Chandra481
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Unhappy Need help from BB Experts - Wi Fi connectivity problem

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

I am a BB newbie and need BB experts here to help with BB 8820 Wi Fi connectivity. I went through all the posts and could not find the solution, though, I am sure that there will be many having this problem.

I have a secured dial up connection at home with a WiFi router. The phone connects to the router easily with a yellow circle, but I do not get any prompts to enter User ID and password to connect to the dial up connection. Is there any way to set this up?

I require the experts' help here to help me and many more like me facing the same problem.
Old 04-23-2009, 09:21 AM   #2
penguin3107
BlackBerry God

Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW

You will never get a prompt on the phone for the username/password of your dial-up connection.

The dial-up connection needs to be established by your WiFi router. You'll need to configure your WiFi router with the user/pass of your dial-up connection.

And to be perfectly honest... I sincerely doubt there are going to be many more people like you who are faced with this issue. Your setup is quite unique.
Old 04-23-2009, 10:11 AM   #3
Chandra481

Penguin, I am not a tech geek and would like to elaborate more on this. When I use my laptop, I connect to the Wi-Fi router and then there is an icon set up on the laptop by my telephony company through which I connect to browser. I was hoping my BB to work in the same fashion. The Wi Fi router is configured to dial up. How do I get my BB set up this way? Thanks for your help, I now trust that I am communicating with the right person now with right knowledge. My service provide Vodafone in India was completely unble to help. I spent hours calling and talking to different technical advisors with no help at all.
Old 04-23-2009, 10:13 AM   #4
penguin3107
BlackBerry God