BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 03-03-2008, 07:16 AM   #1
tollers

Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: n/a
Default BES basics questions: requirements, load, encryption, AD, etc.

Please Login to Remove!

Hello,

I'm new to the whole BES thing. My apologies in advance if there are any stupid questions here. I'm more or less trying to establish the basics and the borders/limits of a BES installation. I hope somebody could either answer them for me or give a link to the appropriate docs.

So here it goes...

1. What are the hardware requirements for running BES? Is BES more processor hungry or more RAM hungry? What are the minimal requirements and the recommended ones? How does it behave in an environment with 500 mailboxes? And what if another 500 are added?

2. Does the number of mailboxes in an Exchange server have any major effect on the BES server load when compared to the actual number of devices used? For example if I have an environment with 1000 mailboxes but only 100 of those have Blackberry devices?

3. BES integrates with Exchange which in turn integrates with Active Directory. Is there anything more to AD integration? Any additional features? Or anything to watch out for?

4. Is it possible to run more than one BES (with different SRP id's) in one AD domain (one exchange server)?

5. It is possible to install the Attachment service on a remote machine. Are there any other services that could be installed on a remote machine?

6. BES needs Exchange System Manager installed on the same machine. But what I don't understand is how does BES check mailboxes. Which protocol and which port does it use?

7. If I understand correctly, the connection between BES, Balckberry NOC and the handheld is encrypted. But what about the connection between BES and the Exchange server? Also is the e-mail downloaded from the mail server and then encrypted; or BES encrypts the data while streaming it to the handheld?