BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2005, 10:55 AM   #1
Kul
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Kul's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, England.
Model: Z10
Carrier: Vodafone (UK)
Posts: 467
Default multiple issues for remote sites

Please Login to Remove!

We are running BES2000 SP2a (no Hotfixes). On exchange 5.5 (SP4) we have anumber of exchange sites, the BES server serves users in Site London. We have afew users in Site Tokyo who have been enabled to use this BES server. The two sites (London & Tokyo) are connected via X400 connector in Exchange5.5, message flow seems to be working but users in Tokyo are complaining about the "lookup" function doesnt work at times and is receiving mails is slow.

any ideas what should do to get this working properly.
Offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 11:36 AM   #2
udontknowjack
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
udontknowjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: State of Confusion
Model: 9000
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 483
Default

First of all RIM, doesn't recommend using BES accross sites. Depending on your bandwidth, the Tokyo folks complaint is probably right. Also, being on Exchange 5.5 and I'm sure what BES 2000 is. Do you mean BES 2.0? I would suggest getting to the latest BES version 4.0 and really getting exchange upgraded to 2003 as well but that is a big undertaking, I know.
Offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 03:33 AM   #3
Kul
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Kul's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, England.
Model: Z10
Carrier: Vodafone (UK)
Posts: 467
Default

yes, we have BES2.0a. Thanks for your comment. Is there an official statement where it say that its not recommended across sites using exchange 5.5 ?
Offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 03:44 AM   #4
Dobbin
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sheffield
Model: 8100v
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 24
Default

sure I've seen one. All my sites are fast connected so I work across sites, but when implemented I'm sure we were warned to consider...
Offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 04:18 AM   #5
Kul
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Kul's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, England.
Model: Z10
Carrier: Vodafone (UK)
Posts: 467
Default

We have a 1Meg between us and them. If I can find a written statement somewhere, then we can push for a new server installation for that site.
Offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 08:55 AM   #6
Kul
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Kul's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, England.
Model: Z10
Carrier: Vodafone (UK)
Posts: 467
Default

I have spoken to our service provider and they have told me 1 BES server serving Multiple Exchange sites is support.

Now I have noticed that it takes about 5mins or so, so the status to change (in cradle or running) on the BES server which is in the london site with the users mailbox in the remote hong Kong site. is there something I can do to speed this up or is this because of the bandwidth isnt good enough.
Offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 09:00 AM   #7
udontknowjack
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
udontknowjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: State of Confusion
Model: 9000
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 483
Default

Not sure who your service provider is but RIM will tell you, "yes it may work but officially, we don't support multiples sites per BES" Documentation for it would be found at http://www.blackberry.com. And yes, I'd be pretty sure your delay is do to bandwidth issues. As I stated earlier, MAPI is very chatty and it is not the only traffic going through your pipe so it could be slow depending on what you are running through your pipe.
Offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 09:19 AM   #8
Kul
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Kul's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, England.
Model: Z10
Carrier: Vodafone (UK)
Posts: 467
Default

Could you please send me the link to the page where it says about the multiple sites issue. That way I can use that to support the case for a 2nd BES server to be installed in HK.
Offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 10:14 AM   #9
udontknowjack
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
udontknowjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: State of Confusion
Model: 9000
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 483
Default

Kul, I don't know the exact page. That is why I gave you Blackberry's URL. I was kind of hoping you could do a little searching on your own to find that.
Offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 10:46 AM   #10
Kul
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Kul's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, England.
Model: Z10
Carrier: Vodafone (UK)
Posts: 467
Default

I did it and couldnt find anywhere specific, which is why I asked. Yes, it does say that its not a recommended due to latency issues but I was hoping that it would be more specific i.e. NOT SUPPORTED.

anyway thanks for your advice.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

MSA Altair 2X Single Gas Detector, CO (30,60), Gray - 10157965
$79.0
MSA Altair 2X Single Gas Detector, CO (30,60), Gray - 10157965 pictureMSA Altair H2S Hydrogen Sulfide and CIO2 Carbon Dioxide Single Gas Monitors
$200.0
MSA Altair H2S Hydrogen Sulfide and CIO2 Carbon Dioxide Single Gas Monitors pictureRegal Altair 24" x 48" Chrome Wire Shelving |Pack of 2 Shelves| Heavy Duty NS...
$112.8
Regal Altair 24MSA 10092521C Altair Hydrogen Sulfide Gas Detector Hydrogen Sulfide
$34.95
MSA 10092521C Altair Hydrogen Sulfide Gas Detector Hydrogen Sulfide pictureMSA 10116926 ALTAIR 5X PORTABLE GAS DETECTOR INDUSTRIAL KIT Bluetooth
$999.0
MSA 10116926 ALTAIR 5X PORTABLE GAS DETECTOR INDUSTRIAL KIT Bluetooth picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.