BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2010, 08:28 PM   #1
jmcarrillo
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: none
Posts: 59
Default I downgradewd my OS to 4.x and now I can't upgrade to OS 5.x

Please Login to Remove!

I noticed that my screen seemed to be losing or has lost sensitivity in a strip at the top portion of the screen in the middle, that area under the blackberry label under the ear piece. I wasn't sure if it was a hardware or software problem, so I tried reinstalling the OS. To do this I downgraded to OS 4 and tested the screen, the problem was still there, so I wen to reinstall OS 5, then a prompt cam up about having to be an activated subscriber or something. The only options were to go back or go to the main menu. So right now I'm stuck with OS 4. PLease help me get back to OS 5.
Offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 08:41 PM   #2
aiharkness
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.3
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 14,081
Default

Wirelessly posted

It is a requirement with OS 5 upgrade that the device is associated with a data plan. Do a search to see the reports.
__________________
- Ira
Offline  
Old 03-27-2010, 10:55 PM   #3
srvbb
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Indiana
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 16
Default

I don't think you have to be an active subscriber. I've changed OS'es on my phones without one of them being active (I switch between a Storm and Tour). Just use BBSAK or JLCommander to wipe the device, and then using the Loader application, load the OS. Don't do it through DM. Remember to remove the vendor.xml file as well unless the OS happens to coincide with your carrier.
Offline  
Old 03-29-2010, 01:33 PM   #4
TXLady
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
TXLady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Model: 9650
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 1,067
Default

jmcarrillo -- you already have one string on this and had the question answered: http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...ng-os-5-a.html

If I were placing my bets on who is correct, I would go with the answers you got from JSanders and John Clark on the other string: data plan required to upgrade to 5.0; new requirement since around the first of the year.

Edit: I apologize. You actually started this string before the other one. Answers there still stand.
__________________
Personal: iPhone on AT&T
Work: BB 9650 on Sprint

Last edited by TXLady; 03-29-2010 at 01:35 PM..
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


New Greaseweazle V4 USB Floppy Adapter Flux Reader Writer Amiga PC Amstrad #1059 picture

New Greaseweazle V4 USB Floppy Adapter Flux Reader Writer Amiga PC Amstrad #1059

$25.47



23 WAY MALE

23 WAY MALE "D" PLUG DB23 CONNECTOR FOR COMMODORE AMIGA - RARE

$7.24



New Amiga Gotek OLED IIC I2C 0.91

New Amiga Gotek OLED IIC I2C 0.91" 128x32 LCD Display Module 3.3V 5V White #679

$6.77



RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC picture

RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC

$185.00



1pc TS68000CP8 DIP64 68000 8MHz | Atari Commodore AMIGA 500 A2000 CDTV picture

1pc TS68000CP8 DIP64 68000 8MHz | Atari Commodore AMIGA 500 A2000 CDTV

$13.18



4x PLCC 52 52 Pin Pole SMD IC Sockets Precision Version INDUSTRIAL QUALITY NOS Amiga picture

4x PLCC 52 52 Pin Pole SMD IC Sockets Precision Version INDUSTRIAL QUALITY NOS Amiga

$3.97







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.