BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 06-28-2006, 12:17 AM   #1
NinerMcGee

Model: 8700c
Default Magnet in cases?

Please Login to Remove!

please forgive my naivte, but i am new to BB's (i just got an 8700c and i am smitten) On this forum i've found a wealth of information pertaining to my device, but there is still something i am confused about,
it has to do with the magnets on many of the cases offered for this model. I see that many offer a "sleeper magner" that will disable the device when holstered with the flap closed. now, i'm sorry if this is a stupid question, but is that to say i cannot receive calls/email notification when the device is holstered in such a case with the flap closed? is there a way to change this? ideally , i'd love for a flap case to still allow my BB to vibrate with notifications when it was by my side. the idea of it going to "sleep" and laying dormant doesn't work for me.

any advice is greatly appreciated,
thank you!
Old 06-28-2006, 12:25 AM   #2
ksellers914
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T

Hmmm....Place the BB in your case and get someone to send you a text, or call it yourself. I am surprised you have not done this already before posting.

The answer is, yes it still works when "asleep."
Old 06-28-2006, 12:27 AM   #3
chrisnol
Thumbs Must Hurt

Carrier: ATT

Your BB doesn't really go to sleep when in "sleeper" mode. It just operates on reduced power, mostly turning off the screen. You will still receive calls and emails. You can set the BB to vibrate automatically ( or to ring if desired) even when in sleep mode in the holster by going to settings and profiles, etc.
Old 06-28-2006, 12:52 AM   #4
NinerMcGee

thanks for the replies so far.
no, i haven't had a chance to put it in the case and try as i don't have one yet. i am in the process of selecting a case and came across the magnet as a feature on most of the cases i've seen.
thats what made me ask the question