BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2004, 10:18 PM   #1
jwillisbarrie
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Model: 9700
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 13
Default Will a Verizon 7750 work in Canada on Bell or Telus?

Please Login to Remove!

I have been looking around and can get a Verizon 7750.

Can I use this in Canada ?

I have seen references that Telus is Verizon's partner in Canada.

What would I have to do to get this to work here ?

Thanks.. Jim
Offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 01:31 AM   #2
Mark Rejhon
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Mark Rejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4,870
Default

I do not think you can get a Verizon 7750 to work with Bell or Telus, unless you can get Verizon to somehow unlock the BlackBerry unit.

You will need to contact Verizon to see if your BlackBerry can be unlocked for use in Canada.

At the moment, I believe that the best BlackBerry carrier is Rogers in Canada, while not as good as Bell in other ways, they are quicker with the latest BlackBerry models (Rogers had color for more than half a year than Bell did) and the 7280 CPU performs faster than the 7750 CPU due to less overhead, and the new 850 Mhz band in the 7280 works excellently and improves the coverage more or less equal to Bell in the Ontario area (at least for data reception; not sure about voice though! People say CDMA has better sound quality, but I have a data-only plan with my BlackBerry). I am using a former broken-and-repaired Cingular 7280 on Rogers at the moment, Cingular is the easiest USA carrier to bring phones to Canada, since their phones come unlocked.

However, check with Verizon to see if the 7750 can be used in Canada. I'll have to leave it to others to see what the best procedure to unlock a BlackBerry would be (HoFo might be a good place to check for Verizon's stance on unlocking.)
__________________
Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Author of XMPP extension XEP-0301:
www.xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0301.html - specification
www.realjabber.org - open source
Offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 07:25 AM   #3
finch
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Model: N/A
Carrier: N/A
Posts: 3,309
Default

If you can get an unlock code for the Verizon BB 7750 you'll have to use it on Bell Mobility's network, Telus under no circumstance will allow an unlocked phone/device or foreign IMEI unit on their network.

If it helps any my wife had a Kyocera 7135 before she hi-jacked my BB 7280 from me and that kyocera was from Alltel a US CDMA carrier which was unlocked and Bell was able to get it running on their 1x CDMA network.

As Mark said and though Rogers does have its down side their probably the easiest to deal with, dedicated dept. to support the Blackberry and they cuold care less about unlocked devices on their network.
Offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 12:59 PM   #4
Mark Rejhon
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Mark Rejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4,870
Default

BTW, the Rogers BlackBerry department is at 866 931 3282, press option 3 then press option 2. This will cut you straight to the BlackBerry department.
__________________
Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Author of XMPP extension XEP-0301:
www.xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0301.html - specification
www.realjabber.org - open source
Offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 10:19 PM   #5
jwillisbarrie
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Model: 9700
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks Mark & finch for your info. I will have to try that... regards.. JW
Offline  
Old 03-16-2006, 06:00 PM   #6
jrosso
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Calgary
Model: 7130e
Posts: 3
Default

I am currently a Bell Blackberry customer and frequently visit the US. Can I use my 7135e on Verizon's network (i.e. get the unlimited data plan for $60). I just don't want to spend $8/MB roaming with Bell while in the US!!
Offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 05:15 PM   #7
OCatahan
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 5
Default

so that $60 with bell gives you roaming data in the US?
Offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 05:34 PM   #8
finch
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Model: N/A
Carrier: N/A
Posts: 3,309
Default

No, the unlimited plan is $60 roaming is $8MB on top of your monthly data charge
Quote:
Originally Posted by OCatahan
so that $60 with bell gives you roaming data in the US?
Offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 01:13 PM   #9
OCatahan
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 5
Default

thanks finch!
Offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 01:15 PM   #10
dc/dc
Spam Reporter
 
dc/dc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: IAD
Model: 6230
Carrier: Voicestream
Posts: 14,524
Default

Also, Bell roams on Sprint by default I believe.
__________________
I h8 txtspk.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

RobotDyn Thyristor AC switch, 2 Channel, 3.3V/5V logic, AC/DC, AC 220V/110V, 5A
$10.0
RobotDyn Thyristor AC switch, 2 Channel, 3.3V/5V logic, AC/DC, AC 220V/110V, 5A picture10pcs New BT136-600E BT136-600 BT136 Triacs Thyristor TO-220 leGVCA
$1.66
10pcs New BT136-600E BT136-600 BT136 Triacs Thyristor TO-220 leGVCA picture220V Dimming/regulating/temperature/motor speed/thyristor module PWM Controller
$5.99
220V Dimming/regulating/temperature/motor speed/thyristor module PWM Controller pictureThermokon TS2 1-Phase 400v 8a AC Thyristor
$99.99
Thermokon TS2 1-Phase 400v 8a AC Thyristor pictureEurotherm TE10A 20kW 220V 50A Thyristor Power Controller 4-20mA DC Input
$100.0
Eurotherm TE10A 20kW 220V 50A Thyristor Power Controller 4-20mA DC Input picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.