BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/index.php)
-   BES Admin Corner (http://www.blackberryforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Activation Fail on Q10 (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=265315)

bryansin 10-07-2013 04:19 AM

Activation Fail on Q10
 
Hi,

I have setup the BES server 10 and did some configurations.

I wonder, how did it connect to our exchange from BES 10 server?

i do try to activate my q10 and its failed due to the server not responding.

Anyone out there can tell me, where to configure this?

nobody7290 10-07-2013 03:10 PM

Re: Activation Fail on Q10
 
you have to create an email profile:
profile, manage email profiles
create profile
give it a name, and point it to the internal ip address or name of your exchange server which you would use if you setup an active sync device inside your network.

knottyrope 10-07-2013 03:14 PM

Re: Activation Fail on Q10
 
you might have to put SRP number in for server name on phone if you did not allow for BES to be listed in the NOC

bryansin 10-08-2013 04:52 AM

Re: Activation Fail on Q10
 
I had already created the email profile in BES, active sync should be running on https? correct me if im wrong?

nobody7290 10-08-2013 05:49 AM

Re: Activation Fail on Q10
 
correct.
In the Server name field, fill in the FQDN of your CAS or mailboxserver, and choose "Use SSL", if Active sync is configured to use SSL.
If you have never used AS before on the Server, Test ist by setting up the email account without the BES on the Q10 using active sync and the same Server address. If this is sucessful, delete the account on the Q10 and try again using the BES.

When using the Q10 + BES dont use the automatic setup assistant, where only your username an password is used, but use the advanced email setup, to make sure, you setup the right type of account.

Btw. passwords containing a "$" sign are not possible!

nobody7290 10-09-2013 06:21 AM

Re: Activation Fail on Q10
 
oh,
I forgot: the besadmin service account needs a mailbox on the exchange server (but, if you followed the installation docs, it will be already present).
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile

bryansin 10-09-2013 08:59 PM

Re: Activation Fail on Q10
 
besadmin service account needs a mailbox on the exchange server ???

i dont seems to do this before, i did follow the installation docs..

Would you mind to share me the docs again ?

appreciated

nobody7290 10-10-2013 06:35 AM

Re: Activation Fail on Q10
 
I think I am wrong (just read the manual again), also, due to the way BES10 works, a Mailbox for the service account seems not to be needed:
BES5: fetches mail/sends mail/PIM data with the besadmin account on behalf the user
BES10: only proxies requests for Active-sync but the credentials of the user are used


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.