BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/index.php)
-   BES Admin Corner (http://www.blackberryforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Cannot create user after removing same user (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=207004)

alexmetal 10-12-2009 12:06 PM

Cannot create user after removing same user

I'm fairly new to BES and I was setting up a test account on Friday. The device wasn't activating, so I deleted the user from BES using the "Yes - Delete the user and remove the BlackBerry information from the user's mail system " option, because I was going to try a device that I knew had BES activated through the carrier. (turns out the first device indeed was only using BIS not BES)

But now, when I go to create a user using the same email address, it can't find the user. However, if I try to add the user from the company directory, I get the following: "The specified user already exists in the available user list."

So basically, this person exists but they don't exist. The Exchange account is fine, can log in through Outlook, OWA, ActiveSync, etc, but BES just can't add it again. I'm using BES 5.0 running on Server 2003, Exchange 2007 on Server 2008 and the AD environment is on 2008 servers with 2003 compatibility.

nschmidt 10-12-2009 02:19 PM

Same Issue

I'm having the same issue. Haven't been able to try a server reboot yet since it's running other applications.

SBS 2008 / Exchange 2007 / BES 5.0

alexmetal 10-12-2009 05:20 PM

I did a reboot on Friday, waited over the weekend, and rebooted this morning. Still no luck. I've verified that new AD users are being pulled over by refreshing the available user list. So this user is just in limbo some how?

alexmetal 10-12-2009 05:26 PM

Also, if I change the user's default SMTP address, it will add it to the list of available users, however, if I change it back to what it should be, it disappears again.

juwaack68 10-12-2009 06:16 PM