BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2009, 11:30 AM   #1
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default OS: 8330 4.5.0.205/4.5.0.138 (Multilanguage) (ESN Devices)

Please Login to Remove!

Software For BlackBerry® Curve (TM) 8330 smartphone BlackBerry Handheld Software v4.5.0.205 (Multilanguage)
From Telus; This is for the 8330 model, and will load on any carrier's 8330.

Package Version: 4.5.0.205
Consisting of:
  • Applications: 4.5.0.138
  • Software Platform: 3.4.0.30
  • File name: 8330uAMEA_PBr4.5.0_rel205_PL3.4.0.30_A4.5.0.138_Te lus_Mobility.exe
  • File size: 82.72MB
Note: The Software Platform and Applications version numbers can be found under Options-About screen on the handheld.

Download the software here:
https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...E607FE7CC0E1A0

Instructions for installing either version on ANY carrier's 8330:

1. Download the above OS file to the PC then install it to the PC by running (double clicking) the file you downloaded.
2. Go to c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader and delete the file named "vendor.xml."
3. Plug in BB and double click on "Loader.exe." It's located in the same place as the above vendor.xml file.

The process takes about 45 minutes to an hour depending on how much data you have to backup and restore during the process. Once it's done loading the new OS it will reboot (it may do this twice during the entire process.) You will see a white screen with an hourglass for up to 20 minutes at a time while the DM says "waiting for initialization."
If, for some reason, you end up with a white screen with small icons and the number 507, simply connect to the PC again and run Loader.exe again and it should load the OS to the device.

Previous version of this model OS:
http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...n-devices.html

Thanks to HouseApe


How to determine if you have an ESN or MEID based device.
From the main menu, select Options, then select Status.
ESN devices - On the Status screen you will see ESN on the display
MEID devices xxx8211; On the Status screen you will see MEID on the display.
NOTE xxx8211; You cannot install ESN-based software on a MEID device, nor can you install MEID-based software on an ESN device. They are NOT interchangeable.

Last edited by JSanders; 04-17-2009 at 02:57 PM..
Offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 11:32 AM   #2
jsconyers
New Member
 
jsconyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river.
Model: NOTE2
OS: 4.1
PIN: <- Where do I find this?
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 15,104
Default

Nice find! Thanks, downloading now!
__________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
When you take things for granted, the things you are granted, get taken.
Even a mosquito doesn't get a pat on the back until it starts to work.
Too many people miss the silver lining because they're expecting gold.
[BES 5.0.3 / GroupWise 2012 HP2]
Offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 01:06 PM   #3
jsconyers
New Member
 
jsconyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river.
Model: NOTE2
OS: 4.1
PIN: <- Where do I find this?
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 15,104
Default

Installed and reactivated on BES. Will keep an eye on memory/battery life. .131 was pretty stable for me, I am hoping for the same from this build.
__________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
When you take things for granted, the things you are granted, get taken.
Even a mosquito doesn't get a pat on the back until it starts to work.
Too many people miss the silver lining because they're expecting gold.
[BES 5.0.3 / GroupWise 2012 HP2]
Offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 03:43 PM   #4
Oditius
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Oditius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bridgeview, IL
Model: 8330
Carrier: US Cellular
Posts: 162
Default

Cool, downloading now. Still trying to find why I feel the need to upgrade.
Offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 04:10 PM   #5
Dawg
No longer Registered.
 
Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: 31a6c9c9
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 13,962
Default

installing now. It wouldnt install via the dm for some reason
Offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 04:51 PM   #6
kjjb0204
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
kjjb0204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Model: 9630
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 1,813
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oditius View Post
Cool, downloading now. Still trying to find why I feel the need to upgrade.
Because you can! And it's fun to bring the bb to the edge of death by wiping then revive it with a brand spanking new os, isn't it?

I know what I'm doing tonight!
Offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 09:45 PM   #7
Dawg
No longer Registered.
 
Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: 31a6c9c9
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 13,962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kjjb0204 View Post
Because you can! And it's fun to bring the bb to the edge of death by wiping then revive it with a brand spanking new os, isn't it?

I know what I'm doing tonight!
Yep to sit and watch it as it works, the restoring device shows up and you glimpse ( ok stare) at the BB to see a spark of life in the new OS.


Also what was nice this time I didn't have to fix my profile exceptions. Like in the past

Last edited by Dawg; 04-17-2009 at 09:46 PM..
Offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 09:48 PM   #8
JimLynch2
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cheyenne WY
Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2
Angry Latest Software Upgrade 8330

I have attempted to download this file
8330uAMEA_PBr4.5.0_rel205_PL3.4.0.30_A4.5.0.138_Te lus_Mobility.exe
6 times, it gets to 10.5 MB and then it errors out telling me that the connection to the server has been reset........ UGH
Any Ideas???
Thanks:

Last edited by JimLynch2; 04-17-2009 at 09:53 PM..
Offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 09:56 AM   #9
mastermind763
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Model: 9630
OS: 5.0
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 35
Default

