BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2009, 04:51 PM   #121
TheBigNewt
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
TheBigNewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Prescott, AZ
Model: 8900
OS: 5.0.0.411
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 1,641
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Quote:
Originally Posted by thecelt1974 View Post
hey guys..... just got a new 8900 (very sexy phone).

quick question...

in following J Clarks guide to getting max free memory, when deleting stuff related to the Tmo Fave Five, I also deleted the following .cod file.

net_rim_tmo_five_lib.cod

just wanted to check to make sure that was OK and I didn't need that for something.

Also, is this the theme we need to always had on our phones (like Dimension zen for the 8320)?

net_rim_theme_precision_zen_480x360_b.cod

Thanks!!
Yeah, don't delete the themes that come on the phone (I think only 2). You need them for any 3rd party themes to work. As a rule of thumb for the 8900 you don't need to delete anything because it has like 4-5X more free memory than, say, a pearl. You can just hide the icons you don't want, or stash them in some folder like I do.
__________________
BB 8900 Tmobile, Moto Droid Verizon
Offline  
Old 05-02-2009, 09:24 AM   #122
UnderNewbie
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 9900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Researcher
Posts: 113
Default

I try more than 10 times already to download this OS from RIM but I am not lucky enough enough to get it like other members here.
Can someone help us to have an alternative link?
Many thanks!
Offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 05:42 AM   #123
agungluna
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: XL
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by th0r88 View Post
Wuhu! I just love new releases of BB OSes. Downloading right now. Official BB servers sucks, because it's downloading so slow from them...
have you ever tried internet download manager? it help a lot, it can reach 56-89 kbps. it take only 30 minutes downloading from BB server with cable connection..
Offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 10:29 AM   #124
fangs2
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Malaysia
Model: 9800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: DiGi
Posts: 8
Default

I just got my 8900 and I love it! I had the 8300 and then the 8310 but this one rocks! My 8900 came with the O.S 4.7.0.25 or am I mistaken? Whereas the latest OS here is on a 4.6? Anyone?

Only thing is now I can't read chinese or rather i cannot see the chinese characters Is there an upgrade for my OS or must I downgrade it again to see the characters?

Thanks guys n girls!
Offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 10:35 AM   #125
fangs2
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Malaysia
Model: 9800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: DiGi
Posts: 8
Default

oops my bad... my OS is only v.4.6.1.133 sorry.. was confused with the desktop manager version...

I guess i can upgrade to this version... I should be able to see the chinerse characters then rite?
Offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 06:55 PM   #126
wolfgaze
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
wolfgaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NJ
Model: 8900
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 121
Default

I came on the forum to complain about poor battery life until I was directed to this post... Was a little reluctant to update to the new OS thinking I would run into problems I wouldn't know how to fix but the update went smooth as a baby's bottom and only took 15 minutes... I upgraded from OS .114 (or whatever it's called).... Running WIndows XP....

Can't wait to see what my battery life will be like now because it was draining down significantly after 2 days of light use with OS .114....

Thanks to all on this forum!
Offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 10:54 PM   #127
JDJHNTR
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 8320
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 9
Default

Ok.........I searched for 3 days before asking this dumb question, but how do I tell which OS I have now? I know where to bring up the screen showing the details and it reads as follow:

Blackberry 8900
smartphone (EDGE, Wi-Fi)
v4.6.1.206 (platform 4.2.0.102)

Does this mean I have OS 4.6.1.206? Do I need to upgrade? Please keep in mind that I have only been a BB'r for about 2 weeks now. Thanks for all your help........
Offline  
Old 05-06-2009, 11:21 PM   #128
lovescakemix
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
lovescakemix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: fort hood
Model: 9900
OS: 7.1
PIN: 2800d27f
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDJHNTR View Post
Ok.........I searched for 3 days before asking this dumb question, but how do I tell which OS I have now? I know where to bring up the screen showing the details and it reads as follow:

Blackberry 8900
smartphone (EDGE, Wi-Fi)
v4.6.1.206 (platform 4.2.0.102)

Does this mean I have OS 4.6.1.206? Do I need to upgrade? Please keep in mind that I have only been a BB'r for about 2 weeks now. Thanks for all your help........
yes, you have 4.6.1.206. so no need to upgrade
Offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 12:59 AM   #129
JDJHNTR
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 8320
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 9
Default

