BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 06-15-2005, 10:47 PM   #1
jsm174
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 7290
Carrier: Cingular
Default Do newer Blackberry's have serial ports?

Please Login to Remove!

Hello.

I'm new to BB programming. I started fooling around with the JDE and I notice that the 7290 simulator has a serial port option. (I wanted to start playing around with the SerialPortDemo.) However on the real device, I believe it only has a USB port. Are pretty much all the newer BBs without a serial port, or is there any USB to serial adapter that can be used.

If not, is the Bluetooth API serial port profile ever going to be released where it doesn't require paying for a key.

The June newsletter leads me to believe that RIM is really going to start supporting Bluetooth. I saw some mention of JDE 4.0.2 but I can't seem to find it on the site, so I assume its not out yet?

Thanks,
-- Jason
Old 06-16-2005, 12:29 PM   #2
corey@12mile
BlackBerry Extraordinaire

Model: lots
Carrier: Rogers

What do you think the S in USB stands for... little bit different, but it's still 1 bit at a time... hence serial.

cd.
Old 06-17-2005, 09:05 PM   #3
jsm174

Do you really feel the need to be an "A", Corey??

The Blackberry serial port demo is for RS-232 serial communication. There is a seperate demo application for USB.

My question is specifially in regards to the SerialPortDemo.

Next time, read the entire post instead of just reading the title.. Next time I'll be a little more specific.
Old 06-20-2005, 05:37 AM   #4
simon.hain
CrackBerry Addict

Model: 8900
Carrier: o2

I don't know of any usb/rs-232 adapters but as far as bluetooth is concerned you can use the serial port protocol (spp) via bluetooth
Old 06-20-2005, 11:34 AM   #5
Araaf

Hi jsm174,