BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2005, 10:12 AM   #1
jibi
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Default Moving Users Between Servers (BES for Exchange)

Please Login to Remove!

- BES 4.0 SP1 HF1 for each server
- Local SQL 2000 installation on each server (separate databases)

I posed the question to RIM about how to move users from one server to another, to which he said it was not possible (mind you, this is prior to me ever stating that they were on separate databases). I asked him why the server console had the option to Move the user, to which he replied that he was not aware this option was there (this puzzled me a bit).

So I then asked him to take a look and he then saw what I was talking about. I asked if this was only possible to use with a shared database, to which he said yes. He then said that I could also just add the user to the second server and it would recognize I was already on another server and prompt for me to move the user (for testing purposes, I attempted to move my own account)...

...to say the least, it didn't exactly prompt me to move my account but rather, it prompted with a long warning stating to only use that option if it was not possible to properly remove the account from the other server.

Aside from removing the user and readding to the second server (which didn't work when I attempted it, although, in theory, it should work fine with no user interaction), is there a possible way to move the user from one to the other with a separate database?

Back to the 'move' procedure that the RIM tech told me about, it pretty much disabled my Exchange account. After clicking OK/YES to the prompt, I waited about 1-2 minutes then tried to do a Lookup from my handheld - no bones. I then tried to regenerate the encryption key from my handheld, to which it said there was an error and to contact my administrator (me, of course). I logged into the first server and noticed that my account was still there, so I attempted to remove it from there - error. I then tried to open an email within Outlook, but it had an error on it. I tried to login through OWA, but it returned a 404 error.

I finally rebooted the BES and was able to login to my Exchange account after that. I removed my account from the second BES and readded it to the first BES and all started working again.

Now, to keep on going down this road, one of our Exchange servers' transaction logs started filling up to 95% disk utilization (40GB+ filled up in less than 2 days). We finally traced that back down to my account. I had an error that popped up on the second BES early this morning which stated that it failed to find my account (which had been removed from that server a few days prior). I rebooted this server to clear the error and the Exchange transaction logs stopped growing at that time.

Anyhow, just a word of advice to those who may see this same behavior in the future... And any advice about the moving of a user between servers that use separate databases, if any other options are available?

__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 12:12 PM   #2
mikej5780
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
mikej5780's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 107
Default

The "seamless" user move only works both BES share a databse in 4.0. The sync server gets a command to update the service books as part of the move. If they are on different databses, the sync service can't do it. With the servers on different databases, the only option is the re-activate the device on the new server.
Offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 03:36 AM   #3
Dobbin
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sheffield
Model: 8100v
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 24
Default

Have they moved keys from the BES Admin mailbox into SQL then? (sure they were in mailbox in 3.6)
Offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 11:44 AM   #4
Digger
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Model: 8830
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 20
Default

I had two 3.6 servers that were setup with their own databases. One was a production server and the other was a test server. I would constantly move users from one to the other. Mind you, that both of the servers were in the same Management Console. I added the test server to the production server's Management console for better control. This was also a bonus when I needed to upgrade the test server to 4.0...

I am not sure if this has been removed from 4.0/4.1 at all, but I will find out on the 18th when I upgrade the production server.
Offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 12:46 PM   #5
jibi
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Default

I do not have the option for multiple servers in a site within the console, so I'm not really sure if that is even possible (if it is still, with 4.0, someone please let me know how).

I have seen where the console listing is like this:

BlackBerry Manager
|
|--First Routing Group
|
|--SERVER

Mine lists like this:

BlackBerry Manager
|
|--SERVER
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 01:20 PM   #6
Digger
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Model: 8830
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 20
Default

On my 4.0 test server you can import a server into the BB Manager by right-clicking on the Blackberry Manager (within the console) and selecting Import Server(s). THis is how I did it with 3.6 servers. I was able to move a user between servers...

Hope this helps.....
Offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 09:19 AM   #7
jibi
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Default

I was under the impression that importing a server into BB Manager would be the same as setting it up on there. Is this for cosmetic management purposes only, though? I guess I should read up a bit on that.
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Server Book for Waitress Waiter Organizer Wallet with Zipper Pocket Card Holder picture

Server Book for Waitress Waiter Organizer Wallet with Zipper Pocket Card Holder

$14.29



Server Book Waitress Wallet Organizer – TURQUOISE 7 Pocket Bundle w/ WINE OPENER picture

Server Book Waitress Wallet Organizer – TURQUOISE 7 Pocket Bundle w/ WINE OPENER

$11.99



Server Book Organizer PU Leather Restaurant Guest Check Presenters Card Holder picture

Server Book Organizer PU Leather Restaurant Guest Check Presenters Card Holder

$14.29



Server Book Organizer Zipper Pocket for Waitress Waiter Bartender Card Holder picture

Server Book Organizer Zipper Pocket for Waitress Waiter Bartender Card Holder

$14.49



Garcci Server Book Pro, with Expandible Pocket & Magnetic Pocket New Design 2021 picture

Garcci Server Book Pro, with Expandible Pocket & Magnetic Pocket New Design 2021

$14.99



Sonic Server 5x9 Double Magnetic Pocket Server Book Organizer Black Taller Size picture

Sonic Server 5x9 Double Magnetic Pocket Server Book Organizer Black Taller Size

$15.99







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.