BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/index.php)
-   Aftermarket Software (http://www.blackberryforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Signal Location utility for Blackberry BETA... (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=142672)

Iare Tosevite 07-30-2008 07:36 PM

Hmm it said it was same version so bb asked me if I wanted to overwrite it?

I clicked no because it seems to be same version?

RemyJ 07-30-2008 07:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Iare Tosevite (Post 1039752)
Hmm it said it was same version so bb asked me if I wanted to overwrite it?

I clicked no because it seems to be same version?


Hmmm. It downloads as 0.1.710 for me. Clear the browser cache maybe?

tbhuang2 07-30-2008 08:09 PM

This is a little strange for me. It doesn't seem to fit in my 8130 screen properly.
The only things I see labeled are Time, Net, Svc, Id/Ch, and Speed, but Speed has no value. There are values for signal. No labels nor values for Loc. I have GPS enabled, is that all I need? On the bottom right of my screen I see a little arrow pointing down as if I can scroll, but I cannot.
Finally, when I look at "View Details" in my Saved Cell Sites, the values for Lat, Lon, and Alt are all 0.0
What am I doing wrong?

RemyJ 07-30-2008 08:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tbhuang2 (Post 1039782)
This is a little strange for me. It doesn't seem to fit in my 8130 screen properly.
The only things I see labeled are Time, Net, Svc, Id/Ch, and Speed, but Speed has no value. There are values for signal. No labels nor values for Loc. I have GPS enabled, is that all I need? On the bottom right of my screen I see a little arrow pointing down as if I can scroll, but I cannot.
Finally, when I look at "View Details" in my Saved Cell Sites, the values for Lat, Lon, and Alt are all 0.0
What am I doing wrong?

It may have to do with the font you use. Change to BBMillibankTall and size 7 and see what happens. I'll have to put an option for selecting a font specifically for this app.

Also, make sire that in Options, you have the "Carrier provides cell site location" checked. You'll have to restart the app for this to take effect.

tbhuang2 07-30-2008 08:45 PM

Thanks, that worked. But aw, I don't want to give up BBAlpha Sans :(

RemyJ 07-30-2008 08:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tbhuang2 (Post 1039829)
Thanks, that worked. But aw, I don't want to give up BBAlpha Sans :(

I'm adding the option to set a font specifically for SignalLoc.

tbhuang2 07-30-2008 09:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RemyJ (Post 1039850)
I'm adding the option to set a font specifically for SignalLoc.

Wow Remy, you are just being the most helpful and responsive software developer to everyone, haha. Much props to you (y)

Iare Tosevite 07-30-2008 09:33 PM

Ahh it was indeed browser cache... I got updated version. I'll test it later.

tbhuang2 07-31-2008 12:48 AM

1 Attachment(s)
About integrating Google Maps, another 3rd party that is promoted among the BBF community is Poynt. In their last release, which was actually released earlier today, Google Maps is now an option for mapping. Previously, BB maps was the only option. Just letting you know, if you haven't, it's possible!

Also, I tried exporting my saved cell sites for the first time. It took a few tries just to get it to actually export. A few times I would enter a file name, click OK, and the file appears to be showing in the File Explorer subscreen. But when I try exporting again to make sure it's there, it's gone! I got it to save somehow eventually. I hooked it up to my computer, browsed to my SD card, and I found the file, but it had no file extension. I manually added ".kml". Finally, I opened the file through Google Earth.. and you know what I saw? It says my cell tower is in the Atlantic Ocean, just south of Ghana. I'm actually in a suburb north of Chicago, IL. WOW! I'm attaching the file here so you can see for yourself.

BFEINZIMER 07-31-2008 03:08 AM

"Uncaught exception: permission denied"

Verizon 8830 OS 4.5.0.51, all permissions set on ALLOW

Any ideas?

a net.rim.tcp - clos - 7/31 01:04:07
a net.rim.tunnel - Clos- - 7/31 01:04:07
a net.rim.tunnel - STac- - 7/31 01:04:07
a net.rim.tunnel - Open- - 7/31 01:04:07
a net.rim.tcp - open - 7/31 01:04:07
a UI - GS-D dbb1e863 - 7/31 01:04:06
a UI - GS+Q2 dbb1e863net.rim.device.internal.ui.component.Trace BackDialog - 7/31 01:04:05
S Java Exception - SecurityException - 7/31 01:04:05
| Permission denied
| net_rim_locationapi
| LocationProvider
| checkSecurity
| 0x3B05
| net_rim_locationapi
| BluetoothSerialPortGPSProvider
| setLocationListener
| 0xE43
| signalloc
| Worker
| setGpsLocationListener
| 0x49B4
| signalloc
| Worker
| <init>
| 0x4CDC
| signalloc
| Worker
| startup
| 0x4D0E
| signalloc
| SignalLoc
| startup
| 0x3992
| signalloc
| SignalLoc
| main
| 0x3A02
a SignalLoc - Registered listeners - 7/31 01:04:05
a System - CMM: signalloc(5007) no sig from 0x33 - 7/31 01:04:05
a System - CMM: signalloc(5007) no sig from 0x33 - 7/31 01:04:05

RemyJ 07-31-2008 09:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tbhuang2 (Post 1040107)
About integrating Google Maps, another 3rd party that is promoted among the BBF community is Poynt. In their last release, which was actually released earlier today, Google Maps is now an option for mapping. Previously, BB maps was the only option. Just letting you know, if you haven't, it's possible!

