Originally Posted by eldiener
I can use the Blackberry Desktop Software Windows application to backup my Blackberry data to my computer's hard drive. I choose to backup everything, but I am not sure this include all my Blackberry data. When I click on Media Options I get the message "A problem occurred while attempting to connect to your Blackberry device" even though the application is clearly connected to my Blackberry Torch 9810 and I am able to backup my 'full' data. So does this mean that everything is actually backed up and can be restored, including all my contacts, calendar information, media files, and applications, including my icon setup ?
The question then is if I should try:
1) Resetting the device and then restoring all my data
2) Reinstalling the OS and then restoring all my data
3) Just reinstall the OS
The link to the latest OS, from http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...languages.html
shows a release that is actually less recent than the current release I have on the Blackberry Torch 9810, even though it claims to be the latest release, which seems odd to me. My current release says '7.1 Bundle 2061 (v184.108.40.2064, Platform 220.127.116.112' and the release in the link above says 18.104.22.1686 which looks clearly earlier than my present release.
So you can see with my not being sure all my data, applications, and icon positions are restorable from my 'full' backup, and my not being sure that the so-called latest OS for my device is actually better than what I have currently installed, that I am really reticent to make drastic changes and lose my current Torch 9810 functionality.
Upfront, see my earlier post just now. I would hold off on reloading the OS.
Now, it's been a long time for me since I worked with legacy BlackBerry devices. Is the Media Options you mention in the backup options, or is it a separate setting for media sync? If it is not part of the backup settings, I would ignore it for now. See if backup will run and complete. If it doesn't, or errors out, don't be surprised, given the changes since and the fact that support was stopped a long time ago. But if you can do a backup, then do it, and repeat regularly while you figure out what you are going to do.
As far as I recall, the backup (if it runs and completes) will backup all data and settings locally on the device. After you reload the OS you may have to reinstall apps, and the apps will download whatever they download after an app is installed. The app settings you previously set will probably be backed up and then restored when you restore. My memory is the devices was like before after a restore.
To be clear on a point, the meaning of a clean OS reload has to do with testing after the OS reloaded before you do anything else, in case whatever problem is reintroduced when the backup is restored. If the problem doesn't occur when clean, but reappears after the restore, then the conclusion is the problem is in data or a setting that was on the device beforehand.
If you go this far, the desktop software should give you the latest OS released by the carrier. If you installed an OS released by another carrier, then it may be older or newer than what the desktop software presents to you.
Anyway, as I say, I would do the backup, if possible, but hold off on the OS reload. Give you carrier's customer service another try, and ask if you have any blocks enabled on your line. Bring up short codes. And mention the companies that you have requested send you SMS.