BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/index.php)
-   Mac Users Corner (http://www.blackberryforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=61)
-   -   RIM source says Mac tools are on the way! (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=151864)

bluejacket 09-25-2008 06:16 AM

RIM source says Mac tools are on the way!

RIM source says Mac tools are on the way! - The Unofficial Apple Weblog (TUAW)

Quote:

CIO.com confirms rumors that I've been hearing for at least six months: RIM is preparing to release native BlackBerry utilities for Mac users. According to CIO.com's source, who requested anonymity, the software tools are being prepped for the first half of 2009.

[...]

Thankfully, not only does it look like native Mac tools are FINALLY going to arrive, future OS updates will be done OTA (over the air), putting an end to this sort of nastiness once and for all. Frankly, I can't wait until I can actually manage my BlackBerry without having to run a virtual machine.
Nice.

catwoman66 09-25-2008 03:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bluejacket (Post 1113779)

It's about time! (y)

vidmaster99 09-25-2008 04:14 PM

Will it really be any different than what we have now, see this article:
Electronista | RIM to launch BlackBerry software for Mac

Especially this part:
Quote:

It is also uncertain whether RIM itself would develop the software, or hire out a third party company to provide a product, sort of an official take on Missing Sync by Mark/Space.

sprale 09-26-2008 10:51 AM

Might be nice to have Mac BB software that actually works in a corporate environment!

bluejacket 09-26-2008 11:08 AM

Well, I have the Missing Sync bt it would be nice to have the ability to upgrade my OS without vmware.

adorkable 09-26-2008 02:05 PM

I really hope they don't use a third party.

rallanr 09-27-2008 12:26 AM

I agree