BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

View Poll Results: How bad is the 7100t reboot problem?
Minor Nuisance 30 49.18%
Severe Headache 22 36.07%
Deal Breaker 9 14.75%
Voters: 61. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2005, 08:17 AM   #21
wintermute
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Well, I got my reply from T-Mobile:

Thank you for taking the time to contact T-Mobile.

I'm not aware of these "recent" problems. As a 7100t user myself, I have never experienced the device rebooting during a call or otherwise. I'd be curious to find out what version of the Operating System these users have installed on their devices and what additional software is also loaded.

If you have any other comments, questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us anytime.

Thank you for choosing T-Mobile.

Will
Advanced Technical Care
T-Mobile USA
Offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 09:21 AM   #22
bossj52
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 103
Default

I have personally had 5 charms replaced by TMO, 4 had the same issue. My dad is on his second phone doing the same thing.
Offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 12:06 PM   #23
aristobrat
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Model: 7130e
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 444
Default

My guess is that there is something pretty specific that causes this problem.

I can't think of any other reason that some people dont't experience the problem, while others seem to experience it on every 7100 that they get.
Offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 12:18 PM   #24
wintermute
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Good point brat. Eventhough I don't own a 7100t yet, i feel like i need to get to the heart of the matter. I'll put up a new post trying to get people's info...
Offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 04:53 PM   #25
kirson
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
kirson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicago
Model: 9000
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 421
Default

Had no problems until I upgraded to 4.0. Began getting odd resets -- some short, some long -- often during phone calls. Then started having all sorts of wireless syncronization issues. Contacts got wiped out -- then some would reappear. Next, the calendar got a bit messed up with lots of duplicate entries off-set by an hour. I use Mailstreet hosted BES service and I spent around an hour on the phone with them and a tech from RIM trying to figure out the issue. A number of Mailstreet customers were seeing the same issue. Could have been a Mailstreet issue. RIM tech suggested a server patch. Seems to be better now, but I still get the odd resets every now and then. Kind of annoying.
Offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 01:43 PM   #26
goblue1969
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Model: 7100t
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcm2
If the reboot problem isn't enough, my phone decided to wipe out 1200 contacts for no reason. Last night, 1200 contacts. This morning, 0 contacts. Phone was untouched and unconnected the whole time.
Contacts deleting is a known BES 4.0 problem. Is this a corporate BES or third party hosted?

Last edited by NJBlackBerry; 05-06-2005 at 05:34 PM..
Offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 05:30 PM   #27
roccitman
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
roccitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: oregon
Model: 7100t
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 162
Default

I agree with goluchowski, the only rebooting I see seems to be connected with my BT headset.
-roccit
Offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 06:22 PM   #28
nlk10010
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lawn Guyland, NY
Model: Storm
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 95
Default Well, everyone's got their own experience....

but mine is that the 7100t reboots about once in every 4 or 5 calls. I'm on Long Island as well (in case that's a factor), no BES and BWC. I never had it with 3.8 so this last reboot (just today) was the "last straw" and I'm in the process of trying to downgrade to 3.8. Unfortunately it's NOT going smoothly but we'll see.

The fact is that at least SOME 7100ts DO reboot in the middle of calls, for whatever reason. Therefore you DO stand a chance, if you go with a T-Mo 7100t, of having the same happen to you. Add to this the response you got from T-Mo "Tech Support" (who HAVE been told of the problem by people who have experienced it) and you have a recipe for throwing money down the drain.

Hey, it may be a data issue or a flaky battery or a loose SIM, I don't know. Problem is T-Mo can't or won't help.

You've been warned.

=NLK=
Offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 09:35 PM   #29
jbairdjr
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
jbairdjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lincoln, Ne
Model: 9550
OS: 5.0
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 1,232
Default

My 7100g has never rebooted. I use my bluetooth headset, and several 3rd party apps.
I am on web client with no BES.
__________________
Blackberry Storm2 (Verizon)
7280-7780-7290-7100g-7250-8703-8830-8330-9530-9550
Offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 10:57 PM   #30
robhawley
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 48
Default

FWIW: I have a 7100r (same form factor, same software as the t) and have never had it reboot durning a call.

