reset" on both the Mouse dock and mouse itself --- no change.

I have also tried powering down --- switching the MX1000 USB connection to a different USB port --- on the docking station --- then power up again --- no change - mouse does not work?

Any "solutions" or ideas to try would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

David
Old 03-17-2005, 05:31 PM   #2
ScOObydoo
CrackBerry Addict

Model: Curve
Carrier: tmo

Sounds like a power issue. Check the control panel of XP for the available power on the USB ports.