BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2005, 02:49 PM   #81
canesfins
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nassau, Bahamas
Model: Torch
Carrier: BTC
Posts: 171
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Has anyone had a problem free upgrade?
Offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 02:54 PM   #82
gocyclones
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
gocyclones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Iowa
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 39
Default none here...

I've had no problems with my upgrade done the first day 4.0 was released. Upgraded from 3.8.0.125 to the 4.0 version on my 7100t without incident. Had to go back and reinstall apps, but that was it.

Matt
Offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 03:53 PM   #83
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by canesfins
Has anyone had a problem free upgrade?
Yes.
Offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 04:06 PM   #84
bigtar
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 34
Default

yes. and my kids even hit the power strip and shut the system down during the upgrade. just restarted the process, and no problems
__________________
Regards,

Jason
Offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 04:42 PM   #85
jibi
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Default

i had issues with OS4.0, but not with the TMO release. i had issues with two other providers' versions.
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 03:16 PM   #86
jeffmcclan
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 102
Default 7110t 4.0 Upgrades - one successful, one 507 error message

My upgrade of two 7100t's to 4.0 from 3.8 had mixed results (both were done by removing Desktop Mgr and Handheld software from the computer and doing a clean install of Desktop Mgr 4.0 and Handheld SW 4.0.

The first phone upgraded without major issues on a XP SP2 notebook. The automatic reloading of data did fail but was easily restored by performing a manual restore.

The second phone upgrade (using a different notebook) resulted in a dead screen 507 error message on the phone (no software loaded). After the phone failure, Desktop Mgr also would repeatedly crash when launched on the XP SP2 notebook. Removing all items from startup and re-installing both Desktop Mgr 4.0 and Handheld SW 4.0 has failed to resolve the problem. My only solution was to load 4.0 and restore the second phone using the first notebook (put the phone back into service but does not enable phone backups on the 2nd notebook). Submitting the XP error report to Microsoft online results in a message that RIM software error has no known solution.

It will be interesting to see if others have issues with the current upgrade software.
Offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 12:15 AM   #87
canesfins
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nassau, Bahamas
Model: Torch
Carrier: BTC
Posts: 171
Default

I did the upgrade finally, worked fine. Everything went smoothly. no SP2 on my laptop.
Offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 12:18 AM   #88
7100nut
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 17
Default jpg

they really need to get the viewing of JPG's sorted out on this, such a nice screen and a waste! Even when I open powerpoint files it will show me everything except for images!

The software updated my issue of not being able to use my 7100 with my Nokia CK7W car-kit.
Offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 11:26 AM   #89
bjallen2880
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
bjallen2880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Model: None
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjallen2880
Ok, I'm not sure if the two are related, but now my screen goes all goofy when I turn it on. It either has a super contrast look to it, or it is random colored lines. If I holster it and take it back out, the screen returns to normal.

This started right after loading 4.0, so perhaps it is a software thing?

So far I'm giving this update a
I contacted Customer Care and they think the two issues (the upgrade and the screen issue) are unrelated, so they are swapping it out for me. So I have the joy of waiting 5 business days for one to come in the mail. In the meantime I fell back on my hulking 6710. What a beast going back to that!
Offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 04:07 PM   #90
MichaelT
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Texas
Model: 7100T
Posts: 64
Default

JPG, GIF and PNG attachment viewing is only supported by BES.
Offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 04:33 PM   #91
map
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
map's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Inside the Beltway
Model: 8120
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 131
Default

When I try to open a .jpg I get the message "Attachment Server Not Found". Anyone know what this means? Yes, I am on a BES 4.0 and my handset is 4.0...

Thanks.
Offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 08:07 PM   #92
jibi
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by map
When I try to open a .jpg I get the message "Attachment Server Not Found". Anyone know what this means? Yes, I am on a BES 4.0 and my handset is 4.0...

