BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2005, 04:01 AM   #21
tankee531
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
tankee531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Singapore
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.x
PIN: xxxx
Carrier: Singtel
Posts: 375
Default

Please Login to Remove!

a question.

after upgrading the BES from 3.6 to 4.0. Will device with older firmware of 3.8 or older continue to function normally BEFORE they are connected to the upgraded server via desktop?

Offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 11:00 AM   #22
sejinro
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 8320
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 108
Default

I recently "upgraded" from BES 3.6 to BES 4.0. I, too, had issues with the database portion of the upgrade. Basically, it hung and timed out indicating that it could not contact the database. I had to end up giving the besadmin user id owner rights to the BESMgmt database. Upon doing so, the upgrade went smooth. I have a mix of 3.6 and 4.0 OS handhelds and all show up okay on the BES Console. However, when using the Handheld Mgr, only 4.0 handhelds display full info where 3.6 handhelds don't show much. I am assuming that in order to take full advantage of BES 4.0 that all handhelds must be on 4.0 OS.

OBTW, I installed the post updates for BES 4.0 such as SP2 and hotfix all without errors. I also installed an XML parser update from Microsoft for added performance.
Offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:10 PM   #23
tankee531
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
tankee531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Singapore
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.x
PIN: xxxx
Carrier: Singtel
Posts: 375
Default

thanks for your reply

just to be doubly sure :P

so those handheld with older OS (<4.0) will be able to function normally after the upgrade. able to send & recieve mail, sync-calendar, etc

only shortcoming is that info of such devices will not show up on the BES until they are connected to the BES vis their desktop.

Right?

Offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:27 PM   #24
BBTechGuy
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: May 2005
Model: 7100
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 299
Default

BES 4.0 will support older handheld software but will not provide new features such as Enterprise Activation and Wireless PIM Sync. E-mail, Calendar and MDS will still be successful.
Offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 06:55 AM   #25
arconsulting
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Metro NYC
Posts: 175
Default

>> only shortcoming is that info of such devices will not show up on the
>> BES until they are connected to the BES vis their desktop.
>>
>> Right?

Not exactly. Device info such as carrier, memory, installed apps, phone #, etc. will only appear in you have v4.0 on the handheld and you are running BES v4.0.
__________________
-- Aric Rosenbaum
BlackBerry consulting, BlackBerry development
www.arconsultinginc.com
BlackBerry consulting and development (RIM SI Partner)
Offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 06:15 PM   #26
tankee531
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
tankee531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Singapore
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.x
PIN: xxxx
Carrier: Singtel
Posts: 375
Default

BBTechGuy Thanks !

arconsulting Thanks !

Offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 11:43 PM   #27
stevenyc
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Model: lots
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 75
Default

I had RIM walk me through the upgrade before I did anything. The guy told me that once the database is upgraded, the rest is a piece of cake. Naturally, I had no problems with the database but setup froze during the program upgrade, killing the existing 3.8 upgrade and leaving me in limbo with no BES at all. I had to uninstall what was left (manually) and then install from scatch.
Offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 12:34 AM   #28
tankee531
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
tankee531's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Singapore
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.x
PIN: xxxx
Carrier: Singtel
Posts: 375
Default

my "problem" is support here is by the telco, and their tech team is telling me old handheld will lost connection till re-connection via desktop. They advised me to "UPGRADE" the old handheld first before upgrading BES !
Offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 02:41 PM   #29
AJD
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Missouri
Model: 7290
Posts: 2
Default

A couple of quick questions for those that have done the "uninstall/install" method from 3.6 to 4.0. What was the max. number of accounts that were exported from 3.6 and imported into the new 4.0 database?

I have tested RIM's recommended upgrade path and never have had much luck with the database upgrading cleanly. I really like the idea of exporting/importing users and have tested it with about 15 pilot users and so far have had no major issues. When we take this to production (in about a week) we will need to migrate 400+ BB users and I am trying to figure out if an export/import of all users at once will work or is it better to do chunks of 25-50 users at a time. Any advice is appreciated.

Also, we have a mixture of 3.6 and 4.0 OS. From what I have seen so far doing the export/import (keeping the DB name and SRP info the same) it looks like the 3.6 OS devices will not have to be re-synced after the upgrade. Have others seen the same results?

Thanks for your help.
Offline  
Old 07-25-2005, 08:16 AM   #30
Dobbin
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sheffield
Model: 8100v
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dev
Yes they will.....the only difference is that some older devices are not able to report all their device specific info to the config db. Example 957s will not show a lot of device info...which might be important from an asset mgmt point of view. The other thing is, don't expect to be able to do any wireless activations (EA) with 3.6->3.8 OS coded devices. That's only possible with 4.0 device code.
Thats good news! I understood that in upgrading to 4 I would see the devices reactivate and that old firmware devices that do not understand activation would not be able to do this so would cease to function.

