BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2009, 06:58 PM   #1
copster
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: VERIZON
Posts: 9
Default can google maps or bb maps work on the water?

Please Login to Remove!

hey guys i was wondering if someone could help me. i just got the storm 2 and was wondering why my bb maps will not work. it says "your current default services do not provide access to map data". can someone help me with that? that is the first part of the question.

second: will google or bb maps once i get it working work while i am on the ocean or in the creeks as a tracker? does anyone know if it does not then what can i use on the water to show me where i have been and mark areas that i would like to mark. thank you all for your help in advance.
Offline  
Old 11-02-2009, 07:03 PM   #2
aiharkness
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.3
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 14,081
Default

1 - do you have a blackberry data plan? (I don't know about google maps on just carrier data. Someone else can answer that.)

2 - If you have access to mobile data so that you are able to download the maps, and your blackberry can "see" the gps satellites, you will see your position on the map. Being on the water has nothing to do with it. Having a clear view of the sky and data service are the keys.
__________________
- Ira
Offline  
Old 11-02-2009, 07:09 PM   #3
copster
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: VERIZON
Posts: 9
Default

hello. i do have a data plan...

what maps do i download? i can not use my blackberry maps at all. is there other programs that i can load maps onto my sd card?
Offline  
Old 11-02-2009, 07:20 PM   #4
aiharkness
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.3
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 14,081
Default

If you have a *blackberry* data plan, not just a data plan, but a *blackberry* data plan, I don't know why blackberry maps wouldn't work for you. Talk to you service provider.

Take a look in the gps subforum here. Or maybe someone will come along and point you straight to the answer. There was a time when there was no way to use maps from sd card; all apps downloaded maps on the go. I don't know if that's changed. But I guarantee if it has, you find the answer searching here on the forums.
__________________
- Ira
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


LOT OF 10 SIEMENS QA115AFCN PLUG ON NEUTRAL (NO WIRE) 15A AFCI ARC FAULT NEW picture

LOT OF 10 SIEMENS QA115AFCN PLUG ON NEUTRAL (NO WIRE) 15A AFCI ARC FAULT NEW

$389.99



10 NEW IN BOX SIEMENS QA120AFCWG 20A CIRCUIT BREAKERS COMB. AFCI BEST PRICE picture

10 NEW IN BOX SIEMENS QA120AFCWG 20A CIRCUIT BREAKERS COMB. AFCI BEST PRICE

$298.88



Q2100 SIEMENS PLUG-IN CIRCUIT BREAKER 2 POLE 100 AMP 120 VAC NEW picture

Q2100 SIEMENS PLUG-IN CIRCUIT BREAKER 2 POLE 100 AMP 120 VAC NEW

$48.75



Siemens LXD63B600 Circuit Breaker 3 Pole 600 Amp picture

Siemens LXD63B600 Circuit Breaker 3 Pole 600 Amp

$1000.00



  ELECTRICENTER ECQTH3 HANDLE TIE DEVICE (PKG 50) AKA QTH3 BX100HT  picture

ELECTRICENTER ECQTH3 HANDLE TIE DEVICE (PKG 50) AKA QTH3 BX100HT

$39.99



LOT OF 10 SIEMENS QA120AFCN PLUG ON NEUTRAL (NO WIRE) 20A AFCI ARC FAULT NEW picture

LOT OF 10 SIEMENS QA120AFCN PLUG ON NEUTRAL (NO WIRE) 20A AFCI ARC FAULT NEW

$389.99







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.