BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 09-11-2009, 08:37 AM   #1
blackberryvoid

Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Default Setup OWA on BB 8520 - Problems, as ever?

Please Login to Remove!

Hello there,
First things first - I am a newbie here and to bb. So, begging pardons in advance if I seem to be doing some 'silly' mistakes.
I have scoured tons of internet material including this forum and others as well as bb's own site and have gone through the documentations. Have become something of someone whom my friends approach to setup their e-mails on their bb.
Sad part is I am not able to get my work e-mail setup on mine To put it in a nut's shell,
1. I am trying to setup my work e-mail OWA on my bb
2. Trying this through my operator's website (tried it on my bb - i am yet to get used to the keypad, so my laptop to the rescue)
3. My company IT guys told me that they will not disclose the POP/IMAP port numbers - hence was forced to go the other way. Tried the auto-forward to private mail option as well - blimey! our IT guys are so paranoid they have blocked this too.
4. Could not wiggle out the IP address of the OWA from the IT team - finally, me dumb wit, found it on the OWA page itself. Below are the details.

Mailbox owner: FName, LName [LName.FName@mydomain.com]
User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; MS-RTC LM 8)
Outlook Web Access experience: Premium
User language: English (United Kingdom)
User time zone: (GMT+05:30) Chennai, Kolkata, Mumbai, New Delhi
Exchange mailbox address: /o=mydomain/ou=First Administrative Group/cn=Recipients/cn=LName.FName
Outlook Web Access host address: https://hostaddress.mydomainname.com/owa
Outlook Web Access version: 8.1.240.5
Outlook Web Access Proxy Host Address: https://proxyaddress.mydomainname.com/owa
Proxy Outlook Web Access version: 8.1.240.5
Proxy server name: hostaddress.mydomainname.com
Client Access server name: HOSTADDRESS.MYDOMAINNAME.COM