Guess some testing is required!
Offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 04:01 AM   #31
Damien
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 19
Default

When you uninstall BES 3.6 and install BES 4.0 on the same server, is it possible to use the SRP ID from BES 3.6 ?
Offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 04:13 AM   #32
Dobbin
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sheffield
Model: 8100v
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 24
Default

no! 36 keys start s whilst 4 keys start t
Offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 06:20 AM   #33
Damien
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 19
Default

So this means: when upgrading from BES 3.6 to BES 4.0 and handheld soft is not 4.0, users have to re-cradle, otherwise they are not able to receive the new SRP ?
Offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 08:05 AM   #34
elvis2k5
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7230
Posts: 6
Default

Dobbin, your reference to S keys and T keys is totally wrong.

Last edited by elvis2k5; 08-04-2005 at 08:17 AM..
Offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 08:29 AM   #35
T-Roy
CrackBerry Addict
 
T-Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: 8800
Carrier: Darth Vader
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien
When you uninstall BES 3.6 and install BES 4.0 on the same server, is it possible to use the SRP ID from BES 3.6 ?
Yes.

For those concerned about database migration problems you may want to follow the install guides steps for a phased migration and of course as always know how to backup and restore your database so if you run into any problems you can simply restore it.
Offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 08:31 AM   #36
T-Roy
CrackBerry Addict
 
T-Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: 8800
Carrier: Darth Vader
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien
So this means: when upgrading from BES 3.6 to BES 4.0 and handheld soft is not 4.0, users have to re-cradle, otherwise they are not able to receive the new SRP ?
You shouldn't be switching SRPs unless you purchased a migration kit from RIM and you will need to recradle all users if you go that route.

An inplace upgrade works well.
Offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 08:42 AM   #37
Dobbin
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sheffield
Model: 8100v
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 24
Default

Elvis - fair enough, when I got our new BES4 key it started with a T and all my 3.6 ones start with an S. Why is one T and one S?

Damien - Clearly, I'm wrong about changing keys, if you changed keys you'd need to regen and therefore your 3.6/3.7 devices would need to be recradled.
Offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 08:47 AM   #38
T-Roy
CrackBerry Addict
 
T-Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: 8800
Carrier: Darth Vader
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dobbin
Elvis - fair enough, when I got our new BES4 key it started with a T and all my 3.6 ones start with an S. Why is one T and one S?

Damien - Clearly, I'm wrong about changing keys, if you changed keys you'd need to regen and therefore your 3.6/3.7 devices would need to be recradled.
T keys are Temp or Trial keys and shouldn't be used for a migration.
Offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 09:06 AM   #39
Dobbin
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sheffield
Model: 8100v
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 24
Default

After I reread my first post I realised that I was referring to our BES 4 TRIAL server. Well done me.
Offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 10:45 AM   #40
HouBBAdmin
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Model: 8700c
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 15
Default

Howdy All - first post here. Been lurking a while doing research on a 3.6 to 4.0 upgrade for a 100 user BES. Great site.

To my question: If I buy the "One Time 4.0 Upgrade" from Cingular or RIM, will it be a full 4.0 install or will I have to install 3.6 and then load the 4.0 upgrade on top of it? We previously bought our BES 3.6 through ATT, but we still have the same account rep with Cingular. Thanks in advance.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Alphasmart Neo Portable Word Processor Full Keyboard Classroom Typewriter+Case picture

Alphasmart Neo Portable Word Processor Full Keyboard Classroom Typewriter+Case

$54.98



ALPHASMART 3000 PORTABLE WORD PROCESSOR IN EXECELLENT CONDITION picture

ALPHASMART 3000 PORTABLE WORD PROCESSOR IN EXECELLENT CONDITION

$42.00



NEO2 AlphaSmart Portable Word Processor w/ USB Printer Cable picture

NEO2 AlphaSmart Portable Word Processor w/ USB Printer Cable

$84.00



The Writer FUSION Keyboard Instructor Word Processor picture

The Writer FUSION Keyboard Instructor Word Processor

$34.99



AlphaSmart NEO Compact/Slim Portable Classroom Word Processor picture

AlphaSmart NEO Compact/Slim Portable Classroom Word Processor

$70.00



Refrigerant Digital Leak Detector with Metal Case - CPU-C picture

Refrigerant Digital Leak Detector with Metal Case - CPU-C

$38.59







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.