I had difficulty downloading this too, IE seems better that Firefox on this one. Finally got it and it's loading now. Had to use the BB Loader because the Desktop app said my device didn't need any updates. I'll let ya'll know how it goes.
Offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 10:00 AM   #10
JimLynch2
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cheyenne WY
Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks, After a couple of hours I went back and finally downloaded it getting ready to do the update now
Offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 10:17 AM   #11
mastermind763
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Model: 9630
OS: 5.0
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 35
Default

Everything seems to work so far, including Sprint TV!
Offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 04:25 PM   #12
souljahboy15
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nashville, TN
Model: 9550
OS: 5.0.0.320
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 3
Question Can't Download

I am having such a hard time to even get this completely downloaded. I've tried it with IE as well as Firefox. What's the deal with this?
Offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 04:33 PM   #13
HouseApe
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
HouseApe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Telus
Posts: 56
Default

Its RIM's site. its so flaky over the last week or so.
Offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 05:21 PM   #14
JaredH
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
JaredH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Model: 9650
OS: 5.0.0.732
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 244
Default

I cannot get this OS to work with my verizon 8330.

I've installed it onto my computer > delete vendor file > open blackberry desktop 4.7 and plug in my blackberry to the pc via usb. It pops up saying checking for updates and then just acts like nothings available.

What's wrong? I've uninstalled all the other os I've loaded previously as well. I've also tried uninstalling it and reinstalling it to the computer twice.

My phone says ESN under status in opitions so I'm assuming it should work.
Offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 05:25 PM   #15
jsconyers
New Member
 
jsconyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river.
Model: NOTE2
OS: 4.1
PIN: <- Where do I find this?
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 15,104
Default

You don't need DM to install. You can use Loader.exe. I would search your entire PC for vendor.xml and delete any and all instances.
__________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
When you take things for granted, the things you are granted, get taken.
Even a mosquito doesn't get a pat on the back until it starts to work.
Too many people miss the silver lining because they're expecting gold.
[BES 5.0.3 / GroupWise 2012 HP2]
Offline  
Old 04-18-2009, 05:38 PM   #16
Dawg
No longer Registered.
 
Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: 31a6c9c9
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 13,962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaredH View Post
I cannot get this OS to work with my verizon 8330.

I've installed it onto my computer > delete vendor file > open blackberry desktop 4.7 and plug in my blackberry to the pc via usb. It pops up saying checking for updates and then just acts like nothings available.

What's wrong? I've uninstalled all the other os I've loaded previously as well. I've also tried uninstalling it and reinstalling it to the computer twice.

My phone says ESN under status in opitions so I'm assuming it should work.
I had same issue use the loader that comes with it worked like a charm
Offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 10:08 AM   #17
kjjb0204
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
kjjb0204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Model: 9630
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 1,813
Default

What improvements are people finding in this OS?
Offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 12:15 AM   #18
alb123
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
alb123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicopee, MA
Model: 9630
OS: 4.7.1.53
PIN: ********
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 292
Default

So far, its working just fine on my Verizon 8330. I haven't noticed anything "different" and I haven't had a chance to judge any battery life improvements. But, most importantly, is there are no PROBLEMS to report as of yet!!! heh

Chris
__________________
Great IRC channel:

join #blackberry on EFNet today!
Offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 09:12 AM   #19
Dawg
No longer Registered.
 
Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: 31a6c9c9
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 13,962
Default

been running a few days now havent noticed anything new, but I also havent found any bugs
Offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 09:14 AM   #20
jsconyers
New Member
 
jsconyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river.
Model: NOTE2
OS: 4.1
PIN: <- Where do I find this?
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 15,104
Default

Battery life seems better for me. Today will be a true test as it is a busier day than most.
__________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
When you take things for granted, the things you are granted, get taken.
Even a mosquito doesn't get a pat on the back until it starts to work.
Too many people miss the silver lining because they're expecting gold.
[BES 5.0.3 / GroupWise 2012 HP2]
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Inter-Global IG230ELSX Electronic Ballast 120v picture

Inter-Global IG230ELSX Electronic Ballast 120v

$19.90



Inter-Global IG13-20EL electronic ballast 120v New Common Aquarium Light Ballast picture

Inter-Global IG13-20EL electronic ballast 120v New Common Aquarium Light Ballast

$11.95



Espen Four Lamp T8 Electronic Ballast: VE432120MIP picture

Espen Four Lamp T8 Electronic Ballast: VE432120MIP

$12.99



ADVANCE MARK III ENERGY SAVER BALLAST R-2S40-1-TP 120V 60Hz - NEW NO BOX picture

ADVANCE MARK III ENERGY SAVER BALLAST R-2S40-1-TP 120V 60Hz - NEW NO BOX

$16.99



Programmed Start Electronic Ballasts, 120-277 volts, 50/60hz, 2Lamp picture

Programmed Start Electronic Ballasts, 120-277 volts, 50/60hz, 2Lamp

$5.95



Keystone Electronic T5 Fluorescent Ballast 1 Lamp - KTEB-108-1-TP-FC - 120V picture

Keystone Electronic T5 Fluorescent Ballast 1 Lamp - KTEB-108-1-TP-FC - 120V

$13.87







Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.