BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2007, 11:18 PM   #1
canonbomb1987
CrackBerry Addict
 
canonbomb1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Model: 8100c
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 978
Default LED coverage light

Please Login to Remove!

When I activate the Led coverage light it works pefectly. But after sometime it does not blink anymore. I have the latest OS installed, and the phone is a little over a week old. I wanted to know if anyone else has this problem, or has found a solution for it. Thanks in advance.

8100c
Offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 12:27 AM   #2
gqnyc
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Model: 8100
Posts: 115
Default

I had the same problem i upgraded to .69 what OS are you using???
Offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 12:44 AM   #3
canonbomb1987
CrackBerry Addict
 
canonbomb1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Model: 8100c
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 978
Default

I am using Cingular latest. its v4.2.0.69.

8100c
Offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 06:58 AM   #4
paulmac
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
paulmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Model: Storm
PIN: Ask
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 277
Default

Yeah, it happens to me too, the LED will just stop blinking green for some reason. What I usually do to re-start it is go into options, screen\keyboard. LED coverage select off, then on, and then save. It will start flashing again. Find that quicker and easier than full power down, or removing the battery etc. I don't find this to be a big problem, on average would say it happens every few days or so.
__________________
Politicians are a lot like diapers and they should be changed often and for the very same reason. Visit www.fairtax.org
Offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 07:47 AM   #5
fcasata
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 8100
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 6
Default

In my device the led remains ON green (no blinking) after completing an inbound phone call and only way to solve it is to go into options, screen\keyboard and re-start the service, quite annoying actually!
Offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:36 AM   #6
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

I turned off that thing the first day I ever had a BB and it's the first thing I do when I take a new one out of the box. Have never looked back. I always found it annoying.
Offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 12:05 PM   #7
hf1khal
CrackBerry Addict
 
hf1khal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ashburn, VA
Model: 8900
Carrier: At&T
Posts: 906
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Clark
I turned off that thing the first day I ever had a BB and it's the first thing I do when I take a new one out of the box. Have never looked back. I always found it annoying.
Same here. Witht he pearl I also turned off the BT light too.
__________________
BB 8800c / 8100c / 8700c / iphone3G
Offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 12:25 PM   #8
griffjnr
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
griffjnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Hampshire, UK
Model: 8800f
Carrier: Orange UK
Posts: 74
Default

I just upgraded my OS to .69 and haven't noticed it stop blinking yet, I guess I will have to pay more attention to my BB than usual...
__________________
BB 8800
v4.2.1.138
Orange UK
Offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 01:54 PM   #9
canonbomb1987
CrackBerry Addict
 
canonbomb1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Model: 8100c
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 978
Default

I dont particularly like having that light on, but its one of those things that i am curious about. I want to know why it works for a bit and then stops. Plus i was trying to drain my battery the whole way and wanted to use as much power as I could.

8100c
Offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 01:58 PM   #10
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

It's just been a bug in the OS....I've seen it posted before. Sometimes an upgrade would fix it, other times not. I wouldn't worry about it as it draws very little power.
Offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 04:53 PM   #11
Rizzo
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Macomb, MI
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.266
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 46
Default

Mine does it all the time. I like having the LED so I know if I have SMS or emails waiting though. The flashing green does get annoying though. If only it could be set as a notifier for when messages are present, that would be ideal for me!
Offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 05:06 PM   #12
metsfan
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
metsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rizzo
Mine does it all the time. I like having the LED so I know if I have SMS or emails waiting though. The flashing green does get annoying though. If only it could be set as a notifier for when messages are present, that would be ideal for me!
Options->Screen/Keyboard->LED Coverage Indicator: Off

and

Messages->Options->General Options->Display New Message Indicator: Yes

Also, you can go into Profiles and for each type of message in each profile that you want it, set Repeat Notification to LED Flashing.
__________________
Get AutoLock, SoftReset, and ColorPearl for the BlackBerry! Like my software? Donate!