Don't expect to use a BT200 headset though - those will reboot with connecting.
Offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 07:06 AM   #31
harsaphes
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: new york city
Model: 8700
Carrier: tmobil
Posts: 30
Default

happens everyday for me. Just got off the phone, during the first five min the phone "reboots". Your call is just dropped, screen says searching for network. you then have to redial the number....it is a big pain in the ass, and im considering getting rid of the phone.
Offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 09:30 AM   #32
nuri
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Model: 8820
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 30
Default

There are a total of four 7100t's in our department, and dozens of them in our building. Not one of us in our department, or anyone I've spoken to in the building, has had the rebooting problem, or any other strange ones (contacts deleting, etc) for that matter. We all use bluetooth, all have 3rd party apps, and are on a corporate BES. Some of us have been migrated recently to the 4.0 BES as an internal beta test.
Offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 10:51 AM   #33
cybor
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Default

On my third 7100t from tmobile. it's not good when phone resets in the middle of an important call with a client
Offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 11:08 AM   #34
bossj52
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 103
Default

my dad and I each have the 7100, TMO has replaced 6 of mine(on my 7th), and 4 for my dad. No bueno
Offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 11:28 AM   #35
stvaustin7
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Model: 8100
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 1
Default Got 7100t replaced, working fine

I experienced the rebooting issue and poor sound quality after upgrading the software on my handheld. After several tech support calls, SIM card replacement, wiping of the device, T-Mobile sent me a new 7100t. Things are working great now, just like it did when I first got my phone. Just thought I would pass along the info in case anyone is battling this same problem. A friend who took his into T-Mobile last week was told that the new devices have some new hardware which eliminates the incompatibilities with the 4.0 software. So far, so good...
Offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 11:06 PM   #36
CyberJack
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
CyberJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Model: 8310
Carrier: ATT Wireless
Posts: 120
Default

"Contacts deleting is a known BES 4.0 problem. Is this a corporate BES or third party hosted?"

Could you provide some more info on this? Is this an opinion? I am not aware that this is a documented bug of 4.0, but if it is for sure I'd enjoy some more information on it.
Offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 12:33 AM   #37
Rodolfo
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 56
Default

Upgraded 7100t running BWC -still not a single reset after 6 weeks (except for the one T-M asked me to do the first week while guiding me on the 4.0 install.) It's the most stable phone I've owned -knock on wood.
Offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 05:21 AM   #38
harsaphes
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: new york city
Model: 8700
Carrier: tmobil
Posts: 30
Default

after reboot yesterday phone would not find network...even after turning on and off. only after 3 hours and taking the battery out and putting it back in did it work.
Offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 10:23 AM   #39
StevenT
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 64
Default

I've owned a 7100t since day one, and never had a rebooting problem, before or after upgrading to 4.0.

I rarely use a bluetooth headset, but I do use bluetooth to pair the 7100 to my home phone, which is the new Uniden phone (wireless, not cellular) that has bluetooth and allows all the wireless handsets to make/receive calls over my wired line or my cell line.
Offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 12:06 PM   #40
aristobrat
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Model: 7130e
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 444
Default

Woah, that sounds like a very cool home phone. Do you know the model #?
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


MSA 10116926 Altair 5X bluetooth Gas Detector Industrial Kit - LEL, O2, CO, H2S picture

MSA 10116926 Altair 5X bluetooth Gas Detector Industrial Kit - LEL, O2, CO, H2S

$700.00



MSA H2S Altair Pro Single Gas Detector, 10074136, Calibrated picture

MSA H2S Altair Pro Single Gas Detector, 10074136, Calibrated

$65.00



MSA ALTAIR 4X/5X 10106722 COMBUSTIBLE REPLACEMENT SENSOR SEALED picture

MSA ALTAIR 4X/5X 10106722 COMBUSTIBLE REPLACEMENT SENSOR SEALED

$219.99



New 24 Month MSA Altair Hydrogen Sulfide Gas Monitor (H2S) Activate by 07/2022 picture

New 24 Month MSA Altair Hydrogen Sulfide Gas Monitor (H2S) Activate by 07/2022

$69.99



MSA Galaxy ALTAIR 5 Automated Gas Test System and Cylinder Holder picture

MSA Galaxy ALTAIR 5 Automated Gas Test System and Cylinder Holder

$647.00



Msa Altair Pro H2S Single Gas Detector, 10074136, Calibrated, Cal Cert Included picture

Msa Altair Pro H2S Single Gas Detector, 10074136, Calibrated, Cal Cert Included

$50.95







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.