BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2004, 07:14 PM   #1
joshrl
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default tcp sockets w/o BES on tmobile

Please Login to Remove!

I'm working on an app that uses the tcp sockets layer of the MIDP connection framework. I read in this post: http://www.blackberryforums.com/viewtopic.php?t=678 that tmobile is now supporting sockets for BWC enabled clients. I've tested my app with a 7100t and I get the following exception:

java.io.Exception: could not open tunnel - failed

the connection string is something like:

socket://somedomain.com:143

Has anybody had any success getting sockets to work on t-mobile sans BES?
Offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 01:57 PM   #2
joshrl
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default

I also tried:

socket://somedomain.com:143;deviceside=true

And got the following message:

The application SocketTest has attempted to open a connection to a location inside the firewall and outside the firewall which is not allowed by your IT policy.

in the Java app an IOException is thrown with the message "Permission denied"
Offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 01:58 PM   #3
bfrye
BBF Veteran User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hotwiring another Cessna
Model: OU812
Carrier: Nintendo
Posts: 3,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshrl
I also tried:

socket://somedomain.com:143;deviceside=true

And got the following message:

The application SocketTest has attempted to open a connection to a location inside the firewall and outside the firewall which is not allowed by your IT policy.

in the Java app an IOException is thrown with the message "Permission denied"
I haven't had a lot of experience in development when it comes to opening sockets... but that's the same error you get when trying to open a socket connection with WebMessenger w/o BES/MDS. Probably related? You would need MDS to open the connection or TMO hasn't fully upgraded their BWC to support socket connections yet...
Offline  
Old 10-20-2004, 03:03 PM   #4
Mark Rejhon
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Mark Rejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4,870
Default

To the best of my knowledge, you need BlackBerryOS 4.x in order to open TCP/IP sockets on TMobile and Rogers without using BES/MDS.

What version of BlackBerryOS are you using?
__________________
Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Author of XMPP extension XEP-0301:
www.xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0301.html - specification
www.realjabber.org - open source
Offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 10:12 AM   #5
joshrl
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default

It's v3.8.0.112 running on a Blackberry 7100t. Are there any devices out that have the OS 4.0 on them? I've downloaded what I thought was the latest software update from t-mobile and this what it installed.

Anyway, I thought the issue was that the carrier wasn't allowing tcp socket traffic over their gateway. How would the OS make a difference?

I've talked to at least one person over at t-mobile that says that they do support raw tcp sockets with BWC subscribers, but maybe they were mistaken. If anyone has a definitive answer on this issue I would love to hear it -- my boss is getting a little frustrated with me...

thanks,
josh
Offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 01:33 PM   #6
Mark Rejhon
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Mark Rejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4,870
Default

It's only to the best of my knowledge. Even some 4.0 users are having problems with TCP/IP even under BlackBerryOS 4.0.

The only easiest way to do this is to use BES/MDS.

It will take time before BlackBerry TCP/IP is reliable without a BES and widespread enough on BlackBerries because this is a very new and bleeding edge feature still under beta testing. Some of the software needs to be modified to actually work over TCP/IP. Maybe not till 2005.
__________________
Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Author of XMPP extension XEP-0301:
www.xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0301.html - specification
www.realjabber.org - open source
Offline  
Old 10-21-2004, 01:36 PM   #7
bfrye
BBF Veteran User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hotwiring another Cessna
Model: OU812
Carrier: Nintendo
Posts: 3,492
Default

Definately not widespread until 2005. I'm sure BES 4 and BBOS4 won't even be out of beta until then.
Offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 03:16 PM   #8
Dev2100
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default

Hey try one thing Ask T Mobile to unlock the device. They will send device unlock code. Then unlock the device and try the same code.
It may help.
Offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 03:00 PM   #9
joshrl
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Sorry for my ignorance, but what exactly do mean by "unlock". If I call T-mobile and say "unlock my device" they'll know what I mean?

thanks,

-josh
Offline  
Old 10-28-2004, 07:17 AM   #10
bfrye
BBF Veteran User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hotwiring another Cessna
Model: OU812
Carrier: Nintendo
Posts: 3,492
Default

When you get devices (aside from cingular), they are "SIM locked" to that carrier. Meaning you can't take the device from TMO to ATT without unlocking it. TMO will unlock them usually if you've been a customer in good standing. ATT has never been known to give out unlock codes.
Offline  
Old 10-28-2004, 09:50 AM   #11
berryapps
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 60
Default

I'm pretty sure unlocking a device will have nothing to do with if it runs sockets code.

Just my $0.02

Cheers,
Andrew
Offline  
Old 10-28-2004, 09:56 AM   #12
bfrye
BBF Veteran User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hotwiring another Cessna
Model: OU812
Carrier: Nintendo
Posts: 3,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by berryapps
I'm pretty sure unlocking a device will have nothing to do with if it runs sockets code.

Just my $0.02

Cheers,
Andrew
No I suppose not... lol maybe I'll read a few more posts up next time :D
Offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 06:58 PM   #13
headtailgrep
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Model: 950
Carrier: robbers
Posts: 909
Default

You need OS 4, simple...

or a hosted BES/MDS solution, for now , until OS 4 officially comes out.
Offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 09:17 PM   #14
sumorai
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Does this mean I can't use something like ssh unless I use the enterprise service?
Offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 09:20 PM   #15
berryapps
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 60
Default

that would be correct
Offline  
Closed Thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


1747-M13/A ABoriginal packaging   SLC EEPROM Memory module 1747M13  Brand new GN picture

1747-M13/A ABoriginal packaging SLC EEPROM Memory module 1747M13 Brand new GN

$309.99



1PC USED   FX-EEPROM-4 picture

1PC USED FX-EEPROM-4

$23.93



1PC New In Box PLC Memory Card  FX-EEPROM-16  picture

1PC New In Box PLC Memory Card FX-EEPROM-16

$142.50



10PCS W27C512-45Z W27C512 DIP IC EEPROM 512KBIT 45NS Winbond EEPROMs USA picture

10PCS W27C512-45Z W27C512 DIP IC EEPROM 512KBIT 45NS Winbond EEPROMs USA

$16.90



CH341A 24 25 Series EEPROM Flash BIOS USB Programmer Module + SOIC8 Test Clip picture

CH341A 24 25 Series EEPROM Flash BIOS USB Programmer Module + SOIC8 Test Clip

$5.88



10PCS W27C512-45Z W27C512 DIP IC EEPROM 512KBIT 45NS Winbond EEPROMs US picture

10PCS W27C512-45Z W27C512 DIP IC EEPROM 512KBIT 45NS Winbond EEPROMs US

$19.59







Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.