BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/index.php)
-   BlackBerry Network (http://www.blackberryforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   HOWTO: Use BlackBerry on Generic NON-BlackBerry Data Plan (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=98136)

paulwiggins 01-07-2010 08:02 PM

THank you very very very much.

bryce772826498 02-04-2010 10:13 PM

i keep getting the error that it needs protocol stacks when i use the service books from anworm, how do i fix that???
im using a 7100t and opera mini and ramble im work/

sacrone 03-28-2010 08:45 PM

hey, i already started a thread about this, but mabe i should of posted here first...
I was wondering what will i not be able to do with a non data plan that i could do with a data plan.

ahashi20 05-06-2010 03:49 PM

Google Maps on my Brackbrry
 
I have an unlocked BB8820, and I am using sidekick plan of T-mobile.
Opera mini and all others works perfectly; however, the Google maps.
The version of Google Maps is 4.0.1. It will give me a error message saying,

"Network Unavailable: This application requires a date connection, and some BlackBerry devices require reconfiguration to work properly. Please visit google map on your computer for more info."

Is there anything I can do?
Please help me.

naludz 06-03-2010 11:58 PM

hi
 
will you help me.. i have curve 8900 and when i open my ym messenger its telling me that data services unavailable?


what do i need to do?

pls help !!

GW_xo 06-23-2010 01:23 PM

hiya i recently brought my sisters old blackberry 8110 wich was on contract, i have now put my o2 text and web sim card in but it says it is unable to connect to the internet. So i transfered opera mini 4 and 5 to my phone, they will not properly install as it says unable to connect to the internet. does anyone know why this is or how i could sort it out? also if there are any other browsers like opera mini that i could try on my phone i would be more than grateful!! thanks

torinate 07-16-2010 12:21 PM

Curious...
 
I'd like to give my old Pearl to my wife - who has a regular cell plan with Rogers. But, she won't use the internet much so I don't really want to add a whole BB plan. But, I would add the WAP plan if I could.
Can this be done? I think thats what i'm reading...

Can she text and use the phone as normal?

Thanks everyone!

Torinate

pastorz 12-14-2010 01:49 PM

Re: HOWTO: Use BlackBerry on Generic NON-BlackBerry Data Plan
 
(y)Cool! Thanks for the heads-up!

qazqazwsxwsxedcedc 02-20-2011 02:50 AM

Re: HOWTO: Use BlackBerry on Generic NON-BlackBerry Data Plan
 
I have blackberry 8100 , i have non smart phone data( generic data) plan from fido in canada. i did everything, whtever its discribed in above article but still i cant access to internet with this plan on my blackberry pearl 8100 using 3rd party browser operamini, can u explan me how can do it, thanxs in advance

cuto 11-10-2011 11:30 AM

Re: HOWTO: Use BlackBerry on Generic NON-BlackBerry Data Plan
 
Is there a new list of apps that can be used on a generic data plan?

dc/dc 11-13-2011 05:51 AM

Re: HOWTO: Use BlackBerry on Generic NON-BlackBerry Data Plan
 
Most apps written for BlackBerry these days are meant to be used with BlackBerry data plans. This is the way that RIM designed their devices to be used, and many carriers also automatically move users of BlackBerry devices onto BlackBerry data plans in order to eliminate any confusion or breaks in service.

dc/dc 06-21-2012 09:58 AM

Re: HOWTO: Use BlackBerry on Generic NON-BlackBerry Data Plan
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by stephiebrowns (Post 1780649)
As per my thinking it will work. This FAQ was designed originally for the Rogers network

It used to work on almost all GSM-based carriers, but it is basically obsolete now.

silindile 03-08-2014 12:26 PM

Re: HOWTO: Use BlackBerry on Generic NON-BlackBerry Data Plan
 
How can I installed blackberry walrd in my blackberry 8520
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

Lactobacillus 05-19-2018 10:40 PM

Re: HOWTO: Use BlackBerry on Generic NON-BlackBerry Data Plan
 
This Q&A contains bad advice.

BB Browser never needed a BB data plan. What it needed was correct ISP APN settings embedded into BBOS. Generic data plan users had to modify the APN settings in a text file on their PC, and upload the edit to the BB over USB cable as part of an OS update (there was a BB desktop application for this). Of course modifying the settings were unsupported but they worked (for me, and I was following an online tutorial). Opera Mini still did a better job of rendering webpages but it could not download files. I think my BBOS4.x phones were setup to receive email in the same way, but I was using the Gmail app for other reasons.

BBM has not needed a BB data plan since it was ported to Android (i.e. made available to non-BB phones).

John Clark 05-19-2018 10:50 PM

Re: HOWTO: Use BlackBerry on Generic NON-BlackBerry Data Plan
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Lactobacillus (Post 1819999)
This Q&A has not been true for many years.

BB Browser never needed a BB data plan. What it needed was correct APN settings for the ISP. Generic data plan required users to modify the APN settings in a text file and upload the edit to the BB over USB cable as part of an OS update. Of course this was unsupported but it worked. Opera Mini still did a better job of rendering webpages so there was little benefit to this.

BBM has not needed a BB data plan since it was ported to Android (i.e. made available to non-BB phones).


Seriously? The last post to this thread was over four years ago and the thread was started 11 years ago. Not much more needs to be added. And, for the record, BBM did not need a data plan once it was running on BB10.

NJBlackBerry 05-20-2018 07:58 AM

Re: HOWTO: Use BlackBerry on Generic NON-BlackBerry Data Plan
 
Looks like someone here likes to hear his/her own voice.
Guess we have to close all 4 year old threads.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.