BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/index.php)
-   RIM Software (http://www.blackberryforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Remove IT Policy (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=67224)

John Clark 08-25-2010 02:06 PM

Are you sure its a policy issue? Look in Options > Security Options >General Settings and scroll down and see if there is any mention of It policy in there.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

dan kingg 08-25-2010 02:11 PM

ur right .. its says under services .. no services what do i do next m8(y)

John Clark 08-25-2010 02:15 PM

So, and in plain English please, there is no reference to IT policy there?
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

jsconyers 08-25-2010 02:16 PM

You need to contact your carrier and get a BlackBerry data plan in order to use MSN, FaceBook, and Twitter.

dan kingg 08-25-2010 02:19 PM

no reference to it policy there! what do u mean by carrier network provider?
im am the second or third user for this phone i have
is there alternatives

jsconyers 08-25-2010 02:25 PM

Yes, your network provider.

dan kingg 08-25-2010 02:29 PM

yes ok mines is orange what shud i say to them ?

jsconyers 08-25-2010 02:44 PM

That you would like a BlackBerry Data Plan added to your account. Keep in mind this costs money. So ask them for the prices and or rates.

dan kingg 08-25-2010 02:49 PM

does it now .. why does it cost ? whats the price range an how would they receive the money ?

jsconyers 08-25-2010 02:53 PM

It is a data plan, just like you pay for your voice plan. It is an add-on. I don't know the price range. It is different here in the US. You would need to talk to Orange.

dan kingg 08-25-2010 03:19 PM

ok thanks i will do .. have a nice eve

nobody7290 09-02-2010 05:45 PM

Remove IT policy on old blackberries - simple method
 
I dont know, if this is something new, but, I found no reference to it here:

I had to activate an old 7290 with Software 3.8. Device refused activation because the of a previous IT policy. A security erase did not help.

I launched the Blackberry Desktop manager,
clicked on the safe and restore option, advanced.
scrolled down to the file "policy"
deleted this
rebooted the Device

and, was able to sucessfully activate the Blackberry.

I dont have a second BB to try this out again, so I cant tell if this really works in all cases.

trind11 09-04-2010 08:35 PM

policy.bin
 
where can I find a blank it policy to download in place of the one that was on my phone when i got it? i cant seem to find any. this post gave perfect instructions for what i wanted to do, but the link was removed

John Clark 09-04-2010 08:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by trind11 (Post 1651242)
where can I find a blank it policy to download in place of the one that was on my phone when i got it? i cant seem to find any. this post gave perfect instructions for what i wanted to do, but the link was removed

What kind of device do you have?

Granz91 09-11-2010 08:22 AM

PROBLEMS! when i use jm_cmlders or whatever it says error cannot connect to port and when i use crackutil it says file access denied. i tried using the blank policy method as well and it hasnt worked either. im now wiping my blackberry for the 8th time and idk what to do HELPP!

twistmode 09-15-2010 11:31 AM

Does method 2 still work when using Blackberry Desktop software v 6.0?

highbar 10-01-2010 04:57 PM

Windows 7 and BB Desktop Software 6.0
 
Unable to verify method 2 but method 1 worked on a 8830 v4.5, Windows 7 Professional OS, and Desktop Software 6.0. Had 2 run it twice, made sure I removed the battery upon completion of the resetto command. IT policies were removed. Thanks to all who contributed to this thread.

sllowery 10-09-2010 03:06 PM

So much easier than the newer dated posted
 
This reply actually has more detailed instructions and worked like a charm! Thank you soooooo much!

cartmanko 10-10-2010 01:35 AM

I do everything as described in first post. Im now able to import and synchronize my contacts. Now I want my policy back. When I use Restore I do not have my BES back. I need my work emails. How to reach it? my device is 9700 sw 5.0.0.593. Any hint?

John Clark 10-10-2010 01:39 AM

You should NOT be attempting this if you are still on the BES. You will need to contact your IT department in order to get reconnected to your BES to get your work emails. The policy will be pushed back when you reactivate.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

cartmanko 10-10-2010 01:50 AM

and is it possible to send it wireless or via 3G? Or they have to have the devise in the hand? I will not be at for work another week.

