BlackBerry Forums Support Community

BlackBerry Forums Support Community (http://www.blackberryforums.com/index.php)
-   BlackBerry Help (http://www.blackberryforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=156)
-   -   Losing Call Logs, SMS or Emails? Optimize your BB! How To Setup for max free memory! (http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=112029)

John Clark 01-05-2008 02:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ubizmo (Post 793681)
It seems that taking out the spell checker would also liberate some memory. Is this possible, or is it too deeply embedded?


You probably could remove spell checker. However, I haven't tried it since I do use it. The automatic check before sending an email I find quite useful, actually. It's caught many a typo in my emails.

I take no responsibility if you toast your BB by removing something that shouldn't be removed, though! ;-)

John Clark 01-05-2008 02:51 PM

This post takes into account removing the largest unnecessary .cod files that get loaded to the device. If you want to see what's taking up the most memory on your device, OS wise, just go into your java folder and sort the files by size (just click on the size lable at the top of the list.) You'll see the jave files sorted by size. There may be other .cod's you can remove, like voicenotes and search, etc., but you won't gain much by removing them as they are at the bottom of the list size-wise. You can likely remove them but since there can always be adverse effects when removing files, I'm not sure the gain is worth the risk. Just my opinion.

ubizmo 01-05-2008 02:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John Clark (Post 793867)
You probably could remove spell checker. However, I haven't tried it since I do use it. The automatic check before sending an email I find quite useful, actually. It's caught many a typo in my emails.

I take no responsibility if you toast your BB by removing something that shouldn't be removed, though! ;-)

I'll leave it alone for now. I'm still deciding whether I'm going to keep this thing, and I don't seem to be having memory issues. But I am grateful for being able to throw all those wallpapers overboard, along with voice dialing.

omie 01-05-2008 04:58 PM

What's app error 523? Then it has option to reset.

Everything works fine, then out of no where error 523 comes up.

Sith_Apprentice 01-05-2008 05:40 PM

http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...ror-523-a.html

omie 01-05-2008 08:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sith_Apprentice (Post 794004)

Thanks, I figured it out.

I also got some extra things on my Pearl.

I have 3 new icons on my main menu: change wallpaper, device info, and change date and time.

http://i12.tinypic.com/7xxdl7d.png

http://i1.tinypic.com/8aw0fa8.png

http://i9.tinypic.com/8epsnid.png

I have almost 23MB of free space.
http://i15.tinypic.com/6yp226x.png

Im messing with more things as we speak, I don't need a lot of the stuff so that's why im deleting things.

Sith_Apprentice 01-05-2008 09:24 PM

i have about the same memory free, but dont have those 3 icons listed even under the VZW theme.

zerog46 01-05-2008 09:48 PM

Deleting stuff I have 25 mbs free, with 4 apps installed.

jnyost 01-05-2008 11:03 PM

Man I don't come even close to having that much free memory. I must have too many apps installed or too many texts and emails.

Jared

omie 01-05-2008 11:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sith_Apprentice (Post 794127)
i have about the same memory free, but dont have those 3 icons listed even under the VZW theme.

I have it on all my themes, not just the Verizon theme.

jnyost 01-05-2008 11:30 PM

I setup a batchfile that copies the .cod's to a different folder and then deletes them. That way I don't have to manually do it every time I download a new a new OS.

omie 01-06-2008 12:49 AM

Here is my blackberry.alx file that I edited and removed some stuff. It adds the 3 new icons.

Backup your old blackberry.alx file before using this one.

Rename from .txt to .alx, then install in C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\Shared\Loader Files

The run apploader in DM and hit next, it should install. :2thumbs:

DISCLAIMER: I am not responsible for any damage you cause to your BB, replace at your own risk.`This one is specific to the Alltel OS, I tried it on other OS and it worked.

RapidShare: 1-Click Webhosting

omie 01-06-2008 03:40 AM

Oh my lanta, what has come over me? I have freed up more space almost 28MB now. I will make it to 30MB by tomorrow, I know I can :razz:

http://i16.tinypic.com/7xnr38i.png

DW30 01-06-2008 05:22 AM

Wow, what a great posting John!
I'm new to BB so forgive me if I missed something in your post, but how do I remove (i.e Wallpaper) after everything was installed?
Chris

John Clark 01-07-2008 11:51 PM

You can remove later by doing the exact same thing. simply remove the .cod from the java folder and then plug in the device, run apploader all the way through to the end. The module (.cod file) will be removed when it's not recognized.

John Clark 01-07-2008 11:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by omie (Post 794413)
Oh my lanta, what has come over me? I have freed up more space almost 28MB now. I will make it to 30MB by tomorrow, I know I can :razz:

http://i16.tinypic.com/7xnr38i.png


I have a bout 28MB free on my device as well. However, this was never a goal to see how many apps I could remove from the device and still have it function. The goal was to remove the big items that are not used. If you use them or want them, by all means, keep them.

Freeing up all this memory doesn't guarantee you won't lose call logs and emails but it will take the device a little longer to get to that point.

John Gabrikh 01-08-2008 06:37 AM

Really Tricky but i guess i can do that!! Thanks

9duc 01-08-2008 11:50 PM

Finally got around to doing this, great tips, Thanks!

I'm only up to around 18mb free, but looking for other things I can get rid of... 8-)

I do have a question- I removed VAD per the instructions, but I can still access the status screen in options with no problems. Did I miss something?

John Clark 01-12-2008 07:41 PM

It's the Options >About screen that you can't access.

Sith_Apprentice 01-12-2008 08:15 PM

Odd, on my 8300 i removed VAD and PTT and can still access the about screen.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.