Thanks.
contact your BES admin.

http://www.blackberry.com/knowledgec...5&vernum=0
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 10:17 PM   #93
roccitman
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
roccitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: oregon
Model: 7100t
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 162
Default

I just loaded up 4.0 and it went very smoothly. I took about 40 minutes from start to finish, including the reboot.
Offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 01:54 PM   #94
lestat832
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

HELP! After installing the updates for both the desktop and OS, my phone does not work anymore. I cant call out or call in. I cant even type in the numbers to call. Funny thing is that my email and SMS works. Any suggestions?
Offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 10:14 PM   #95
jibi
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lestat832
HELP! After installing the updates for both the desktop and OS, my phone does not work anymore. I cant call out or call in. I cant even type in the numbers to call. Funny thing is that my email and SMS works. Any suggestions?
*slaps forehead*

Go to Application Loader. Check ALL boxes. Go through the install. You forgot to install the Phone module.
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 01:02 PM   #96
lestat832
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default

SIGH, i figured it out! :(

Guess I should not be so excited and just keep clicking next to see the new OS!
Offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 09:16 PM   #97
hoss
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 12
Default

i've had no major problems after installing 4.0 upgrades on two 7100T from T-Mobile.

encountered the calculator and IM issues but searched the forums for the easy fix.
Offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 12:52 AM   #98
Nickel
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Model: Pearl
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 2
Default Can't pair Bluetooth headset after upgrading to 4.0

I have upgraded my 7100t to 4.0, and as mentioned in a posting above, my Bluetooth headset pairing has been wiped out. I use a Motorola HS820 headset that worked just fine with 3.8, but this time I just can't discover it from the 7100t :(

I've called TMO customer care, and the only thing they could suggest was to reset the Bluetooth headset.

Has anybody experienced problems pairing a Bluetooth headset after upgarding to 4.0?

Does anybody know how to reset a HS820 headset?

Thanks
Offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 12:08 PM   #99
BobMarley
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
BobMarley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Alexandria, va
Model: 8120
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 171
Default Re: Can't pair Bluetooth headset after upgrading to 4.0

Nickel,

Hold down the headset button till the blue light stays lit. Then do a "search" on the 7100. It should work!



Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickel
I have upgraded my 7100t to 4.0, and as mentioned in a posting above, my Bluetooth headset pairing has been wiped out. I use a Motorola HS820 headset that worked just fine with 3.8, but this time I just can't discover it from the 7100t :(

I've called TMO customer care, and the only thing they could suggest was to reset the Bluetooth headset.

Has anybody experienced problems pairing a Bluetooth headset after upgarding to 4.0?

Does anybody know how to reset a HS820 headset?

Thanks
Offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 12:09 PM   #100
kirson
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
kirson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicago
Model: 9000
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 421
Default Re: Can't pair Bluetooth headset after upgrading to 4.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickel
Does anybody know how to reset a HS820 headset?
Same issue here with HS810 -- you need to set the device to go into pairing mode. On the HS810 you press the talk/multi-function button for 3-5 seconds, the blue light goes on and stays on, then you extend the boom (extending the boom might not be a necessary step), and you're ready to search for the device from the 7100t. Code is 0000 when prompted. I couldn't attach the picture posted on the Motorola web page with the instructions for the 820, but try this link

https://motorola.custhelp.com/cgi-bi...p?p_faqid=3888

Good luck,
Ian
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


New OEM IBM Selectric Typewriter Spacing Pointer Base Black OR White w/warranty picture

New OEM IBM Selectric Typewriter Spacing Pointer Base Black OR White w/warranty

$7.97



IBM WHEELWRITER TYPEWRITER TRANSPORT MOTOR Series II - OEM wheelwriter parts picture

IBM WHEELWRITER TYPEWRITER TRANSPORT MOTOR Series II - OEM wheelwriter parts

$28.00



nEW 2-PAK OEM IBM Selectrics Spring only for Cycle Clutch w/warranty picture

nEW 2-PAK OEM IBM Selectrics Spring only for Cycle Clutch w/warranty

$17.76



New OEM IBM Selectric Typewriter Spacing Pointer - Choice2 w/warranty picture

New OEM IBM Selectric Typewriter Spacing Pointer - Choice2 w/warranty

$10.64



OEM Certified IBM Selectric II Key top Complete Set Standard Letters w/warranty picture

OEM Certified IBM Selectric II Key top Complete Set Standard Letters w/warranty

$62.26



New 10-pak OEM IBM P/N 1159211 Selectric Typewriter Motor Belt Bushing, warranty picture

New 10-pak OEM IBM P/N 1159211 Selectric Typewriter Motor Belt Bushing, warranty

$14.65







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.