Also, I tried exporting my saved cell sites for the first time. It took a few tries just to get it to actually export. A few times I would enter a file name, click OK, and the file appears to be showing in the File Explorer subscreen. But when I try exporting again to make sure it's there, it's gone! I got it to save somehow eventually. I hooked it up to my computer, browsed to my SD card, and I found the file, but it had no file extension. I manually added ".kml". Finally, I opened the file through Google Earth.. and you know what I saw? It says my cell tower is in the Atlantic Ocean, just south of Ghana. I'm actually in a suburb north of Chicago, IL. WOW! I'm attaching the file here so you can see for yourself.

Thanks for tip on Poynt. I'll take a look.
Bug in "Save File". I'll fix today.
Do you have "Carrier provides cell site location" checked in options? Does the cell site location display above the separator line in the main screen?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BFEINZIMER (Post 1040231)
"Uncaught exception: permission denied"

Verizon 8830 OS 4.5.0.51, all permissions set on ALLOW

Any ideas?

S Java Exception - SecurityException - 7/31 01:04:05
| Permission denied
| net_rim_locationapi
| LocationProvider
| checkSecurity
| 0x3B05

Well, I don't have 4.5 to test with but I'll retest my Verizon 8830 with my bluetooth puck on 4.2.2

tbhuang2 07-31-2008 11:49 AM

Oh, I figured out how to get it to really export. After typing in the file name and clicking OK, you see the file in the File Explorer subscreen. Press the "Enter" key and it will save it.

I do have "Carrier provides cell sit location" checked in options, and the cell site location does display above the separator line. The cell site location only shows up when I have GPS enabled, which doesn't make sense to me, but that's how it's working for me.

RemyJ 07-31-2008 04:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tbhuang2 (Post 1040723)
Oh, I figured out how to get it to really export. After typing in the file name and clicking OK, you see the file in the File Explorer subscreen. Press the "Enter" key and it will save it.

I do have "Carrier provides cell sit location" checked in options, and the cell site location does display above the separator line. The cell site location only shows up when I have GPS enabled, which doesn't make sense to me, but that's how it's working for me.

I'll have another version out in a few hours.

When you have GPS disabled, you're really disabling the entire Location Based Services bundle and it's the same APIs to get both GPS and cell site locations.

Iare Tosevite 07-31-2008 06:25 PM

Realiability on getting GPS inform seems to be little off on 8830. Most times it just says "Not yet valid".

WillJitsu 07-31-2008 06:27 PM

Just to clear things up, does this program tell me which cell tower my phone is currently using?

I'm using Sprint as my carrier.

RemyJ 07-31-2008 06:44 PM

--- SignalLocBB - Build 0.1.720 - Released July 31 2008

* Added: [ 2034059 ] Allow selection of font specifically for app
* Fixed: [ 2034058 ] File Export works in simulator but not on real devices
* Fixed: [ 2034443 ] Misc exceptions on Verizon devices
* Fixed: [ 2034474 ] Slow GPS acquisition
* Minor UI tweaks and typo corrections.

Don't forget to clear your browser cache before downloading.

RemyJ 07-31-2008 06:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Iare Tosevite (Post 1041207)
Realiability on getting GPS inform seems to be little off on 8830. Most times it just says "Not yet valid".

Try build 720. I just uploaded it. It has some GPS acquisition fixes.

Quote:

Originally Posted by WillJitsu (Post 1041208)
Just to clear things up, does this program tell me which cell tower my phone is currently using?

I'm using Sprint as my carrier.

Assuming you have an 8830 then with Sprint, you get cell tower information including it's location.

RemyJ 07-31-2008 06:48 PM

Just FYI...

I tested build 720 on...
Verizon 8830 with Pharos BT GPS
AT&T 8820 with internal GPS
AT&T 8700 with Pharos BT GPS
Sprint 8830 with internal GPS

PDM 07-31-2008 07:43 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I just installed the new release and found the text on the screen alittle on the minute side... So, I go to :
Options >Base font size > 20 > exit > save

Closed app, restarted and re-checked settings were saved.... BUT, I still see "minute font size" on screen... Any ideas?

RemyJ 07-31-2008 07:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PDM (Post 1041278)
I just installed the new release and found the text on the screen alittle on the minute side... So, I go to :
Options >Base font size > 20 > exit > save

Closed app, restarted and re-checked settings were saved.... BUT, I still see "minute font size" on screen... Any ideas?

AAHHHHHH! Give me an hour and I'll put up a new version. Sorry.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.