Last edited by metsfan; 01-26-2007 at 06:28 PM..
Offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 05:06 PM   #13
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rizzo
Mine does it all the time. I like having the LED so I know if I have SMS or emails waiting though. The flashing green does get annoying though. If only it could be set as a notifier for when messages are present, that would be ideal for me!
There is a 3rd party app called Blackberry Alerts. I think it will do this for you. Search for it in the Aftermarket Software discussions.
Offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 08:32 PM   #14
ohhhitsalex
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: TMOBILE
Posts: 4
Default

How do I ever get a green LED blinking light? I've tryed EVERYTHING PLLLLEASE HELP
Offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 09:06 PM   #15
deejaycaius
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 8100
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohhhitsalex View Post
How do I ever get a green LED blinking light? I've tryed EVERYTHING PLLLLEASE HELP
Options -> Screen/Keyboard -> Change LED Coverage Indicator to "On"
Offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 09:46 PM   #16
ohhhitsalex
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: TMOBILE
Posts: 4
Default

I did that. it still turns red. is there anyway I can make it green?
Offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 09:48 PM   #17
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Read your messages. if you have no messages to read then it will turn from red to green.

Red LED=New messages
Green LED=Network coverage
Offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 09:51 PM   #18
ohhhitsalex
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: TMOBILE
Posts: 4
Default

I don't have any unread messages or anything, and its still red. :(
Offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 07:20 AM   #19
rbgatti
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.246
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 50
Exclamation Erratic Green Blinking LED

I have a Sprint 8703e but found your post and think my problem is related.

Here's what Sprint BB Tech Support tried on my phone:
- Reloaded tower information update, called an activation code, hard reset.
- Performed a PRL update, hard reset.
- Turned LED off, cleared the event log, hard reset, turn LED on.

Still not working...sometimes blinks, sometimes not for no reason (same 4-5 bar coverage just sitting in place on my desk).

Next step planned:
- Reload handheld software.

No one is suspecting a bad handheld yet.

I agree with the post that stated "I'm curious" because when the LED is not flashing, it indicates a situation or something is wrong and I want to know what it is. It should work or there should be a reason it does not.

I question if reloading my handheld software will make any difference since I just happened to load the latest release yesterday. This problem started a few days ago and is happening after the software update.

Any information or a solution would be appreciated for this aggravating situation.

Thanks.
Offline  
Old 06-06-2007, 07:59 AM   #20
hf1khal
CrackBerry Addict
 
hf1khal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ashburn, VA
Model: 8900
Carrier: At&T
Posts: 906
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohhhitsalex View Post
I don't have any unread messages or anything, and its still red. :(
I have encountered this issue when using BB messenger where even after reading the Red LED kept on flashing. If you used BB messengerm make sure that you end all conversations and then do a battery pull. this still happenes once a while and I was not able to find a solution for it.
__________________
BB 8800c / 8100c / 8700c / iphone3G
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Vintage Rim Blackberry R957M-2-5 - NO CHARGER With Belt Clip
$85.0
Vintage Rim Blackberry R957M-2-5 - NO CHARGER With Belt Clip pictureVintage Rim Blackberry R957M-2-5 - NO CHARGER
$65.0
Vintage Rim Blackberry R957M-2-5 - NO CHARGER pictureResearch in Motion PWR-02908-001 6V DC 500mA Adapter 230Vac input OL0546
$10.13
Research in Motion PWR-02908-001 6V DC 500mA Adapter 230Vac input OL0546 pictureFARM FRESH BLACKBERRIES Signicade 24x36 Aframe Sidewalk Sign Banner Decal
$39.99
FARM FRESH BLACKBERRIES Signicade 24x36 Aframe Sidewalk Sign Banner Decal pictureFARM FRESH BLACKBERRIES Signicade 24x36 Aframe Sidewalk Sign Banner Decal
$119.99
FARM FRESH BLACKBERRIES Signicade 24x36 Aframe Sidewalk Sign Banner Decal picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.