Ok thanks. Is this the newest one? The title says " 4.6.1.317/4.6.1.206" ? I dont understand the 2 different numbers? Is the .317 newer than what I have?
Offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 01:58 AM   #130
lovescakemix
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
lovescakemix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: fort hood
Model: 9900
OS: 7.1
PIN: 2800d27f
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 327
Default

yeah 4.6.1.206 is currently the latest official release for 8900
the 4.6.1.317 is just the package version. but 4.6.1.206 is OS version that the package contains
Offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 10:34 AM   #131
JDJHNTR
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Model: 8320
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 9
Default

Thats what I neeeded to know? Thanks!!!
Offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 09:57 PM   #132
wolfgaze
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
wolfgaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NJ
Model: 8900
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 121
Default

Happy to report that upgrading my OS to v.206 has improved my battery life significantly.... it's been 48 hours and after moderate use of my phone I'm still at 50%... MUCH better than before...
Offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 10:56 AM   #133
bfdtpkt
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Republic of Panama
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.101
PIN: N/A
Carrier: MOVIL Panama
Posts: 13
Default

I just purchased my new Blackberry 8900 here in Panma from MOVIL.
The desktop manager sez I have software version "4.7.0.25 September 2008"

Is this the latest and greatest or should I do some other version?

(As you can see, I'm new to all this)
Offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 05:20 PM   #134
g_calderone
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.250
PIN: N/A
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 68
Default

I installed this around 11pm last night.. Today I do a battery pull and my phone was stuck on T Mobile screen all day. So I couldnt use my phone.

Has anyone else had this problem?

I called TMobile and they told me to put the old OS back on, I really dont want to do this, cause everyone is saying the new OS helps improve the battery life.


Any TMO people help me out?
Offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 05:21 PM   #135
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Wipe with JL_Cmder and reload the OS without any 3rd party apps. This OS works fine on a TMo Jav. Something just glitched.
Offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 05:23 PM   #136
lovescakemix
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
lovescakemix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: fort hood
Model: 9900
OS: 7.1
PIN: 2800d27f
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bfdtpkt View Post
I just purchased my new Blackberry 8900 here in Panma from MOVIL.
The desktop manager sez I have software version "4.7.0.25 September 2008"

Is this the latest and greatest or should I do some other version?

(As you can see, I'm new to all this)
that is the desktop manager software version,
not the OS version that is on the phone.

to find the software version on the phone go to options > About
and that will tell you what version. should look like v4.6.1.xx
Offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 05:35 PM   #137
g_calderone
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.250
PIN: N/A
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark View Post
Wipe with JL_Cmder and reload the OS without any 3rd party apps. This OS works fine on a TMo Jav. Something just glitched.

So whipe.. Reload the OS then how do I get the 3rd party apps back on?
Offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 06:20 AM   #138
SmoothRunnings
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.423
PIN: 21B694E3
Carrier: Virgin Mobile Canada
Posts: 396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moskatl View Post
I am using BES; when upgrading to new OS after installing enterprise activation start automatically. Will this end up giving duplicates in calendar, address, etc. If so how do I get around this? Thanks
Before upgrading the OS you should WIPE the phone first, then upgrade the OS selecting the "Do not automatically back up and restore the device application data during the loading process" which will delete the ROM and copy the new OS in. Then you need your admin to issue you a new passcode for BES and your set.

Andrew
Offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 10:31 AM   #139
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Wirelessly posted (BB 11020)

If the upgrade is done on a work computer and using Desktop manager the EA will start automatically.

Wiping the device first is not necessary. The EA will not give duplicate entries. It simply syncs the device and the server.
Offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 01:22 AM   #140
snoxr500
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: winnipeg
Model: 9700
PIN: 235AC24D
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 216
Default

ohk so i have v4.6.1.94(platform 4.2.0.69)

so im assuming that mine is way outa date and when i upgrade to this 4.6.1.206 will greatly improve my battery life and make the phone much quicker all around??? thanks for clarifying with me

Last edited by snoxr500; 05-10-2009 at 01:50 AM..
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

MSA altair 4X multi gas Meter Monitor detector, O2,H2S,CO,LEL + No Charger
$249.99
MSA altair 4X multi gas Meter Monitor detector, O2,H2S,CO,LEL + No Charger  pictureMSA Altair 4X/5X Charger - 10092936
$60.0
MSA Altair 4X/5X Charger - 10092936 pictureMSA ALTAIR 5X Multigas Detector
$721.08
MSA ALTAIR 5X Multigas Detector pictureMSA Altair 5X, Great Condition, Monochrome Screen, US Seller
$799.99
MSA Altair 5X, Great Condition, Monochrome Screen, US Seller pictureMSA Altair 4X Gas Detector Monitor O2 CO H2S LEL 
$195.0
MSA Altair 4X Gas Detector Monitor O2 CO H2S LEL  picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.