John Clark 10-10-2010 09:04 AM

Call them and ask for am enterprise activation password. Then you will enter your email address and that password in Options > Advanced Options > Enterprise Activation.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

one zero alpha 10-12-2010 04:16 AM

Its been 2 days with so many attempts to achieve a removal of IT policy but its got me beaten :-o
I got a BB Curve 8900. I've installed BB Desktop on a Windows 7 PC. The BB is App 6.3.1.310 and Platform 4.2.0127.
Its unlocked but I cannot seem to achieve the IT Policy wipe using CMD or JL_Cmder (which just does not want to load).
Under CMD I just get invalid path even when I use the CMD script in the blog and I'm told JL_Cmdr hasn't installed properly.:oops:
I realise there are pages and pages on this, I have tried to review all the posts to find a solution but I'm now stuck.
Any help or advice or referral to the right thread VERY gratefully received!
Thanks

beetees 10-21-2010 05:12 PM

8830
 
jlloader worked like a charm you guys rock

john4068 10-22-2010 01:31 AM

Where is v4.5 for 8707v
 
But where do I get a version of 4.5 for my 8707v?? 4.2 is the highest I can find. Thanks
John

jsconyers 10-22-2010 10:59 AM

4.2 is the most recent version for your device.

litwardle 11-11-2010 07:51 AM

Hi all

I need to remove the IT policy on my 8800 handset but it's running 4.2. There are no updates available on desktop manager so I can't update the OS. As the policy.bin file has gone how do I remove/replace the policy? I'm not bothered about 3rd party apps but I can't turn off the "password promt" which is really ANNOYING!!!!

NJBlackBerry 11-11-2010 07:57 AM

Using "Google" and searching on "blank BlackBerry policy.bin" I found this thread which has a policy.bin file in it.

Remove an I.T. Policy from a BlackBerry... - BlackBerry Forums at CrackBerry.com

John Clark 11-11-2010 09:29 AM

Or better yet, update it to OS 4.5 by following the instructions here:

http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...-new-post.html

Then follow the instructions in Method 1.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

John Clark 11-11-2010 09:32 AM

The policy$bin method is NOT recommended. That's why I removed it.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

Riggy130 11-24-2010 03:40 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Hi any help on this would be appreciated please.

I have inherited a Blackberry 8100 Ixxx8217;m pretty sure it has an IT policy on it. If I go in general settings above services it says IT Policy Name BOLD.

I have Desktop manager 6 on XP and can connect via USB however I only have OS 4.2.1.101

I have tried to upgrade my OS but it tells me my Blackberry is currently up to date so I cannot update my OS

How would I remove this policy? Tried all the policy.bin way but my file structure is different to the ones suggested. Ixxx8217;m guessing this was for an older version of the Desktop Manager.

Anyone know how to remove the policy using desktop manager 6 and OS 4.2.1.101

Richard

John Clark 11-24-2010 05:00 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Update your 8100 to 4.5 by following the instructions in the first post of the thread below:

http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...ml#post1664809

Then remove the policy using method 1 of the instructions in this thread.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

botchag 12-23-2010 11:50 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
thanks

onormil 01-22-2011 08:37 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Helo world I have a bberry curve8320 I need help with it I need to remove the IT policy in it please help me I need some good guide to do it thank you
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

John Clark 01-22-2011 10:10 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Read the first post. That is the guide.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

kathryns 02-27-2011 07:24 PM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
2/17/2011 -- I have been looking for hours on how to accomplish this task and this answer is SPOT ON CORRECT! Thank You! And as far as this being a nightmare for BES Admins...it is not. In order to connect to the BES, a new policy will be pushed and return the device back to corporate standards. With ever changing devices for employees this is a perfect solution for those no longer connected to a BES. (y)

maddrewsaa 02-28-2011 06:55 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
worked. cheers

karimessam 03-13-2011 12:26 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
I have tried the steps you wrote and phone is working properly but BB messenger and WIFI are still blocked by IT policy :( any suggestion ? I even tried n wiped the device and reinstalled OS6 my phone is 9800 torch

John Clark 03-13-2011 12:31 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Make sure you're following all the steps in method 1. You must be missing something.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

jananita 03-22-2011 07:06 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Hi,
Have a verizon BB and have attempted to remove the IT policy as described. Having a difficult time. Updated at Verizon and downloads from blackberry 4.2.1. Can't find a 4.5 or higher. Is Verizon where i get the OS from? Have used BB desktop manager 6.0 but doesn't display "policy manager" for the root command changes-- have to use an older desktop manager to get it to display.
Which version of the desk top manager should I be using?
Where can I download a 4.5 or higher OS?

