BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2008, 05:17 PM   #1
jaypee4
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Model: 8110
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 2
Default 4GB Media Card not recognized in my BB 8110 Pearl

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

I purchased a new BB 8110 pearl mobile. I brought SanDisk 4GB microSD High Capacity (microSDHC) Memory Card and when i insert it in to my mobile it doesn't get recognized. I set the media card options as below in my mobile.

1.Media Card Support - ON
2. Encryption Mode - None
3. Mass Storage Mode Support - ON
4. Auto Enable Mass Storage Mode When Connected - Prompt

A message is shown as - A media card is not presently inserted in the device.

Device version i have is - BlackBerry 8110 smartphone (EDGE) v4.3.0.93 (platform 2.6.0.53)

I even rebooted my mobile device after inserting media card. Can anyone kindly assist me in setting my media card to my mobile device...Thanks in advance
Offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 05:18 PM   #2
CO_BBTechie
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
CO_BBTechie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver
Model: 8310
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 2,044
Default

You may have it in wrong. The door has to flip up, and the card inserts IN the door, then you close the door (contacts down)

** edit: unless you have that side install type

In either case, upon power up, your device should indicate on the screen that you've inserted a media card. If it didn't, you may not have it installed correctly.
__________________
Treat your password like your toothbrush. Don't let anybody else use it, and get a new one every six months.
Clifford Stoll
Offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 05:23 PM   #3
spbbp
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8110
OS: 4.5.0.55
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 163
Default

How did you reboot your device? Have your tried the battery pull? With the Pearl on, pull the battery out and then wait for a few secs(?) and insert it back.

I have OS 4.5 and 8gig card is working fine on my 8110. Also, in case you have not seen already, What type and size Media Card can I use in my device? - BlackBerryFAQ
Offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 05:24 PM   #4
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Also, if the BB is plugged into the computer you will NOT see the card from the device.
Offline  
Old 08-20-2008, 05:36 PM   #5
jaypee4
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Model: 8110
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 2
Default

Woo Hoo....it worked when i removed battery and inserted back.Thank you all for your prompt response. This group is really rocking.....
Offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 11:57 AM   #6
christm
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Model: 8110
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2
Posts: 47
Default

I have had this problem for about 2 weeks, thats sorted it. Thank you so much.
Offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 12:14 PM   #7
Starchest
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Model: 8900
OS: 5.0.0.190
Carrier: Cable & Wireless
Posts: 61
Default

Wow I tought 2GB was Pearls max capacity, can I get 4GB on it? I have 4.5.0.55
Offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 01:49 PM   #8
mizditz101
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
mizditz101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Utahhhhh
Model: iPhne
OS: iOS 5.1
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 1,026
Default

It depends on your OS how big of a card you can use. But yes, you can use up to an 8gb card on 4.5

Here's a link to the FAQ page that tells you what sizes work in which OS's
__________________
-"cuentale que te traigo loca"-
Offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 11:28 AM   #9
bogman
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
bogman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile UK
Posts: 290
Default

Useful info, thanks guys! I'm off to buy an 8GB card for my 8110.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Tektronix TM503 Power Module Mainframe picture

Tektronix TM503 Power Module Mainframe

$49.95



VINTAGE Tektronix TM 515 Mainframe Case Only (includes both locking covers) picture

VINTAGE Tektronix TM 515 Mainframe Case Only (includes both locking covers)

$60.00



Viavi JDSU MTS 6000A V2 Mainframe Fiber Testing Platform picture

Viavi JDSU MTS 6000A V2 Mainframe Fiber Testing Platform

$959.24



Keithley 7001 80-Channel Switch/Control Mainframe W/ 2x 7011-S Quad & 2x Cables picture

Keithley 7001 80-Channel Switch/Control Mainframe W/ 2x 7011-S Quad & 2x Cables

$399.99



Sorensen MML-4 DC Electronic Load Mainframe w/ 2*MML-80V-120A-601 Module PARTS picture

Sorensen MML-4 DC Electronic Load Mainframe w/ 2*MML-80V-120A-601 Module PARTS

$399.99



EXFO FTB-300-D2M1N3 Universal Test System Mainframe MM OTDR, MULTITEST, SM OTDR picture

EXFO FTB-300-D2M1N3 Universal Test System Mainframe MM OTDR, MULTITEST, SM OTDR

$750.00







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.