BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/index.php)
-   BES Admin Corner (http://www.blackberryforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   GWCheckPA and Address Book Sync (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=69417)

aschieman 03-15-2007 08:08 PM

GWCheckPA and Address Book Sync
 
I have noticed this scenario at a few clients.

- address book sync stops working
- check processes, GWCheckPA running
- check log files, no GWCheckPA log

Solution:
- end GWCheckPA process
- restart GroupWise Service controller
- GWCheckPA starts again (actually it starts automatically because the GW Service controller watches to see that it is running)

- address book sync begins
- GWCheckPA log file gets created

Everything seems to work for a while and then occurs again (weeks in between).

Anyone else come across this issue?

goresci 03-16-2007 06:06 AM

not noticed that, but i've noticed that if i've enterprise activated a user before i have assigned them their personal address book it does work, but only seems to be on the pearl, seems ok on my 8800 and other users 8707

aschieman 03-16-2007 04:53 PM

This is occuring on BES installs that have been running for years and recently upgraded to v4.1.

bkwerner22 03-23-2007 08:57 AM

Script fix for GWCheckPA.exe needing process ended
 
I have a VB Script written to address these issues if anyone is interested and doesn't have any vb experience.

It just terminates the GroupWise GWCheckPA.exe, GWConnector.exe, & GWCheckNew.exe processes and then GWService.exe will respawn them with new PIDs. I have this scheduled to run nightly on my BES server and haven't had to worry about it since. Just copy the script below in a new notepad file and save with .VBS extension and Whalla!!

Let me know if this helps! I guess the Service Pack 3 fixes this, but for those who want a quick fix..

strComputer = "."

Set objWMIService = GetObject("winmgmts:" _
& "{impersonationLevel=impersonate}!\\" & strComputer & "\root\cimv2")

Set colProcessList = objWMIService.ExecQuery _
("Select * from Win32_Process Where Name = 'GWCheckNew.exe'")

For Each objProcess in colProcessList
objProcess.Terminate()

Next

Set colProcessList = objWMIService.ExecQuery _
("Select * from Win32_Process Where Name = 'GWCheckPA.exe'")

For Each objProcess in colProcessList
objProcess.Terminate()

Next

Set colProcessList = objWMIService.ExecQuery _
("Select * from Win32_Process Where Name = 'GWConnector.exe'")

For Each objProcess in colProcessList
objProcess.Terminate()

Next

bbgirl71 03-23-2007 09:04 AM

Sounds like the same as KB-11259 which has now been fixed in 4.1.3 according to the release notes.

aschieman 03-23-2007 11:30 AM

Thank you for the KB reference.

I did not see anything in the release notes for SP3 that fixes this issue. Has anyone installed SP3 and noticed that this issue is resolved?

bbgirl71 03-23-2007 11:35 AM

I think the KB references the SDR number which is quoted in the release notes under fixed issues.

aschieman 03-23-2007 12:08 PM

Perfect. The description was a little vague.

showtime 03-24-2007 10:39 AM

I installed SP3 and address book syncing is working fine so far.

||||||| 04-17-2007 11:40 AM

This issue is fixed in 4.1.3 but still exists in version 4.0.6

bbforlife 06-20-2007 06:23 PM

Instead of making a big script you can do the following, it's 10x easier.

Create a .bat file.. say.. "restartGWPA.bat"

In the file put the following:

NET STOP BlackBerry GroupWise Service
WAIT 5
NET START BlackBerry GroupWise Service

Save the file. Create a scheduled task in Windows to execute this batch file every night at like.. 3am or something.

MI_BB_TECH 07-09-2007 10:37 AM

Nice fix! I like the batch approach better....

We're having the same problems here... when I read the KB and it said "The matter had been escalated internally", I knew that we'd be on our own as RIM is notorious for taking forever to fix stuff like this.

We cannot go to 4.1 as 90% of our clients are still on GW 6.5.7. we've started upgrading the mail servers to 7.0 but I don't see us moving to BES 4.1 any time soon...

Anyway.... nice job on the fix! simple fixes are usually the best fixes!

aschieman 07-16-2007 01:18 PM

GW7 is not a requirement for BES 4.1.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.