NJBlackBerry 03-22-2011 07:09 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
The 8703e is a very old BlackBerry. The newer techniques will not work.
You are going to have to find a blank/replacement IT Policy for that one.

lilianbou 04-01-2011 09:39 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Hi, I have a used 9700 bold that i recently purchased off of someone, and i followed all the steps shown in method 1 to remove the IT lock, but the problem is after i enter the loader.exe/resettofactory and i press enter, i get a new window RIM LOADER asking me for my password again. so I entered wrong passwords for 10x since i don't have the right one, and it wiped my bb but the IT setting is still enabled. After the wiping, it asked me for a new password and the IT is still enabled. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

John Clark 04-01-2011 09:41 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Once you know the password then you'll need to do the resettofactory again.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

lilianbou 04-01-2011 10:16 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
thx for your reply. R u suggesting i wipe my handheld again and put a new password and then do the resettofactory again? and when the RIM loader comes up, i should enter that new password and with that i will get rid of the IT setting?? Please confirm.thx.

John Clark 04-01-2011 10:22 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
If a password is required on the device you must know the password to do the resettofactory command on it. If you don't, then you will need to reset the password by entering wrong 10 times. That will wipe it and you can enter a new password and then run the resettofactory?

Why do you not know the password? Is this your device?
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

lilianbou 04-01-2011 10:35 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
i bought it used off of someone and i forgot what the password was. so I entered wrong password 10x, it wiped it, i put a new password on my bb and when i opened my desktop manager it asked me for the password , i entered the new one and it's not recognizing the new password, and then i used method 1 (while keeping desktop manager open with a window asking for the password), and when i got to the RIM LOADER console, it asked me for my password and i entered it(the new one), and it's not recognizing it. I even entered it 10x thinking if i do that, may be it will work, it did wipe my bb but the IT is still enabled. nothing seems to work :-( plz let me know what i am doing wrong...

lilianbou 04-01-2011 01:10 PM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
can anyone help me plz?

jsconyers 04-01-2011 01:17 PM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Does the new password contain numbers? If so, are you pressing the ALT key when entering the password on the device? If not, then it is actually letters. For example, if you think the password is 1234, it is actually wers.

wesleymv 06-12-2011 06:42 PM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Hello all

I bought a blackberry curve 8320 from usa and it came with it policy (Data and Phone)
I have tried everything (JL_Cmder and CrackUtil).The problem is that computer doesnt detects the blackberry.Its like i have conected nothing in the computer.I guess it policy blocked that USB connection, i have also tried Bluetooth conection but only modem options are permited.
When i plug the blackberry in computer the battery image shows the flash icon for 2 secs and then it disappears.The charger is working, problem is USB - Computer.
I have also tried another cables and another computers and USBs.
I cant send it back to USA im in Brazil =/

Can anyone help me please??

stecha 06-16-2011 04:43 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
John,
I was able to wipe OS 4.2 from my 8707, but now cannot find a compatible OS 4.5 for the 8707 that I can load with the intent of using the JL_Cmder's "resettofactory" command to wipe the IT policy that was (is) on the device. Where can a dowload an OS 4.5 or higher that will specifically work with my 8707?

Help!!! Your instructions have been by far the best in the forums.

:bb:

devnull 06-16-2011 07:58 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by stecha (Post 1727653)
John,
I was able to wipe OS 4.2 from my 8707, but now cannot find a compatible OS 4.5 for the 8707 that I can load with the intent of using the JL_Cmder's "resettofactory" command to wipe the IT policy that was (is) on the device. Where can a dowload an OS 4.5 or higher that will specifically work with my 8707?

There is no OS 4.5 for 8707

stecha 06-16-2011 02:43 PM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Then how can I remove the IT policy with an older OS like 4.2?:cry:

secretsanta09 06-27-2011 08:30 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Thank you very, very, very much. You don't know how much mucking around I have had to go through to get an browser icon to appear and all because the IT policy was still on the BB. I suppose that's what happens when you take your work phone complete with IT policy.

