Closed Thread

Old 07-17-2008, 11:01 AM   #1
schwarzbeere29829

Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: od did
Default how to handle Mail Attachements

Please Login to Remove!

Since I'm totally new to this Blackberry topic, I'm surprised how much difficulties I have to send simple E-Mail messages with attachments from/to device.

1. from device: message is never sent (via the E-Mail Server Simulator), remains always in sending... state

2. to device: message arrives, but attachment (has size, type, etc...) has no content (=null)

Code is (runs in Simulator, and therefore needs not to be signed according to documentation):

SupportedAttachmentPart part;
part.getContent();

There's some header information, that can be set
e.g. x-rimdeviceX.png for sending pngs
I used that, I didn't use that -> no change

Besides:
Sepific content is empty as I knew threw code (part.getContent())

Content, that I don' handle with code (e.g. png-files) can be opened, but nothing happens...
if a png file arrives on the blackberry, open attachment..
Than the file name is visible, but nothing else.
How can one view, that there's an image behind the filename? (just for testing purposes)

Is Email Server Simulator the problem?
Strange
Old 07-17-2008, 01:27 PM   #2
holy3daps
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 8900
Carrier: AT&T

Hi!

Okay, I've run into a number of email attachment issues in recent weeks. Most have been resolved, but there are a couple that could be causing your problems.