Closed Thread

Old 08-06-2010, 11:11 AM   #1
skeptik

Model: 9850
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Question default IT policy best practices

Please Login to Remove!

Hi I am a new BES admin who has inherited a system and I would like to change some info in our default policy (like password requirements and attempts before the device will wipe itself etc..). I do know how to do this and have created a test policy that works exactly how I want it to but have come across a dilemma.
Everyone says it is best practice not to make any changes to the default IT policy and to apply a policy to a group. What I would like to know is why? If I am only planning on having limited changes that I would like to be Default to all devices on our network it seems to me that it would be best to use the default as I want to ensure these policy setting are applied to all devices that connected to our servers. if I was to change the default I would also make a backup of it first
I’ve been searching around the web trying to find an explanation to this question but have had a hard time finding it typical answers are “its best practice to” but there never seems to be a why

sorry a little long winded

any info would be greatly appreciated
Old 08-06-2010, 11:39 AM   #2
jjbova
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 9000
Carrier: ATT

My opinion on it -

At this point in time it is "Your" server, and you can do what you please, set it up how you want, configure it the way that helps with you. HOWEVER, think if the admin before you changed everything in the default policy. That wouldn't be that hard to go back and change, but it is time consuming and annoying. When it takes little to no effort to just Copy the default one, and then make your changes.

What BES version are you running? Groups changed ALOT between 4.1 and 5.0 and they also added child groups and Roles. I imagine the responses you will get about groups will vary depending on your version.
Old 08-06-2010, 12:09 PM   #3
juwaack68
iPhone Convert