Thanks (y):smile:

vasou 07-08-2011 04:30 PM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Hello. My blackberry has an IT policy as well, and I m trying to remove it.

I tried the method 1)
One problem is that this prompt can't be recognised blablablal...

I also tried with the '' JL_Cmder'', and once i m double clicking to this, and says its installed, it only blinks for a sec, and then... nothing! Can't find it.

So I tried method 2). I put the policy.bin file in the right place, I did the wipe (is there a problem that I chose wipe only for applications, or i have for e-mails and media card as well?), i changed to Path, blablabla in the regedit menu, I connect my BB with the Device manager, put my pin, and there... IT policy is still there.

If it helps, i m having windows XP, BB desktop manager 5.0.0.8 and BB version 5.0.0.1036

gregorypeart 08-07-2011 10:00 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
This worked!

frech 09-25-2011 10:27 PM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Thank You!!!!!

victoriadhernandez 09-26-2011 07:01 PM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
I havent gone through everyones comments but not everyone has windows. im having a hard time getting it to work with a MAC.

victoriadhernandez 09-26-2011 07:04 PM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by victoriadhernandez (Post 1746716)
I havent gone through everyones comments but not everyone has windows. im having a hard time getting it to work with a MAC.

Oh and when i was trying to do this and i wiped the phone it wipeed everything even the latest software. guess ill just deal with the stupid IT policy on it. :x

jsconyers 09-28-2011 09:17 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
You must have selected the incorrect option. You most likely selected the option to Wipe Handheld and not ResetToDefault.

mikelong 12-28-2011 08:15 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
i need help om how to remove mep code on BB 9780

John Clark 12-28-2011 09:11 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Sorry. Can't help you with mep code.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

Parselmouth 04-24-2012 01:37 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
I have done the method one. Still, I can see the Enterprise Activation when I click Email Accounts. I have BB Bold 9780, btw. Is there any other way that works?

John Clark 04-24-2012 08:57 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
That doesn't mean there is an IT Policy. Go to Options and type IT Policy in the search. Make sure no policy is listed there.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

abiodunghaliissa 05-15-2012 09:36 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
the first option for the IT POLICY on BB work perfectly.
Thank You

nicoPK 06-04-2012 05:56 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Hello, I have tried method 1 on a Bold 9700 with OS 5.0 Bundle 1446 and the only option on the device to set up an email account is still with the BES. Do you have any other suggestions?
Thanks

stevetaz 06-04-2012 07:07 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nicoPK (Post 1779295)
Hello, I have tried method 1 on a Bold 9700 with OS 5.0 Bundle 1446 and the only option on the device to set up an email account is still with the BES. Do you have any other suggestions?
Thanks

That is beacsue you don't have a valid BlackBerry Data Plan, which is required to set up BIS email. There is no FREE carrier.....

nicoPK 06-04-2012 10:17 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Thanks Stevetaz, I'll speak to my provider and see why I don't have a valid data plan

rwleawood 08-22-2012 07:20 PM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
I have tried to follow this....where is the actual "Policy.bin" download file? Can anyone help me when I rung the regedit and go to HKey users\software\research in motion\blackberry\manager.....then right click the Manager folder and select "new/string value....I see the "default...that is the IT security I want to disable....however...I am suppose to name the value path and then double click the path swkey set value data to: C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\Blackberry\ (then I am suppose to type the "Policy.bin" that i need to save in RIM. Does anyone know how to name the value path and what it should be? and how do I find this Policy.bin file...?

John Clark 08-22-2012 10:49 PM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
The policy.bin file has been removed. Please follow the instructions in the other method. Editing the registry and manually loading the policy is no longer required on any device with OS 4.5 and higher.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

ffsprostob 08-26-2012 07:01 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Hi is there a way of getting the policy.bin file? It's all very well to say it's not needed now but I have a BB 8520 and can't find any software to upgrade it to 4.3 or above. It's not THAT old and works perfectly but I want to sell it and need to get rid of the IT policy.

John Clark 08-26-2012 07:17 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
The 8520 released with OS 4.6 and OS 5.0 is available for it. There is no reason for the policy.bin.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

depeaktech 10-01-2012 07:03 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
I used the JL_Cmder and it works very fine thanks.(y)

gugzi 05-13-2017 05:15 AM

Re: Remove IT Policy
 
Thank you so much!!! It works perfectly


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.